If We Were Having Coffee on the 19th of August

Moog and Morning Coffee

Hello and Welcome!  Come on in and I’ll get you a nice large mug of Dark Roast (not sure what’s all mixed in it ;) ), a cuppa tea or other beverage.  It’s an odd day out there, but after pouring rain all day yesterday, I am going to have to get out in it.  I hate spending the day inside!  And the last few days have been…, well, that’s what the coffee post is about isn’t it?  And where am I today?  Some of you may recognize that photo at the top as being from New Hampshire.

The big thing about this last week was that I spent Thursday through Tuesday in Colorado.  I did a lot of hiking and other stuff like that.  It was a good time.  I’ve just started going through photos and will have a couple of photo posts later, but here is one I liked:

Rocky Mountain National Park

You can read a little more about it and see three other photos on my Weekly Smile post.

On bad thing that happened is that I dropped my phone while hiking.

Broken phone

Yep, it’s dead.  Funny thing, this phone has taken a huge amount of abuse in the past.  I’ve thrown it while running and had it land on pavement.  It took the brunt of my fall last year, which put gouges in the screen.  And so when it fell I was shocked that it broke.  It must have just landed wrong.

I worked Wednesday through Friday and had a lot to catch up on.  I did take a little time off on Wednesday to go buy a new phone.  I use my phone at work.  That’s how people contact me when I’m telecommuting.  It is how I attend meetings.  I live on my phone.

One thing I did was write a bunch of posts before I left.  I went in each morning of my trip and put up the day’s post.  I did answer some comments and such, but did very little visiting.

Going back to my last coffee post, which was some prepackaged, on the road, coffee from a filling station, I put up a few posts.  Of course there was the smile mentioned above, a Smile Reminder for last week and last week’s Smile Recap where I posted links to all of the Smiles that I had gathered.  Sorry if I put a little rant about the need to smile when the world seems to be taken over by those who frown and hate.

Thinking of that, I also put up a book review (sort of) for the book Hidden Figures.  I used the review to talk about racism in America, or at least bring it up.

I shared some photos from Cape Cod and posted a new chapter of my serialized story Towards the Light for Sue Vincent’s #writephoto.

Gull and Crab

The rest of my posts, and many last week, were devoted to The Fireborn.  I reposted the promo video, I put up a cover reveal (it’s great) and I announced the launch date (the 21st – Monday!) and talked about about the availability of the book for Kindle preorder.

fireborn-book-in-hand

Wow.  No wonder I am tired.  But I have dogs whining at me.  They spent most of the day inside and want to go out!  So I must get moving again.

How was your week?  If you have a coffee share, I’ll try to stop by and take a look.

The  Coffee Share been moved back to it’s original home at Part Time Monster.  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “InLinkz Linkup.  In fact, I encourage you to click on the “linky” to see what’s been going on in the lives of other bloggers and even join us if you haven’t before. (I’ll make the links “hot” later)

30 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee on the 19th of August

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Nice to see you – it’s been a while. My phone gave its life for beauty ;) It was old and I needed to replace it anyway, I just wish I wasn’t forced into it! Have a great week.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I can’t complain about the week (though I still will about the phone ;) ). It was busy but good. Belinda did a great job with the cover. And I did feel lucky to capture that photo of the gull and crab. Have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  1. Pamela Morse

    That is a super shot of the gull with dinner it the bill!! Sorry to hear about your phone shattering. It is cool to launch the new book on the eclipse, and the cover is really intriguing, Trent. I think it will be popular. Good luck. Thanks for coffee

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks. I feel lucky with that shot – it fly by very close. I picked the 21st looking at the calendar, and then I realized it was eclipse day. I’m not sure if it will help or hurt, but for a story with a dark side… Thanks for stopping by for coffee.

      Like

      Reply
  2. bettylouise31

    It sounds like you are had a great trip to Colorado. I like your picture. We do need something to made us smile so the news from the eastern states. I wonder why I am not getting posts from those I follow. There are so many places that could be the source of the problem. I am looking forward to the eclipse.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks. it was a great trip to Colorado. I do love the big Western states, but I was only in Idaho once as a child. I think this was the sixth time i was in Colorado.

      Word Press does do odd things. There are a few people I follow and yet I never see their posts. I have unfollowed them and refollowed them, yet I don’t see anything. Just odd.

      Just a couple days away to the eclipse! It will only be about 60% here in New Hampshire. Enjoy the totality!

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply
  3. Solveig

    I think that I’ll treat myself to your book :)
    and then my readers to a review, but well I have to review Seasons of Imagination, don’t I?
    Welcome to the broken phone club…
    Have a great weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      It’s so funny, even though I saw it on your blog, I didn’t recognize your picture at first. Who is this? More poor phone… I needed a new one anyway. the old one was over 3 1/2 years old and the power button didn’t always work. Thanks about the book. If you do read it, I hope you enjoy!
      Have a great birthday weekend!

      Like

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Hi Marje. I might have a couple of guest blogs set up, but not really a blog tour. Thanks for the info about the author spotlight! I’ll take a look. I’ll be sure to reblog your official release post on the 26th – the more eyes the better!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          Hi Marje, I finally had a few free moments to read the guest author post and I’d like to participate. I am already doing a post for the inspiration for this book, but I can do a more general inspiration piece. I’ll send an email once I’ve thought more about the details :)

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
  4. Marcia Gibson

    Hey Trent. the cover is great! Thanks for sharing a nice cup of Dark Roast with me this morning.
    Can’t wait to start reading it when is it available in hard cover or paperback. It is great that I am part of an English class that has 2 published authors, you and Carol rock! Marcia Gibson

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks Marcia! Belinda, the cover artist, did a great job with the cover, didn’t she? With some of the reviews Carol had from the national press, she’s way ahead of me, but I hope I’m on my way.

      Like

      Reply

Express Yourself

