If We Were Having Coffee on the 29th of July

Hello!  Welcome!  Come on in and I’ll get you a large mug of Sumatra Roast, a cuppa tea or some other warm beverage.  Or Cold beverage, I guess.  I mean, it is summer!  Today, though is an odd day.  It is a little on the cool side – still shorts and short sleeve shirt.  It’s very humid and cloudy.  Not the greatest for being outside, though that never stopped me ;)  And where are we?  From the photo at the top, some of you may know that we are on Cape Cod this morning.

I just got back from taking a long walk on the beach.  Isn’t that how you like to start your morning?  I’ll watch the weather and may get out on the kayak.  Some friends will be in town, so I’ll spend part of the afternoon socializing, which is an odd activity for an introvert ;)  So I don’t know exactly what I am doing today, but I know I’ll stay busy.

This was a busy week.  Work was very busy and will be so for a while longer.  I did a lot of stuff around the house, though I headed down here Wednesday evening.  I can telework from the cottage on Cape Cod, so I spent Thursday and Friday working here.

I spent a lot of time on the blog.  Too much?  Maybe ;)  Actually, I’ve spent much more in the past.  I started off putting up a Smile Reminder on Sunday, a much longer one than usual.  I also did a new Weekly Smile on Wednesday.

On Monday I posted a new video.  On Tuesday I posted a character sketch of Elliot, the main character in my up coming book, The Fireborn.  I hope you all got to meet Elliot!  He might be a tad bit eccentric, but who isn’t?  I also posted a poem for Colleen’s Weekly Poetry Challenge on Tuesday.  Staying with challenges, I posted a 100 word Friday Fictioneer story on Wednesday, but then turned around and posted another.  On Thursday I posted a story for Sue Vincent’s #wrtiephoto.  Actually, I should say a new installment in an ongoing story.  Yes, I’ve started a new serialized story.  Yep, just when I finished The Old Mill.  So on Friday I created a Table of Contents page and then did a post about it.  I also went back and put navigation on all of the chapters to make it easier to read.

Looking at the RADAR, the rain seems to be staying south of us here.  That means I should go out and enjoy the day while I can!

Thanks for stopping in to visit! I hope you had a great week.  If you have a coffee share, I’ll stop by and we can chat a little more  And if you don’t have a coffee share, why not? ;)  Actually, if you don’t, I will still find time to chat :)

See you later!

The  Coffee Share been moved back to it’s original home at Part Time Monster.  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “InLinkz Linkup.  In fact, I encourage you to click on the “linky” to see what’s been going on in the lives of other bloggers and even join us if you haven’t before.  (I will come back later to make the Coffee Share links “hot”)

19 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee on the 29th of July

  1. Tena Carr

    Our coffee blend consists of equal parts Dark French Roast and Dark Sumatra- That’s the one I use…. my husband uses Super Dark. See ya next week for coffee – If I don’t get busy, distracted, or plain forget.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I have been using mostly French Roast in the past, but lately I’ve really enjoyed the Sumatra. usually I do blend it, but not quite 50/50. The smoothness of the Sumatra does cut some of the bitterness of the French Roast quite well.

      Have a great week! (Off to read your smile :) )

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. Zee

    Finally, joining you in on that coffee!! I will take a filled to the brim mug lol

    It’s really humid here too, although it’s been raining but still it’s hot and sweaty. I guess that’s what monsoon brings! Can’t wait for the atmosphere to open up, it all feels so closed in and suffocated…

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      One large mug, filled to the brim with very strong coffee coming up.

      It’s been a weird summer here. Most of the US has been very hot, but we’ve had a few short, unusually cool periods up in the Northeast. Just strange all around. So it hasn’t really been that bad here.

      I hope you get some relief from the muggy, hot, humid weather soon! I couldn’t take it. I’m a cool weather person.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Zee

        I got the relief !! It’s been raining and humidity kind of settled for now. And I like rain so it’s a plus ! ☺️ Great weather to enjoy that coffee ☕️ 😇

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          Rainy, cool weather is perfect for enjoying coffee :) It has been a little warmer here the last few days (a little over 30 C), but the nights have been cool, so it is fine – I can stand the heat if it cools down.

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
          1. Zee

            Nights are comparatively cooler here too. But in the afternoon it gets well above 30C and sun is really scorching. However we had a rain storm last night and it was really frightening !

            Liked by 1 person

            Reply
            1. trentpmcd Post author

              I want to live in a place where the temperatures always range between 15C and 25C…. Warm, humid weather here usually means intense afternoon thunderstorms. I’ve lived out on the Plains, and the storms there can by very frighting! (You may have heard the term “Tornado Alley”….)

              Like

              Reply
  3. Blog Woman!!!

    Lucky you, to have all that blog time. I’m on holiday now – well, will be after a weekend of big events, which is still work. Hopefully, I will get to think about lighter thoughts and easier days for a bit. Bottoms up, my friend. Time for me to put the caffeine down and grab some sleep!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I’m not sure how i squeeze in so much blog time. Part of it is, of course, that I write very fast. But then I am at my computer too much, so when I have a break, reading the blogs is as easy as anything else…

      I hope you have a great holiday, even if the big events are work. Have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  4. Solveig

    Temperatures have gone down here too, today is the first day that I am wearing shorts in days…
    I am reading your book, and well even though it’s a collection of short stories I am having a hard time putting it down. A perfect companion for the playground :)
    Have a great weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      It just started raining here, but I’m still enjoying it… I’m sure I’d enjoy it if I were in Paris.

      Thanks for reading my book! I’m glad you are enjoying it. I can understand short stories being perfect for the playground.

      Have a great weekend!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  5. Yinglan

    It’s been a bit on the cool side here in the intermountain west this week. Finally, after what felt like an eternity in the upper 90’s. A walk on the beach sounds like a great way to start any morning, not just on a Saturday.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      We’ve been lucky in that we’ve only had a little scorching weather in the north east. I think if I was out west, I would definitely spend as much time in the mountains as I could! I’ll be in Colorado in a couple of weeks to do just that…
      The beach is great any day, all year. When I’m here, I even take my beach walks when it is far below freezing.

      Like

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      A hot coffee in a ski resort mug coming up, to remind you of cooler places. I’m more of a cool weather person and would most likely melt if I lived in Florida. I don’t mind that it isn’t a scorcher today.
      I hope you’re having a great weekend!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Express Yourself

