Weekly Smile 82 #weeklysmile

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

Last year I did a larger electronic work, Lost Star.  I had thought of it as the start of a new era for my playing, but the new era turned out to be that I got so invovled with other things that I pretty much stopped playing.  OK, I did play on a rare occasion and even recorded a quick, joke song (A dark, sad version of the Christmas song, Jingle Bells.)  For the last few months, I’ve been so focused on writing, and, yes, on focusing (a new camera), that I have barely played a note.

A few weeks ago I decided to do a promo video for my upcoming book, The Fireborn.  I did some drawing and painting for it.  And, of course, I wrote some music.  I was happy with the results.

(Click here if you don’t see the video)

But that got me into the mood to play music.  So I’ve been turning on the instruments a little more often and just playing.  I moved the stack of books off of the piano bench, and have just played.  The other day I had an idea and recorded a new song.  yeah, I am an instrumentalist, not a singer, but it was huge fun.  Sometimes just planning out an arrangement and creating new, unique sounds on the Modular Analog Synthesizer (old school electronics) is a whole lot of fun.

(Click here if you don’t see the video below)

I have a lot of writing chores ahead, so I don’t know how long this musical interlude is going to last, but I have to tell you, I’m having a blast.

My smile this week is playing music with my own two hands.  And my brain – that is where the music comes from, not my hands.

So, what made you smile this week? Write about it and put your link in the comments below.  InLinkz has been getting funny.  I had some issues and didn’t create a link page this week.  I think I will stop using them and will do a recap post at the end of the week with links to all of the posts instead.  Let me know what you think of this idea.

(!!!Note – if you missed it in the last paragraph, starting today, we won’t be using the InLinkz linky for The Weekly Smile.  Please put a link to your smile in the comments and I will do a recap post next week with all of the Smiles before posting Smile 83.)

–-

Note – the weekly smile runs Wednesday Morning to Wednesday morning.  I post in the morning (Eastern US) and put up the link usually between 7 and 8 AM EST.  I also try to post on Sunday as a reminder.  People can and do join throughout the week.

19 thoughts on “Weekly Smile 82 #weeklysmile

  1. Pingback: Weekly Smile 82 Recap! | Trent's World (the Blog)

  2. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee on the 29th of July | Trent's World (the Blog)

  3. Pingback: #ThreeThingsThursday – What made me smile this week – Ladyleemanila

  4. Pingback: Sandhill Cranes | Cookies & Moo

  5. Joanne Sisco

    I am in awe of people who have music inside of them that needs to be expressed. It is a unique talent I don’t understand, but truly appreciate.
    Good work, Trent. I hope you continue to find the time to express this creative side of you.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks Joanne. Music has been a part of my life since I was a small child so it’s just something that is there for me. I know when I have to get into it when I start singing around the house 24 x 7. Ooops, time to start playing again ;) I’m going to try to carve out some time, though I’ll be traveling a lot in August, so I won’t be able to sit down and record for a while.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  6. Pingback: Weekly Smile: Willy Wonka | The Broken Spine

  7. Pingback: The Weekly Smile – Field Notes From Over The Hill

  8. Pingback: The Weekly Smile 82 | Diary of an Adventurous Retiree

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks! InLinkz is giving me fits today (which happens), so starting today I am going to have people share their links in the comments. Next week, before I post the next Smile, I will do a recap post with all of the links.

      Like

      Reply

Express Yourself

