If We Were Having Coffee on the 15th of July, 2017

Hello and Welcome!  Come on in and I’ll get you a large mug of very strong French Roast, a cuppa tea or other beverage.  It’s a little on the cool side for July, though it is very humid.  I think we have a return to the steaming hot weather next week, but we might as well enjoy this respite while we can.  And where are we?  Some of you may know that the pyramid of Beatles mugs lives on Cape Cod.

It has been an odd week.  I really didn’t get a lot done.  I’ve been down here since Wednesday night, but haven’t been out much.  It rained after work on Thursday and Friday was an odd day, though I did take a long walk in the woods after work.  I just returned from a long walk on the beach.  I saw a bunch of seals!    Not much else this week.  some reading, writing, work around the house and such.  My work at work was, well, work.

My pace of blogging has slowed down a lot since the spring and early summer.  I’m still blogging too much, but…  A big part of it is that I’m not posting a serialized novel.  Well, maybe.  If I’m not careful the story I’ve been writing for Sue Vincent’s #writephoto may become novel length.  I posted the 4th installment on Thursday.

Besides the #writephoto story, I also did a 100 word story for Friday Fictioneers on Wednesday and a silly little story on Thursday about mixing genre.  I’m not sure how, but for some reason I missed dystopia in it.  Maybe I should go back and change it.  And while on fiction, I posted an excerpt about magic from my upcoming novel, The Fireborn.

I posted a poem on Tuesday, but this week I joined Colleen’s Weekly Poetry Challenge.  On Sunday I posted a smile reminder and on Wednesday I posted my Weekly Smile number 80.  80!  To fill out the week, I posted photos from Ohio.  There are a lot of eagle pictures, along with other things.

Since I didn’t do a whole lot this week, I plan on doing a bunch of stuff today.  I will get out on the kayak, perhaps take a short swim, take a long walk and possibly other stuff.  I’m planning a busy day.

And yes, that’s a hint that I want to start moving.  I know this was just about me, but if you have a coffee share, I’ll stop by and it can be about you, OK?  And if you don’t have a coffee share, why not? ;)  Actually, if you don’t, I will still find time to chat :)

Thanks for stopping by!

he  Coffee Share been moved back to it’s original home at Part Time Monster. Thank you Emily for filling in!  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “InLinkz Linkup.  In fact, I encourage you to click on the “linky” to see what’s been going on in the lives of other bloggers and even join us if you haven’t before.

25 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee on the 15th of July, 2017

  1. Rowena

    Hi Trent,
    It’s Monday afternoon here and I’m re-watching last night’s episode of Masterchef while reading the coffee shares. It’s finals week now, and so we know the contestants well and they’re all really good so it’s anyone’s game.
    We’re getting into the coldest part of the year here, and I really feel like hibernating. Blogging provides a really good outlet and a friend popped round today, so I have been social.
    I’d love to be on Cape Cod as well enjoying the warmer waether and checking out your seal and taking the inevitable photos.
    Hope you have a great week.
    xx Rowena

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      My bet is that your “coldest part of the year” was about as warm as our mid-summer weekend ;) It was cool! (OK, I just looked up the weather in Sydney, and it is about as warm during the day today as it was for us on Friday, but you did get a bit cooler at night.) The heat returns this week….
      I hope you have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Rowena

        Thanks, Trent. The week is looking up.
        I’ve compared temperatures before with Sydney and London. I was complaining of the cold at 16 and Geoff in London was enjoying the sunshine at 18 degrees. Weird, isn’t it.
        xx Rowena

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
  2. Nancy

    Good luck with the writing and the relaxing! Very cool about the seals. That must be an incredible sight. You didn’t mention anything about the dogs? Would they have chased the seals if they had been with you?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I usually don’t take the dogs out on the beach. Right now they aren’t allowed because of nesting shore birds, but even when they are, they don’t always behave how I’d want them to on the beach ;) They’re getting better… The seals were far enough out that I don’t think the dogs would notice or care. We’ve brought to ponds to swim, and they ignore the birds floating on the water unless they’re real close. As a puppy Fiyero once or twice tried to get a duck, but he quickly realized that it was impossible.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          I’ve been out doing things the last two days and haven’t been on the blogs much. i think a lot of people are like me – I’ve had very few clicks on my blog the last two three days.

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
  3. Pamela Morse

    Kayak and swim..this is heaven, Trent. I do wish I could be there in person this week..I know Cape Cod is amazing now. I, for one, love the serialized novel..it is cool to base it on an unknown prompt..keeps it alive. Your imagination is serving you well in those stories. Thanks for coffee..now I am all jazzed up.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I didn’t get to sim today, but I did get a lot of outside time, including on the kayak. i do love being down here and am glad we got the cabin.

      It is fun doing the serialized form, particularly with Sue’s prompt. I’m glad you are enjoying it!

      Have a great week.

      Like

      Reply
  4. Ocean Bream

    I’d like some of that french roast please, been pining for a coffee for weeks but there is none in and we always seem to forget to buy any. It sounds like you have been writing quite a lot, and I am surprised that you manage to turn a ‘write photo’ into a four instalment series! Good work :)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I start to panic when the coffee begins to run low ;) One french roast coming up. It’s really fun doing a series from the prompts since I have no idea what I am going to do before it comes up. So far it all fits in nicely, but Sue may throw me a curve ball….

      Have a great week!

      Like

      Reply
  5. pamelascanepa

    Trent, it sounds like you’ve a fruitful writing week, and today you’ll balance it with outdoor time. I am at the point in summer where all my outdoor fun has to be scheduled before 9 a.m. I haven’t done much creative writing, but it’ll come back next week. Have a great weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      It wasn’t a bad writing week. Does your outdoor activity have to be before 9 because of the heat or because you are so busy? I can understand either. When I’m on Cape Cod, things lie beaches and kayaking are much better before 10 this time of year – there are huge crowds! Hope you have a great week ahead and get more writing done!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Express Yourself

