Weekly Smile 79 #weeklysmile

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

So many smiles, so little time :)  I was on vacation last week and really didn’t say much about it on my weekly smiles.  I’ve been doing some creative work this week, but want to wait until I am finished to mention it.  Yesterday was a major holiday, US Independence Day (known simply as The 4th of July).  I listened in to a lot of our neighbor, Canada, celebrating their 150th birthday.  And the list goes on…

But I’ll do something different.

When I am on Cape Cod, there is a path in the woods about a mile from our cottage.  Every day I bring the dogs there for a long walk.  In fact, if I take them outside at around 3 PM, they will go to the car, sit, and stare at me until I let them.  It is almost impossible to not take them to the woods ;)  But I don’t do that in New Hampshire.

If you know anything about New Hampshire, you are most likely asking, “Why the heck not?!” One thing is that our neighborhood is much better for walking.  I run the dogs in a small park.  There are tons of scents, since other dogs walk.  There are hills, and fields, and all sorts of stuff.

But yesterday I decided they needed the woods.

So I brought them up to one of the little bits of natural land in our town (there are several), the Heald Tract.  Although there are hills, there are is a lot of flat area around a small lake.  The woods are very pretty, and very New Hampshire.  There aren’t many people around.  It is perfect.

As we walk, the deer flies began to discover us, so I cut the walk a little shorter than I had planned, and we ended up running down an access road to escape (poor Fiyero was chewed up pretty bad).  Despite the flies, the dogs loved it, and so did I.  In a different season or if I can get the bug repellent on the dogs (not always easy) it will be the perfect place to take them.  And it’s a great place for me.  It is very pretty.

I don’t have any pictures from the walk (I have two large dogs!), but here are some from two Autumn ago.

Beaver house, Heald Pond

Light in the forest, heald Track

My smile this week is a walk in the woods with the dogs.

So, what made you smile this week? Write about it and post on the link-up (or click the little blue frog below). While you’re there, read what everyone else is smiling about! And come back to it later, if last week is any indication new smiles will be added daily!

–-

Note – the weekly smile runs Wednesday Morning to Wednesday morning.  I post in the morning (Eastern US) and put up the link usually between 7 and 8 AM EST.  I also try to post on Sunday as a reminder.  People can and do join throughout the week.

18 thoughts on “Weekly Smile 79 #weeklysmile

  1. Pingback: Cycling in Munich – Ladyleemanila

  2. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee on the 8th of July! | Trent's World (the Blog)

  3. Pingback: #WeeklySmile 79 – Jottings and Writings

  4. Pingback: Wednesday Smile 79 – Hangin' Out With God

  5. Pingback: Weekly Smile 79 – SANDRA PAVLOFF CONNER

  6. Sandra Conner

    Time with your dogs in such beautiful territory is very smile worthy, but I agree about the flies. I’m a terrible wimp when it comes to flies, mosquitoes, gnats, you name it. Needless to say, I’m not a picnic person either.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      They really love the woods. I think it brings out their inner wolf ;) But I will have to figure out a way to take care of the flies. Mosquitoes aren’t nice, but here we have “little black flies” instead of gnats – they are awful and leave huge welts when they bite.

      Like

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks.

      I’m sorry about the chemo treatment. Is that why I haven’t’ seen you in a while?

      New clothes is always smile worthy, but i would think fixing technology for a kid would also be a big smile ;)

      Like

      Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          I’m very sorry to hear that. I’m sorry you’ve been having to deal with it. I’m always terrible at thinking of things to say, but I’ll be thinking of you even if I don’t know how to say it better than that.

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply

Express Yourself

