I Want Your Smile! #weeklysmile 78 Reminder

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

There are many,many things for me to smile about this week!  How can I chose just one?  OK, I’ll do two quick smiles.

The first is that I have done a huge amount with my writing over the last, if very little real writing was completed.  The Fireborn has gone through its final edit (5 or 6 drafts and over a dozen read-throughs/edits, plus 4 times having other edit for me).  I did most of the formatting. though there is still some work there to do. I also posted the last chapter of The Old Mill.  I will keep it up for a few months before taking it down again, as I did with The Halley Branch.  So it is great to have those big writing milestones out of the way!  Big smiles.

Friday evening I walked down to the landing near my cottage on Cape Cod.  There used to be a lot of geese that hung out around there, but people have been discouraging them.  The local land owners have put up things to chase them off and such.  So I see them out and around the pond in the more natural areas (which there are plenty of) but not at the landing as often.  And, of course, I usually have the dogs with me when I go down there, so the geese leave me alone.

A family of geese, two adults and five young, came up and watched me.  The came pretty close – too close for comfort in many ways.  I have not seen anyone feed them.  I know the local land owners do not!  (Hint – a flock of geese hanging out on your lawn for a few weeks destroys the lawn,)  My guess, though, is that they were asking for food.  That is very bad.  But the hungout and watched me for a while then went on there way.  I see them from the kayak in their “natural state”, i.e., where they aren’t being influenced by humans, and they look and act totally different than when they are around people.  These were acting like they do in the wild, but were close to me.  Odd.  Not aggressive in any fashion, but not afraid either.  Actually, I have seen this same family a few times in the past and have taken pictures.  And it almost seemed like that – “hey, look it the kids.  Don’t they look all grown up now?”

Here is a phone photo from Friday.

family-of-geese

Here is a photo from the spring. (Truthfully, there were two families when I took this picture.  This is of the other one, sine the smaller goslings were cuter ;) )

Baby Geese - Gosslings

That is my second (and third) smile for the week, hanging out with the geese and hitting a few writing goals.

So, what made you smile this week? Write about it and post on the link-up (or click the little blue frog below). While you’re there, read what everyone else is smiling about! And come back to it later, if last week is any indication new smiles will be added daily!

–-

Note – the weekly smile runs Wednesday Morning to Wednesday morning.  I post in the morning (Eastern US) and put up the link usually between 7 and 8 AM EST.  I also try to post on Sunday as a reminder.  People can and do join throughout the week.

5 thoughts on “I Want Your Smile! #weeklysmile 78 Reminder

  1. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee on the 8th of July! | Trent's World (the Blog)

  2. Pingback: Monday Coffee | Thoughts by Mello-Elo

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks! Wild geese (at least Canadian Geese) can become nuisance birds. They have become year round residence in places where they used to only summer. But they are protected, which makes it hard to control them if you have an issue. There are ways to gently push them back into their natural habitat and I guess the people around the landing hired an expert to do it – all of the geese that used to be there 24x7x365 are gone, while I see more in the wild areas when I kayak. The Canadian Geese are very pretty when seen in their natural setting, but much less pretty when hunkered down in a goose-poop field that was once a lawn.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Express Yourself

