The Weekly Smile 78 #weeklysmile

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

I have a lot to smile about this week – I’m on Vacation!  Of course, that means Cape Cod as usual, but still!  Despite all of those smiles, I’m going to do a very small smile that gets to the heart of what these posts are all about.

On Monday, I went to the grocery store to pick up a few items.  There were two “express” registers open, and one had no line.  So I unloaded my stuff and put my bag out to receive stuff.

The casheir said, “hi” but didn’t really seem to mean it.  She wasn’t mean, or rude or anything else, she just didn’t seem happy.  Again, not depressed or anything, more like it’s been a long day at work and she’d rather be at the beach.  Or home reading.  Or… anyplace else in the world than work.

I also noticed, but didn’t notice, that she had a strong accent. Not surprising as a lot of the “help” on Cape Cod do have accents.  Not a big deal.

When she handed me the receipt, she looked up at me for the first time.  I caught her eye, smiled warmly and said, “Thank You.”  It was amazing.  It was like the sun came out.  Her face blossomed with a large, genuine smile.  She told me to have a good day like she really meant it.

As I was leaving, I glanced back.  She was still smiling.  Hopefully another customer received that beautiful smile.

When we talk about compassion, we often think about things like helping someone who fell down.  But that’s just a small part of it.  Compassion is also being nice to a random person just because they are there.  It is acknowledging a person’s humanity.  It’s saying, “You are special, just because you are you,” for no other reason than we cross paths with that person.  It is truly seeing another individual when most just pass by with a public smile.

I don’t know if this young woman was having a bad day or just bored.  I don’t know if someone was rude to her because of her accent or if some guy gave her unwanted attention because of her beauty.  All I know is that she wasn’t smiling when I walked up to her and she was smiling when I left.

And that is what the Weekly Smile is about.  It is about spreading these smiles.

And that’s what my smile is about this week: smiling :)

So, what made you smile this week? Write about it and post on the link-up (or click the little blue frog below). While you’re there, read what everyone else is smiling about! And come back to it later, if last week is any indication new smiles will be added daily!

–-

Note – the weekly smile runs Wednesday Morning to Wednesday morning.  I post in the morning (Eastern US) and put up the link usually between 7 and 8 AM EST.  I also try to post on Sunday as a reminder.  People can and do join throughout the week.

(Sorry I’m a little late this week – just got back from a very long walk on the beach…)

31 thoughts on “The Weekly Smile 78 #weeklysmile

  1. Pingback: Monday Coffee | Thoughts by Mello-Elo

  2. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee on the 1st of July, 2017! | Trent's World (the Blog)

  3. Pingback: The Weekly Smile | A Day In The Life

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      It’s going great, thanks!

      Did you get your costume yet? I think in the last post you were still waiting for it. It’s a huge smile that you are bringing another generation to opera!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  4. Pingback: The Weekly Smile 78 #weeklysmile – Ladyleemanila

  5. Pingback: Welcoming a Visitor | Colline's Blog

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I always had a soft spot for Sweden and am glad they made more of a contribution to my country than just “How Great Thou Art”. Oh, and zippers. A nice read. i can see why you smiled.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  6. charlypriest

    I have worked as a cashier and I will tell you that is not a fun job, you actually get bored of the people since you are constantly saying ” hello this is x amount of dollars” for 8 hours so is not a real fun job, is repetitive, you don’t sit down for the most part of the day, and it is repetitive. Although in my case since I’m a nutcase I did flirt with the women,
    I’m glad you put her the smile, and this was a great story to smile about. Lets see if today or tomorrow I can come up with a Trent smile.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I once worked as a bagger and could see how not-fun the cashier’s job was – it can be doing the a mindless task over and over without a stop. At least as the bagger i didn’t interact with people – some could be a pain. But I am sure you did flirt with all of the ladies.

      Like

      Reply
  7. Pingback: Weekly Smile 78 – Hangin' Out With God

  8. ~M

    Keep smiling Trent… 🙂 This is such a lovely story, of how easily kindness can be passed from one person to the next. And it’s also a testimony of how kindhearted you truly are.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  9. Pingback: Backwards – #WeeklySmile | Wasted Days And Wasted Nights

  10. Sandra Conner

    This is such a great testimony to caring about people. I have a friend who works in a counseling office, and she told me about having an elderly man come into her office — a man who came to their firm frequently — and she smiled at him. He told her that in all the time he’d been coming to their firm, she was the first person who had ever smiled at him. It’s amazing how “uncaring” people can become because of all the pressures in their own lives. So every time we can remind ourselves to care — and to smile — it’s always a good thing.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      We’re busy and sometimes it’s hard to see beyond ourselves. We just don’t take a minute and think about that other person as another person. I agree, we need to reminder ourselves to care and to smile :)

      Like

      Reply
  11. Pingback: Weekly Smile 78 – SANDRA PAVLOFF CONNER

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I think most people try to be nice, but only some people come across as genuinely friendly. But yeah, often the small town fold are better at being genuine.

      Thanks! I hope you’re having a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Express Yourself

