If We Were Having Coffee on the 24th of June

Hello and Welcome!  Come on in and I’ll get you a nice large mug of very strong French Roast, a cuppa tea or other beverage.  It’s a little odd out right now.  It is warmish and windy.  It is also cloudy and humid.  It looks like rain, but I’m not sure if it will hit us.  And where are we?  Some of you may recognize the photo at the top as coming from my cottage on Cape Cod.

Last week was very busy, but, again, I don’t have a lot to show for it.  One big thing, I am on vacation this coming week, so I spent a lot of time preparing.  There are also projects at work and other such things.

I also did quite a bit of writing.  I had sent my manuscript of The Fireborn to two people to edit.  One found a lot of typos and that type of thing, while the other pointed out more stylist things.  I’ve been going through their notes and am making corrections where needed.  I don’t always agree, but it is helping.  Actually, there isn’t as many problems as I expected.  On the other hand, I’ve done six drafts and over a dozen read throughs/revisions.  I’ve corrected a huge amount of mistakes in that time!  When I’m done with this, I’ll do one more quick read through to catch any other typos/misspellings/misused words/etc.  I started earlier this week and I’m a little over three quarters of the way done.  One long session or two shorter ones and I’ll be done (except the final read through).

Of course, after that part is done, the hard work has to happen.  In some ways this will be harder to format that Seasons of Imagination.  On the other hand, I don’t have to worry about a table of contents, which turned out to be a major pain.

This week I posted two chapters of The Old Mill, one on Monday and one on Friday.  I have three more chapters written and was planning on posting them this coming week, but I have an issue.  I had foreshadowed something about the the climatic scene, but didn’t include it.  The problem is, I couldn’t figure out how to make it work.  My present scene is very good, but I know people will be disappointed because it didn’t include that element.  I’ve been pounding my head against the wall trying to figure it out.  This morning, when I was walking on the beach, I came up with the solution.  I’ll write it out later today.  Unfortunately I will have to split the chapter in half.  My next big decision is if I am going to post all four this week or spread it out over two weeks.  What’s your vote?

Besides the chapters for The Old Mill, I wrote and posted a lot of fiction.  On Monday I put up a very short story for Lovely Curses #minfiction.  The challenge is to write the story in one minute.  No cheating!  I put up my typical Friday Fictioneers post on Wednesday and instantly had a better idea so I put up a second 100 word FF story.  On Thursday I posted a story, actually, the beginning of a story, for Sue Vincent’s #writephoto.  And then there was a poem on Sunday and and another one on Tuesday (phot below – storm mMonday = poem Tuesday)

Wait folks, that’s not all ;)  Also on Sunday, I posted a Smile Reminder.  I posted this weeks Weekly Smile on Wednesday, but was inspired to post another smile on Thursday.  On Tuesday I also posted about a recent experience of finding a sick immature loon.

So, today is my first full day of vacation.  You may have seen that I’ve already taken a walk on the beach.  I have quite a bit more planned.  Besides the odd weather, I think I’ll get out as much as possible, starting almost as soon as i finish typing this.

Yes, that was a hint to started getting your things together.  Of course, if you have a coffee post we can continue the conversation.

Thanks for stopping by!  I hope you have a great weekend.  If you have a coffee share, I’ll try to stop by your place and see what you’ve been up to.

The  Coffee Share is now hosted by Nerd in the Brain.  Thank you Emily!  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “InLinkz Linkup.  In fact, I encourage you to click on the “linky” to see what’s been going on in the lives of other bloggers and even join us if you haven’t before.

16 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee on the 24th of June

  1. imaginativeworks

    My feelings about editing can be described by your image of the swirling black and grey clouds. I am still working on the first edit of my memoirs. Lots of luck with “The Fireborn” edit, and enjoy your vacation.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Editing is not fun. Since this is after many passes through by several sets of eyes, it isn’t as bad, but it is still “work”. Writing is the fun part… I can see how working on your memoirs can be very tough. It is a long process, but keep at it!

      Thanks!

      Like

      Reply
  2. bettylouise31

    I am late this week more problems. I finally was able to post it one my computer. The Kindle wouldn’t do it.
    Have a fun vacation. The weather sure is weird this week. Our news is warming everyone about problems expected from the e eclipse

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Sorry you are still having some issues but glad that you were able to get a post up. It’s always nice to get away, even if it is to someplace where I already spend all of my free time.

      Thanks for stopping by.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. Pamela Morse

    I vote for all 4 this week…not are building suspense works over 2 weeks. You are certainly on a fiction roll. I am impressed with the heavy output. Keep it up!! Thanks for coffee and some Cape Cod.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      It is hard to keep the suspense for long periods of time. i think I will try to get them all out this week. This year has been pretty good to me as far as being in the right frame of mind to write. Hopefully I can keep it going for a while.

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Express Yourself

