A Phone Call – The Old Mill

Old Mill on two Rivers

(This is the latest installment of the series that starts with The Old Mill.  The previous chapter was  Revealed.  The Table of Contents is here)

— —

“Hey Gill.”

“Lyndsey!  I can’t tell you how great it is to hear your voice.”

“Don’t I know it.  I missed you so much it hurt.  And from what I hear, it wasn’t just you I missed, but the most excitement Amesbury has seen in decades.  I can’t leave you alone for a minute, can I?”

“News travels fast.”

“Ha!  News this big travels at the speed of light.  Or at least radio waves going to my cell phone, and perhaps light in a fiber cable.  Yeah, my dad called me.  I just got off the phone with him before I called you.”

“Ah yes, he was an eyewitness to some of it.  There was, of course, a lot more.”

“I’m sure there was.  I received your text.  So, Martha finally sent you that invitation, huh?  My guess is the ball wasn’t sexy at all, but a bit morbid.”

“The ball was great, it’s what happened afterwards that took a turn towards the dark side.  And the scene in the carriage house… I don’t want to talk about that over the phone.  You have to be sitting here so we can cuddle and tell each other that it will be alright.”

“I can imagine.  Dad was creeped out just by the old bones in the foundation.  I’m sure if you witnessed it, even if it was just a ghostly shadow.”

“Exactly.  Only, how did you know?  I mean, you are even using the right words to describe it.”

“Jess talked to dad about it and he told me.  She told him that the reason you knew what happened and where the bodies were hidden was that you watched it.  I don’t know if he asked her how she knew, but my guess is that she used that connection with Martha that we’ve talked about.  I hope that’s broken too and that Martha has gone to her reward, or whatever.”

“Yeah, it makes sense that Jess was aware of what was happening.  Anyway, you seem to know all about my weekend, so how was yours?”

“Yeah, it was fine.  Uhm, good.  I mean, yeah, great.”

“Sorry, but you’re not too convincing.  What’s up?”

“Nothing.  It was great to see Trish again.  We had a girls’ night out for almost the entire weekend.   It was fun catching up and going out with her again.  But…”

“Yeah, but…  That pause says a lot.”

“I wanted to revisit the past, it wasn’t the same at all.  We’ve grown in totally different ways.  I get it.  I have married friends.  In fact, at my age, most of my friends have kids.  I know how to handle myself when I go out with a woman who has left her kids at home for a girls’ night out.  And Trish kept telling me how great it would be to get away.  Just like old times.”

“I think I’m getting it.”

“Sure.  I don’t believe she said more than one sentence all weekend that didn’t somehow have her kids or Jered in it.  ‘How’s your coffee?’  ‘Fine.  Jered usually uses a non-milk creamer, which they don’t have.  He’d hate it.’  I mean, can’t you just say what you think of the coffee?  Does the value of you opinion only matter to the extent to what your husband would think, even though he isn’t there?”

“I know the type.”

“Really, are there guys like that?”

“Some.  Maybe not that bad, but close.”

“This was bad.  It’s like the friend I knew had died and all that is left is a shell that lives other people’s lives.  Sorry, sorry, I promise not to complain or gossip any more.  Well, not much, at least.  I expect people to talk about their family, really, I do.  And I totally understand that family is the most important thing to a mother.  But she has lost herself more than anyone I’ve met.”

“Sounds like it.”

“And a scary thought.  When we have kids…”

“When?”

“I knew that would get your attention.  You don’t think I would become that obsessive, do you?  The Lyndsey you know and love isn’t going to disappear and only live for my kids, is she?”

“Of course not.  However, since you brought up the subject, did you make any decisions?”

“I did bring it up, didn’t I?  And I was trying to avoid it.”  She sighed.  “To tell you the truth, I’m more divided now than before.  I love the facility.  I love the people.  There is an energy in the air, not only at work, but in the entire region, a spillover from Washington I guess.  OK, OK, I know that everyone was being good to me to impress me.  I know they showed me the best side.  I understand that Washington is a nightmare in the summer.  I get all of that.  But I love it.”

“Yeah, it sounds great.”

“Of course this will sound even better to you.  I had worried that you would fade a little as we stayed apart, but you didn’t.  My, uhm, how can I say it, my homesickness for you, my longing, whatever, my missing you grew day by day, minute by minute.  Hell, this weekend with Trish was almost torture, and perhaps I’m so down on her because it wasn’t you.”

“That’s how it was here too.  I missed you constantly.”

“So the split is even bigger than it was.  I can’t decide.  This is the rest of my life!  I want it so much, but… I want you so much, but…”

“Lyndsey, I’ll move down there.  I’ll start teleworking and if it doesn’t work, I’ll find a new job.  I’ll join you.”

There was a short pause.  “Thank you Gill.  Really, this is one of the reasons I love you, but don’t make that decision now.  I don’t want you to throw away the advancement you may soon get.  I don’t want you to throw away your great career.  I don’t want you to throw away the great life you have here.  The hiking in the mountains, the kayaking, the skiing, all of that outdoors stuff.  Plus how established you are in the town.  I don’t want you to throw it away.”

“But I’d rather throw it away than throw away a life with you.  There are mountains close by, like the Blue Ridge chain.  There are even more career opportunities, if I decided I can’t live with the telecommuting.  And I solved the local mystery, so I’m no longer needed in Amsebury.”

“Here is what I fear.  Next year you would be totally happy with the decision, I know.  In ten years?  I don’t know.  What I fear is that someday I will look into your eyes and see resentment.  You may never consciously resent me, but there may be a time that you do, for making you throw away everything to come stay with me.  20 years is a long time to build a life in a town.  The life you have built in Amesbury is wonderful.  That is what I fear.”

“Lyndsey, I would never….”

“I know you think that.  Really, I do.  Just…  Anyway, tomorrow I will spend all day with Carol, the vice president I told you about.  Really, she scheduled the entire day to talk to me.  I think that’s the make or break moment.  After I talk to her and all of the decisions are made, I’ll come back and we can talk about the future then.  OK?  I mean, right now it’s a little futile because we don’t know what I’ll be doing.  I just…  Did I tell you how many times I dreamed about things like this opportunity?  How many fantasies I had about spending the day with a company’s VP chatting research?  This is a lifetime dream for me.  But it is sometimes the unlooked for, isn’t it?  I wasn’t looking for a life partner, but, damn it, suddenly I want that more than some silly job.  I mean, I just…”

“Hey Lyndsey?  Lyndsey?”

“I feel so…  huh?  Was I rambling again?  Sorry.  You know how shaken up I must be then.”

“I do.  But for right now, let’s forget about it, OK?  Let’s just talk, me and you, Gill and Lyndsey.  Talk about life and the Universe.  Tell ghost stories.  Talk about places we’ve been, people we’ve seen, OK?”

“Gill, when was the last time I told you that I love you?”

“A long, long time ago.  At least two or three minutes and I have been dying without hearing it.”

“Well, I love you.”

“I love you more.”

“Uh uh.  I love you as much as the sun is bright.”

“Well, I love you like a supernovae.”

“I love you with more energy than a quasar.”

“The burst of the Big Bang is small compared to the burst of my heart when I think of you.”

“It’s going to take tens of billions of years before the Universe expands to a size that can hold my love for you.”

“OK, you win.  And you know what?  I love you for it.”

“Do all science and tech nerds talk like this?”

“Only the ones in love.”

“Good point.”

I hate to say it, but from there we got a little silly.  And then a little serious.  But for the most part, we chatted.  We chatted for almost two hours before saying a reluctant goodbye.

I had no idea what Lyndsey would do or say when she met with the vice president in charge of her unit, but I knew how it would come out.  All jokes aside, I could think of nothing in the Universe that would keep me from trying to live my life with her.

— —

The Old MillPrevious – – Table of Contents  – – Next

3 thoughts on “A Phone Call – The Old Mill

  1. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee on the 24th of June | Trent's World (the Blog)

  2. Pingback: Izle again – the Old Mill | Trent's World (the Blog)

  3. Pingback: Revealed – The Old Mill | Trent's World (the Blog)

Express Yourself

