Moonlight Palms

dale-rogerson4

PHOTO PROMPT © Dale Rogerson

The tranquil night was shattered by the screams.  The guests awoke to darkness, a clue that the electricity to the resort was cut.

Flashlights came on, emergency vehicles crowded the streets.  The search was on.  A hint of terror could kill the tourist trade.

I slunk between darkened buildings, staying out of the light.  If I could make it to morning, it would be fine.  At least for me.

I knew what they’d find.  I knew the horror of the mutilated bodies.  But I couldn’t shed a tear.  Not until the full moon set and I was back to normal.

— — — —

Word count = 100

Friday Fictioneers is hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.  This week’s prompt is here and uses a photo provided by © Dale Rogerson.  Read more or join in by following the InLinkz “linky“.

58 thoughts on “Moonlight Palms

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I agree, you can make a werewolf or vampire sympathetic, but that is hard to do with a zombie. That being said, I am planning on publishing a book with zombies this summer. Of course my zombies have nothing to do with the modern, shuffling, brain-eating zombies, but are based on Celtic myth.
      Thanks, Suzanne!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          Thanks. There is a myth about taking dead people, putting them in a cauldron, and having them some back as warriors. Actually, it is part of several stories and not a stand alone, but I took it out of context and wrote a story around it. Totally different from the modern zombie story…

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
  1. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee on the 17th of June | Trent's World (the Blog)

  2. Sarah Potter Writes

    Methinks it would be better for him if he couldn’t remember afterwards what he did when in his werewolf form. He needs someone to lock him up in a secure metal hold when it’s the full moon. The fact that he knows what he’s doing and will shed tears for his victims on the morrow, made me feel sorry for him as well as for those he has mutilated.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Very tragic for all involved. I guess he is still at a point where he doesn’t trust anyone with the knowledge that he is a werewolf so there is no one to lock him up.

      Like

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      No, I don’t think being a werewolf would be a good thing. As I said in another comment, I feel that the werewolf is the most tragic of any of the “classic monsters”. Thanks.

      Like

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks! In many ways I think werewolves are very tragic, more so than a lot of “monsters”.

      There is just something about the moon in the photo that stood out even more than the towering palm trees. From your story I know you also saw something special in that moon.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. Rowena

    Well done, Trent. A werewolf made for an intriguing story and you developed his character well. A well developed villain.
    Hope you’ve had a great week. This week hasn’t been very eventful. I guess I should be greatful.
    xx Rowena

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
            1. trentpmcd Post author

              Thanks Penny! I do have a “no awards” policy, but it is hidden… I’m going to point you to it, not to say, “See! There it is!” but because it contains a dozen “fun facts that people don’t know about me”. Actually the list might be a little out of date and I may have to do a version 2.0 of the list, but if you are curious, it’s close to the bottom of the page: https://trentsworldblog.wordpress.com/about/award-policy/

              Liked by 1 person

              Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks! I guess I didn’t have to say “sorry Dale” in my other comment then… It is a pretty cool photo – those trees look like monsters! I can see both the beautiful and the spooky, but given the choice when I’m writing fiction, I’ll go spooky ;)
      D.R. – Dominican Republic?

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Express Yourself

