If We Were Having Coffee on the 10th of June!

Hello and welcome!  Come on in.  Well, for a minute while we get drinks.  It is great outside for a change and we don’t want to waste more than a minute inside!  As usual I have a very strong French Sumatra Roast, a variety of teas, hot cocoa, water, etc.  We can sit out back and put Fiyero and the long leash so I can keep a hand and eye on him.  Ah, great, isn’t it?  Oh, you want to know where we are?  By the photo at the top, yes, all of those great Beatles’ mugs, some may know that we are on Cape Cod.

Some of you may have seen my pre-recorded “I’m not here right now” Coffee share last week.  If not, you may have seen my post Home.  No?  How about my week 75 (75!!) Weekly Smile?  I spent a bit of time last week in Ohio visiting family.  I fly in last Wednesday and back on Monday.  It was a nice visit, and besides the above mentioned posts, I will most likely do a photo post later.

I’ve had some time off of work, but also worked a lot.  We are getting quite a bit done, which is always satisfying, but there are few end products to hold up and say, “Look at this!”

I am still having Internet problems down here on Cape Cod.  I am using my phone’s data.  Not ideal.  I call Comcast, they say someone will be out.  Nobody comes or calls.  It has been out a month.  A MONTH!  And nothing has been done.  Can you say frustrating?  I knew you could.

Yesterday was a beautiful day, but after work I hung out inside waiting for the non-existent Comcast guy to show up.  Grrrr.  Today I will not wait and will enjoy the day.  It is a gorgeous day!  I’ve had two dog walks, two times playing with the dog in the back yard and a long walk on the beach.  That’s what i get for getting out of bed at 5:30 ;)  I will go to the beach again, take a long kayak ride, take a couple of walks in the woods, more playing with the dog (just Fiyero, Idina is in New Hampshire) and possible more.  I will seize this day and squeeze every bit of juice out of it.

Since I last talked about it, I have posted at least four more chapters from The Old Mill.  These chapters are the first big (fake) climax.  There is more to come ;)  The chapters from this week are Found (on Monday) and Discovered (on Friday).  I also posted a few other works of fiction including two works of micro fiction for Friday Fictioneers (both on the same image), Treasured Plants on Wednesday and Creativity Interrupted on Friday.  I also joined Sue Vincent’s #writephoto with a story, Wings.  I didn’t think I would have a post for Tuesday, so I re-posted a poem, Words Unsaid, but I later posted a new poem, Journey.  Some of my music posts have been getting a lot of attention lately, so I posted a new one for a video i recently did, Challenge Thirteen.  I also posted a link to Bob Dylan’s Nobel Lecture.  It is great!  And it combines music and literature.

I will not link to posts from the week before, but you can find them if you wish….

How have you been?  Is the weather nice?  Oh, did I say the weather is great today?  yes?  Sorry, I’m just looking outside and dreaming…   Oh, sorry.  I guess we need to start wrapping this up, then.

Thanks for stopping by!  I hope you have a great weekend.  If you have a coffee share, I’ll try to stop by your place and see what you’ve been up to.  (No promises since I don’t have an Internet connection.)

The  Coffee Share is now hosted by Nerd in the Brain.  Thank you Emily!  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “InLinkz Linkup.  In fact, I encourage you to click on the “linky” to see what’s been going on in the lives of other bloggers and even join us if you haven’t before.

17 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee on the 10th of June!

  1. Pamela Morse

    I would be freaking out about the internet service..like crazy. I think you did the right thing to go out and enjoy the day instead of giving the situation more power over you…I certainly hope you get out of this soon. Thanks of coffee, and congrats on the novel progress.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      The “good” part about the Internet service issue is that it isn’t my primary house. That’s also the bad thing – I’m not down there all of the time so I can’t be a constant squeaky wheel. I want to be there if they send someone out and need to be there to verify that it is down.
      Glad you could join me for coffee. Have a great day and week ahead.

      Like

      Reply
  2. vernette

    If we were having coffee I would tell you that I the coffee scene here in Trinidad is improving and we have quite a few local roasters. This week I’m trying a single origin Brazilian blend from a local roaster and it has been great so far. I’m interested to know if you have a favourite region for coffee as you mentioned you have a Sumatra roast this week.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      There are few local roasters around here. I know one, and it is OK but not my favorite, so I typically drink coffee put out by large companies, even Starbucks. If I could find someone local, but… Most of the time I pick a roast not by its origin, but by the style, like French Roast, which is a very dark roast that is slightly burnt. An exception is the Sumatra. A few large coffee companies (Peets and Starbucks) put out very nice Sumatra Roasts that are made with beans from Sumatra. I really like this coffee, as both companies roast it so it is dark and smooth but flavorful. Colombian is very popular, but is usually a little light for me. I’ve had other coffees, like Ethiopian, Jamaican (notably Blue Mountain) and Hawaiian that I really like, but haven’t had them enough to put them at the top of my list. I’m sure I’ve had Brazilian coffee, but off of the top of my head I don’t remember if it was one of my favorites. I’d love to try a locally roasted, single origin Brazilian coffee – that just sounds so much better than a coffee from a huge company like Peets or Starbucks. I’d also love to drink said brew on Trinidad! I’ve visited the Caribbean, but have never been that far south or to South America.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. vernette

        I like Ethiopian and well living in the Caribbean Jamaican Blue Mountain is one of my absolute favourites! And as for coffee in Trinidad, if you ever make it this far down the island chain, coffee is definitely on me!

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
  3. Irene Waters 19 Writer Memoirist

    Sounds like summer has definitely come to Cape Cod at least and you are “squeezing every bit of juice out of it.” Nice that you fitted in seeing family as well even if only for a flying visit. Your writing seems to be going well also. Hope you have a good week and thanks for coffee.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Summer has come to the east Coast of the US. It was a nice weekend and I did try to squeeze every bit out of it that I could. The family visit was nice. This is a yearly thing, but i usually also see my parents in August or September.

      Have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  4. Rowena

    Trent, what with all your walking and writing, it sounds like you’re doing a great job of walking in Charles Dickens’ footsteps. I have heard there’s a statue of him in Sydney’s Centennial Park and I’ve been meaning to go and get my photo taken with him for a bit of a hoot. I went to a talk about him at the Sydney Writers’ Festival a few years ago. She spoke about his very long extended walks and how that had a soothing effect on his mind.
    We’re currently watching a movie about Amelia Earhardt. It’s not nice knowing how it’s going to end.
    xx Rowena

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      The problem is that nobody actually knows how the Amelia Earhart story ends ;) Except that she didn’t survive, at least not for very long. A lot of authors and musicians walked a lot. In nicer parts of his life, Beethoven spent the summers walking and writing music in his head then sat down in winter to work them out. But yes, I need my walks or I’d go completely crazy.

      Like

      Reply
  5. Sandra Conner

    Just discovered your site through FF. I haven’t had much time to be involved with the group this year, but I couldn’t resist this week’s picture. I enjoyed your “Coffee Share.” I’ve never participated in that group, but for a couple months, I did a regular post on Thursday’s called “Coffee Thursday.” I love good coffee, and I had fun sharing, not only my own thoughts and experiences, but also a lot of information I learned along the way.

    I’m super jealous of the fact that you’re at Cape Cod. I have two places where I’d like to spend the rest of my life: Smoky Mountains and New England. I’ve even authored a whole series of novels set in the Smokies so that I can live there through the books. Unfortunately, I’m pretty well entrenched in Southern Illinois, due to the work and ministry I’m engaged in here. But I can dream of both those places — and visit occasionally — and live vicariously through posts like yours.

    Liked by 3 people

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I love the FF group and have “met” quite a few great people through there. There are some great authors that contribute most weeks.

      The Weekend Coffee Share has been going on for a couple of years. The person who original hosted it, Diane at Part Time Monster, used to have a pretty big group (typically 20 or 30 each week), but unfortunately not many followed over to Emily’s blog. It is still a great group, and these posts have forced me to be a little more personable on the blog. Before I joined, I rarely said much about my personal life.

      I love New England and Cape Cod. Most of the time I live in New Hampshire but have a cottage on ‘The Cape’. During the summer I’ll post quite a few photos. I’ve only been in the Smokey Mountains a few times, and those when I was a kid, but I do enjoy the Appalachian chain up here in the north country. My dad grew up in southern Illinois, but I know even less about that area (most of his family moved a little farther north, so I’ve only been there a couple of times, not counting crossing the river from western Kentucky, where my mom is from).

      Thanks for stopping by for the visit! I hope you have a great week.

      Liked by 3 people

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I’ve lived in the south and spent a summer in the Dallas area – there is a reason I like New England! I am not a hot weather person at all. Cape Cod can get some very hot weather, and the humidity can be oppressive, but for the most part it stays a lot cooler in the summer than inland, and a lot warmer in the winter (still cold compared to Texas ;) ).

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  6. A.K.A.

    Comcast sounds as frustrating as Suddenlink! I hope you get your internet fixed soon! I do wish I had a “get-away” spot like you do at Cape Cod. It would be nice to have a mini vacation from time to time! My iPhone has been acting up but I’ll get over to your blog to catch up soon! I hope you have a great rest of the weekend, Trent!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks, i ti s frustrating. I’m looking into ways to escalate this, such as reporting to the FCC.

      It is nice having this little get away. There are some downsides, like feeling like I need to spend all of my time and money down here, but it is worth it. Of course, I can say I worked for 25 years to justify it ;)

      I hope you also have a good weekend and a great week ahead!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Express Yourself

