Discovered – The Old Mill

Beam

(This is the latest installment of the series that starts with The Old Mill.  The previous chapter was  Found.  The Table of Contents is here)

— —

A light misty rain started to come down as we went into the mansion.  I wasn’t really sure where to begin.  Martha had told me that I couldn’t miss it, but that wasn’t a very good clue.  I figured that there was some kind of rule in the ghost universe that made it so she couldn’t come right out and tell me.  But there were things about her body language.  I felt that I should know.

For a brief second I thought of Jessica giving me a sultry look and telling me to come look at the bed.  In my mind, Jessica turned into the young Martha.  They had both hinted about taking me to bed.  They had both winked.

“Uhm, let’s go up to the second floor,” I said.  “I want to take a look at Martha’s bedroom.  There’s something about that room.”

Sean shook his head.  “That room has been sliced, diced, dissected and put back together.  We pulled the walls apart and rebuilt it.  Even the floor came up, every single floorboard.  There’s nothing there.”

I shrugged.  Sean’s little tirade made me even more sure that I had made the right choice.

I could feel it as we entered the room, but I couldn’t locate where it was coming from.  I remembered the first time I was in the room and how I felt the same thing.  That there was something or someone staring at me.

“Can we turn that ugly thing around?” Bill asked.  He pointed at the print of the angel.  “It seems to stare at me.  Gives me the Willies, to be honest.”

Martha said that it would be staring at me.

“Hey Sean,” I asked.  “Would you mind if I destroyed the print?”

I wouldn’t but Martha might haunt you for the rest of your life.  She seems to have a thing for that print.”

I nodded.  I understood why she had the ‘thing’.

I took it off of the wall.  It was much heavier than I expected and the frame was far too big and bulky for the print.   Turned it around.  There was a thin board over the back.  I still had the crowbar in my hand and used it to tear the board off.

There were dozens of pieces of paper between the board and the print.  I dumped them on the bed.

“What in the world is this?” Bill asked.

We each grabbed a few sheets.

“These are the missing diary pages,” I said holding my handful up.  Bill gave me a blank look.  “Martha and the young Margret kept diaries.  There are pages missing on key dates.  The dates when the murders happened.”

“Ah, OK,” he said.  “Speaking of murders, I think this is a witness testimony or something.  That’s my guess.”

“Yes, that’s what I have, a witness testimony,” Sean said.

I picked up another sheet.  “Hmm, I think this is a letter from Martha to her brother, George, talking about the skeletons in the family closet.”

“That’s my family, thank you very much,” Sean said.  “Can I see that?”

I handed him the letter and said, “If I were you, I’d package all of this up and give them to Mike over at the historic society in the library.  Do you know him?”

Sean dropped the papers and pulled his cell out.

“Hi Mike, how are you?  Great, great.  Listen, I’m in town, and… yes, I’m in town.  I have some important documents that I found in the mansion.  Diary pages, witness statements, letters…  No, I’m not joking.  Actually, it was Gill Baxter who found them.  Oh, you know him?  And you’re not surprised he found something?  OK.  Right.  I’ll tell you, but I know you won’t like it.  Ghosts.  Yep.  I told you that you wouldn’t like it.  Right.  OK.  Sure, I’ll meet you in about an hour.  See you.”

Sean turned to me with a grin.  I could guess what Mike had said.

“I’m going to bring this stuff down to him.  He wants you to go down there too.  Maybe he just wants to tell you that you are nuts to your face.”

“I’m sure that’s it.  I have a few things to do first, though.  Freshen up.  Perhaps shower.  Maybe grab a snack.  I’ll guess an hour and a half or two.”

“Sure.  I’ll meet you there.”

“I’ll talk to you guys later,” Bill said.  “Don’t keep me in the dark if you find anything important.”

“You’ll be the first to know,” I said.

“Later.”

— —

The Old MillPrevious – – Table of Contents  – – Next

 

3 thoughts on “Discovered – The Old Mill

  1. Pingback: The Library 3 – The Old Mill | Trent's World (the Blog)

  2. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee on the 10th of June! | Trent's World (the Blog)

  3. Pingback: Found – The Old Mill | Trent's World (the Blog)

Express Yourself

