Treasured Plants

sp-overgrown-summer-house

PHOTO PROMPT © Sarah Potter

I climbed out of the hidden valley, jealously guarding my treasures.  The never explored land, a natural Shangri-La separated from the rest of the planet for millions of years by a ring of mountains, was the most beautiful place imaginable.  I had taken clippings and seeds of some of those botanical gems to share with the world.

That was years ago, before I learned how successful these plants would take to their new environment.

Today, as I look out into the weed choked place that was once a large city, I wonder how I ever thought these plants “beautiful”.

— — — —

Word count = 99

Friday Fictioneers is hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.  This week’s prompt is here and uses a photo provided by © Sarah Potter.  Read more or join in by following the InLinkz “linky“.

48 thoughts on “Treasured Plants

  1. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee on the 10th of June! | Trent's World (the Blog)

  2. Pingback: Creativity Interrupted | Trent's World (the Blog)

  3. Rowena

    Hi Trent,
    Wish it was Friday…! Now, Thursday night here and we’ve had really heavy rain and cold for a couple of days and it’s real hide under the blankets weather but perfect for reading through these flash fictions instead of getting on with dinner.
    I really enjoyed your flash, particularly the beautiful world you created in the first paragraph. I can picture it so clearly, even if it’s my own picture.
    We also have terrible problems with introduced species in Australia, especially rabbits but they’ve done untold damage.
    Sorry to hear about your magnolia tree. That sounds like the makings of a horror story from it’s perspective.
    Hope you’re having a great week.
    xx Rowena

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      We’ve had a wet and cold spring this year. It will seem to be ending, warming up and all, but then another round comes along. Monday and Tuesday were late March cold (highs in the single digits C) and hard rain. But now it’s nice again and it it is supposed to be hot next week (30s C).
      I’ve read articles about invasive in Australia. Besides rabbits, don’t you have problems with cats and fox? Different regions around the US have different invasive that cause issues, some pretty awful. All of those beautiful swans I take pictures of are invasive.
      I hope you have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Rowena

        Cats, foxes, wild dogs…we have them all. There’s a really lovely movie called “Oddball” about a Mareema sheepdog saving a depleting penguin colony from foxes.
        Week is almost done. Friday half over. We have the Queen’s Birthday long weekend this weekend. We’re not going away and are catching up on the home front. We’re all fighting off colds as well. Looks like a good time to read, write and hibernate.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks Neel. The link didn’t work for me at first, but I finally got in.

      Your stories often take a walk on the dark side and your FF story you linked to here didn’t disappoint.

      For some reason your comment went to spam.

      Like

      Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          I hate to say this, but even though I know the name and plot well, I don’t think I’ve ever read it. Maybe I should put it on my to read list… And then again, they might be like the plants in the Genesis song, The Return of the Giant Hogweed, though that is based on a real plant.

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
  4. rochellewisoff

    Dear Trent,

    My husband has a cactus plant that’s spreading like the village chestnut tree. He thinks it’s beautiful. I think it’s an ugly nuisance. Some plants do take over. Love your story.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    PS I still am unable to link. Dale was kind enough to do if for me. There’s something wrong with this picture, isn’t there?

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I love the mute swans I see kayaking, but they have taken over the ecological niche of native species, and as they spread west, they harm the trumpeter swans. Usually not good when an invasive takes over, though that cactus may not spread too far. We hope ;)

      That is odd. I just didn’t have the button to add my link. Once the button was there, i was able to link without a problem. I’ve seen InLinkz issues before, and some having to do with an image (in the past I sometimes had to load an images from a hard drive, ti wouldn’t take the ones from my page) and it can be frustrating. I’m sure very frustrating for you, being this link-up’s owner.

      Like

      Reply
  5. jellico84

    That’s what happens when you take native plants out of their natural habitat… just ask about the Kudzo plants in the southern US. Good story, Trent. Glad to see you got linked up! :)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      The vines in the window reminded me of Kudzo plants, which is where the idea came from. Invasive species are never a good thing…

      Thanks. I went back to read the stories that were already posted on the linkup and saw it was working.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          I’m not sure what it is, but in the last few years a vine has shown up in my yard and actually has taken out a few trees. I cut it down when I can, but I missed it a few times and lost my ancient magnolia.

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply

Express Yourself

