Weekly Smile 74 #weeklysmile

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

There really is a lot to smile about, isn’t there?  Some of the smiles are very, very sad smiles – such as reading about the heroes in Portland that risked, and two who lost, everything to protect teenage girls.  So sad, but that at least three people stood up to the challenge helps restore faith in humanity that the terrorist had tried to take away.

My real smile this week, though, isn’t sad and isn’t deep.  It starts with a frown, but turns into a silver lining.

I was down on Cape Cod this weekend.  Unfortunately the weather was cooperating.  It was wet and cold.  To add insult to injury, or perhaps this was the injury and the weather the insult.  Whatever.  We did not have an Internet connection all weekend.  I used the hotspot on my phone to telework.  I put up a few blog posts and read a little, but it was painful.

The silver lining?  I spent the time writing.  I wrote well over 10,000 words on The Old Mill and finished it up.  The entire thing that I posted, minus the editorial “chapter”, is about 70K words.  I will post one chapter at a time, as I have been, so you’ll continue to see two or three installments a week for a few more weeks, but I don’t have to write any more.  I will use most of my writing time to finish The Fireborn – I hope to publish this summer!  And I will start to do a second draft of The Halley Branch (that book was posted in a serialized fashion two years ago, but I have since removed the posts).

With all that is good and bad going on in the world, sometimes we have to look at the little things in our life and be thankful, and to smile.  This week I am smiling because I accomplished quite a bit in my writing.

So, what made you smile this week? Write about it and post on the link-up (or click the little blue frog below). While you’re there, read what everyone else is smiling about! And come back to it later, if last week is any indication new smiles will be added daily!

–-

Note – the weekly smile runs Wednesday Morning to Wednesday morning.  I post in the morning (Eastern US) and put up the link usually between 7 and 8 AM EST.  I also try to post on Sunday as a reminder.  People can and do join throughout the week.

5 thoughts on “Weekly Smile 74 #weeklysmile

  1. Pingback: Weekly Smile 74 #weeklysmile – Ladyleemanila

  2. Pingback: Anytime — #WeeklySmile | Wasted Days And Wasted Nights

  3. Pingback: #WeeklySmile – 74 – Jottings and Writings

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Sounds nice. As a kid I vacationed close to Lake Michigan (I grew up on Lake Erie), but spent more time on the small lake were we camped than the Great Lake. It is pretty.

      Like

      Reply

Express Yourself

