A Few Photos From the Weekend

swan-pond-sunset-5-2017

Something new and Different, some photos from Cape Cod!  The weather wasn’t great so I didn’t make it out a lot, but i do like some of these.  Also still getting used to the new camera.  We’ll get there with it.

One I point to point out because the photo itself isn’t great, but I love the subject.  Look at the size of that fish this osprey has!  And look at the crow.  Soon a couple of other crows joined it.  They came closer and closer to the osprey.  I think the osprey finally ate the fish. but I didn’t see it happen.

Osprey, Crow and Fish

As always, click on an image to show more detail.  Once you click on a photo, you can scroll through them.

27 thoughts on “A Few Photos From the Weekend

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I played around with resolution a bit and can bring out some great detail, but I could with the old camera too. The EM1 Mii is ultra-configurable, so I need to sit down some day and set it up, putting customized functions under some of the dials. Anyway, still learning to use it, which is fun :)

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          Yeah, I downloaded a pdf manual, but haven’t had time to go through it. Well, I looked up a few things, but… The manual in the box was just a “quick start” guide.

          Like

          Reply
            1. trentpmcd Post author

              Same here. My problem is that I sometimes get to a point where i just leave it configured as is and don’t spend as much time experimenting as I should

              Like

              Reply
                1. trentpmcd Post author

                  Yep. 99% I use aperture priority. In the past, 99% I have been using Oly’s autofocus for more static images (‘s’ mode), but have been using the continuous focus (‘c’) on the new camera and have found that the exposure does things that to me are unpredictable (I discovered that was one reason why I was getting good exposure on flying birds on my old camera but not the new one). With the EM1 I can customize dials and buttons, so if i want to move from autofocous “s” to “c”, it can be a push of a button. Or I need to experiment more with exposure lock, since I always just relied on half clicking to lock exposure, while now, using continuous, it changes…. So, big learning curve.

                  Liked by 1 person

                  Reply
                  1. Sonya Lira

                    I mostly use manual occasionally I will use aperture priority. Canons have something called Back button focus so mine went from pressing the shutter button down halfway to using a different button by choosing this option I do not always use it because sometimes I am in a hurry and I just want to take pictures. Lol.

                    Liked by 1 person

                    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      So I spend a lot of money on a fancy new camera and everyone likes the photo from my 4 year old phone the best ;) Oh well, if I took a picture of that night heron with my phone it would be just a tiny dot in a distant tree…. Thanks! All joking aside, I do really like the sunset picture.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          People do love sunset photos. I’ve been getting a small chuckle out of that photo. And truthfully, I’ve really loved the photos from the new camera, including the close ups with all of the detail (though the waterfalls I posted a few weeks ago are still my favorites).

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
            1. trentpmcd Post author

              You sure put the “anti” in Antipodes. Besides going to bed as I’m getting up, I bet you think it’s approaching winter instead of summer, don’t you? ;) No rush. If you have time to look, great! If not, don’t worry about it.

              Liked by 1 person

              Reply
  1. AdashofJhaee

    Wow thats a big fish the osprey caught! Amazing!! I love the sunset photo and the bunny 🐰. And that close up picture of the heron. Nicely done Sir Trent. Youre getting a lot of practice on your new camera now 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Express Yourself

