If We Were having Coffee on the 27th of May

Hello and Welcome!  Come on in and I’ll get you a large mug of a very strong French Roast, a cuppa tea or something other beverage.  It looks like it’s going to be a nice day, which is great since it has been so cold and wet (yes, again) the last few days.  And where am I?  Some of you may recognize the phot at the top of the page as being down on Cape Cod.

Despite the wet and cold, it looks like summer is here.  I took a ride out to my favorite beach this morning.  I hit a few traffic jams at 7:30 AM on a Saturday!  And the parking lot at the beach was already full.   OK, not full, but when there are almost a dozen cars as opposed to me being the only car, well, it seems full.  There were people everywhere.  For people who don’t live in this country, this is Memorial Day weekend, the big American kickoff to summer.  Every person who has a seasonal house/cottage/cabin/camp on Cape Cod seems to be down.  I have usually gone other placers on Memorial Day, so this is new to me.  I guess I knew it was busy, I just never experienced it.

I had yesterday off but did very little.  I did hit the beach and made it into the woods for a few minutes, but it rained most of the day.  Also, my Internet connection is down.  I’ve been using my phone to connect, but my data plan is limited, so I haven’t spent much time on line.  On the plus side, I have written more than 10,000 words on The Old Mill and about am about done.  I just have the final wrap-up chapter to go.

Work is work…

It’s been an odd week.  It’s been busy and I’ve gotten a lot done, but it has also been slow in many ways and I feel behind.  And, of course, this Intranet thing is driving me crazy.  I might do a post on it later….

I did try to post every day this week.  I put up my typical Sunday Smile Reminder, and later, on Wednesday, I posted a new Weekly Smile.  I posted a chapter of The Old Mill on Monday and another one on Friday.  Friday’s chapter is getting to the meat of it all.  I had a rant about people who think science is false.  I also posted some nice photos I took on Cape Cod a couple of weeks ago.  Of course I did Friday Fictioneers and a story for Sue Vincent’s #write photo.

Today I will make more calls on my Internet service and hopefully get it straightened out.  I also want to spend some time outside.  Maybe I’ll kayak, take a walk in the woods, go down to the beach again and other such things.  Perhaps I can even take a lot of photos.  We’ll see.

If you thought that was a hint that I am about to slowly show you the door, well, I guess I won’t deny it.  But it was great having you stop by!

Thanks for stopping by!  I hope you have a great weekend.  If you have a coffee share, I’ll try to stop by your place and see what you’ve been up to.  (No promises since I don’t have an Internet connection.)

The  Coffee Share is now hosted by Nerd in the Brain.  Thank you Emily!  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “InLinkz Linkup.  In fact, I encourage you to click on the “linky” to see what’s been going on in the lives of other bloggers and even join us if you haven’t before.

32 thoughts on “If We Were having Coffee on the 27th of May

  1. Kathleen Howell

    Hope you get your internet fixed soon, so frustrating.. Our neighbors puppies chewed our line once, cable company fixed it and then squirrels decided we needed some more downtime.. Glad to hear you got had more time to write though.. Have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks. I’m no longer down there, but as far as I know, it is not back up yet. The run around I was getting is very frustrating.

      I have a plug-in hybrid, and some critter chewed through my charge cable, I assume squirrels. It’s amazing how much damage those buggers can cause when they want to…

      Have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. Rowena

    Well done on the 10,000 words. I am quite envious. I’m still focusing on trying to get the home front sorted out with the helpers I’m now getting in. Things have improved a lot but now my awareness of the chaos has heightened as well.
    On top of that, my daughter has an accident and it took a few days to calm down from that. I am still finding it hard to let go and want to keep her close…a parent’s instinct.
    Not as much writing getting done, but I did have a fabulous photography day walking through Sydney’s Surry Hills.
    Hope you have a great week.
    Best wishes,
    Rowena

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I’m sorry to hear about your daughter’s accident. I hope everyone is OK.

      Life is unpredictable and usually leaves us with much less time to do the things we want than we would like. For me, having a couple of days that were planned vacation, yet turned out wet and cold (so no outside time) and there being no Internet (so no wasting time), yeah, it left me a lot of time to write. So I finished the first draft of what I guess I can no longer call my WiP.

      I hope you have a great week ahead!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I had to telework on Thursday, so my phone’s hotspot was busy… And my wife had a ton of reports to write and file, so she was also out of luck. Since we are at our “vacation” house about 10 days a month (except June and August, when it is 20 days), we work out of the house a lot. So it is tough. Anyway, there were still a lot of good things this weekend, so…

      I hope you’re having a good weekend and have a great week ahead.

      Like

      Reply
  3. mommyusage

    As much as I love the beach I’m staying away on this weekend. Not much of a crowd person. Especially since I have a very busy and quick little one. I hope they fix your internet soon. We’ve been experiencing a bit of the cold, wet weather as well. Enjoy your weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Pretty much I hit the beach bright and early and am gone before the crowds hit. Still, I left this morning and will hangout up in New Hampshire for Memorial Day itself.
      Hope your weekend is going well!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  4. Sonya Lira

    Have a great weekend in Cape Cod even though the crowds are out. Around here the best time to hit the beaches is during the week when school is in session once school is out there is not a good time lol. I hope you get some time to take some more pictures, rest and relax.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I’ll be down for a week in late June. the funny thing is, Summer season doesn’t officially start until July 4th weekend, so that last week of June is always great. I also do a week at the end of August or beginning of September. Again, it’s just out of season and great. I did take a few pictures, but for several reasons I headed back to new Hampshire – I just got home a half an hour ago.
      Have a great rest of the weekend and a good week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  5. Corina

    We’re in an area where our Internet goes out when there are weather issues (rain or wind). Luckily, my phone’s data plan is unlimited so I use it to connect to go online or to stream movies. I should just use the time for writing but I don’t always do what I should.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      The main frustration here was the response I was getting. Somebody knew i had issues, but the information wasn’t getting to people who could help. I think it finally got there, but too late for me – I went back to New Hampshire. The hard part is telecommuting. I need a good, fast connection for that.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      And it is just me – my neighbors are fine. There were silver linings, but there were definitely bad points – mostly the frustration of trying to work through the system.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Did I miss wine share time? That sounds like a lot of fun ;) The no Internet wasn’t wonderful (it might be if it was planned!), but other than that, it was pretty good. I hope you are having a wonderful weekend.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  6. bettylouise31

    That is horrible about our internet connection. We haven’t a problem with our internet since this company we sign with this company. It was is nice you have some time to walk and enjoy life. I agree with you about science, if it wasn’t for science we wouldn’t have the luxuries and a long life.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      It has been frustrating to not have Internet here. I am still bale to get on a little, but there have been issues.
      I will always find a way to find time to get out, at least until I am no longer able to get out . I have to keep moving or my blood pressure goes up.
      I hope you have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      It has been frustrating. I’ve been getting the run around and not making it very far. I upped the bandwidth on my phone so I can use it a little more, but still not the same.
      This is a beautiful area and I love to take pictures of the wildlife.
      Have a great week!

      Like

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Still down… I’ve talked to a few people and, after days, I finally got somebody to say that someone would come by to fix it, but the day is running out and I haven’t seen anybody yet…..

      Like

      Reply
  7. pamelascanepa

    Hi, Trent! It is quite warm and sunny here in Florida, though we had a good bit of rain early in the week. I hope you do enjoy the outdoors today! Me, not so much, with this sinus issue, but I’ll be working on author stuff, and that makes me happy! Have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Sorry about the sinus issues. This has been as bad allergy season up here, so plenty of that around. Working on author stuff does sound good. I hope you have a good long weekend and a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Express Yourself

