Photos of Cape Cod, Mid May

 

Swan grooming itselfI always post a lot of photos from Cape Cod, and have done a late April post every year.  I wasn’t 100% happy with my late April photos this year, but I am a bit happier with the ones I took in mid May.

Last Monday I put up a post of waterfalls and mentioned a new camera.  These shots are the first shots I took on Cape Cod with the new camera.

Osprey angled

I had a few technical issues, which I will not go into here, but for the most part I was very happy with it.  The big difference was how well it tracked flying birds.

I’m including a few not great shots, but are good for me.  One is a Little Blue Heron.  This is the first I’ve ever seen.  Cape Cod is at the boundary of the range.  Another was an Oriole and then a Yellow Warbler.  These are birds I don’t see very often.

Oriole

Here are a bunch of photos that I like.  As usual, click on one to get more detail.  If you want, you can then scroll through them as a slide show.  I hope you enjoy!

20 thoughts on “Photos of Cape Cod, Mid May

  1. Pingback: If We Were having Coffee on the 27th of May | Trent's World (the Blog)

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks! I guess you can tell I’ve been very happy with the new camera. My complaint so far is that a few of the photos would have been so much better if I had the raw file, but I’m using an older version of PS and don’t want to spend $15/m just so I can edit the raw files… And yeah, there are times so see so much more wildlife, but they will come back. i hope ;)

      Like

      Reply
      1. Sonya Lira

        You can edit the jpegs the only thing is it does not save the data like the raw file so you can not get back detail you might think is lost. When I first started out I shot Jpeg, then I went to Jpeg and Raw and for at least 10 years I have only shot raw images.Try out the trial version of Adobe Lightroom and see what you think you can develop raw files in it as well.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          The problem with these pictures was the osprey photos – they had bright skies and black birds. I was able to get the detail, but all color info was gone. With CS 5 I could do raw with my old camera and get good photos out of those types of shots. I might try Adobe Lightroom. I also have the Olympus software, so I might give that a try – years ago I hated the Olympus software, but haven’t tried it since. maybe it’s better now….

          Like

          Reply
  2. Irene Waters 19 Writer Memoirist

    Great photos Trent. Your oyster catcher does look like my unknown New Zealand bird apart from beak colour. I am amazed from your photos just how many different varieties of birds you have in Cape Cod from birds of prey to little tiny song birds to water birds and you threw in a rabbit as well. I guess he is dinner for one of the birds.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks! Actually there are tons of different birds, particularly if I get more shore birds. I’ve taken pictures of two types of hawks, a falcon, vultures, turkeys, four types of plovers (if you include kildeer), four types of terns, half a dozen duck species, etc., etc. It’s a birders paradise :)
      There are redtail hawks around, so the rabbit might be hawk food….

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks. I love taking pictures because it means that I always have to be aware of what’s around me instead of in my usual haze ;) (OK, most of the time the haze means I’m writing a story in my head.) I’m glad you like them!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks. I don’t see those little birds as much as the others, so it was nice getting pictures. The pictures aren’t nearly as clear as some of the snowy egret photos, but they are colorful…

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Express Yourself

