If We Were Having Coffee on the 20th of May

Moog and Morning Coffee

Hello and Welcome!  Come on in and I’ll get you a nice mug of super strong French Roast, a cuppa tea or some other beverage.  After weeks of odd weather, it is perfect today!  It had been cold and wet for a few weeks, and then this week it turned hot, like 95 F/35 C.  Today and for the next few days, it will be nice and comfortable with cold nights – great for sleeping!  Not that I slept well last night, but that’s another story for another time.  Anyway, where am I?  By the photo at the top you may guess that I am in New Hampshire this weekend.

So, work was ultra-busy.  Enough said ;)  OK, just a few words.  In ways, being busy is better than bored.  And at least I have work, and a very good job at that.  And it is challenging and I have to continue to grow and stretch myself.  What happens to people as the age if work no longer challenges or stretches them, make them grow?  Does their mind atrophy?  Their work muscles shrivel?   Hmmm.  I don’t want to find out…

I didn’t have much time to write this week.  It seemed like there was something happening every day after work.  And then, my “office” is the hottest room in the house, and it gets to well over 100 F/38 C in there on hot days.  When I started telecommuting, I bought an air conditioner for it, but I don’t want to install it yet because I would have to run it on perfect days like today.  No.  So, what I was saying is that my mind doesn’t work properly when it is too warm.  And actually, the other day my computer was making a lot of noise, so I shut it off until it cooled down.  When I turned it back on, it did some stupid Windows update that took almost 2 hours.  So zero computer time on Thursday….

Actually, I did get some writing in.  I have pushed The Old Mill a little, though on weeks like this I am glad I have a backlog, which allowed me to post a chapter on Monday and then another chapter on Friday.  I also did Friday Fictioneer this week and wrote a story inspired be Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley’s original Frankenstein for Sue Vincent’s #wwritephoto.   I was even inspired to write a poem this week, which, as i said a few weeks ago, is good because I haven’t been writing much poetry lately.

So, I guess I did some writing, just not much progress in my book. OK, so I guess i should smile about the writing I accomplished, right?

Talking about smiling, on Sunday I posted my typical Smile Reminder and then on Wednesday I put up my Weekly Smile for week 72.  72 weeks!  Wow, what a run.  I also posted about my writing – someone did a nice review of Seasons of Imagination, so I posted about it.  I also put up some photos from a hike I did.

Braided stream

Wow, look at the time!  I have a million things to do.  Mowing my lawn is near the top of the list.  And then walks, runs, going out to the store to pick up a few things, an…  yeah, it will be a busy day!

Thanks for stopping by!  I hope you have a great weekend.  If you have a coffee share, I’ll try to stop by your place and see what you’ve been up to.

The  Coffee Share is now hosted by Nerd in the Brain.  Thank you Emily!  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “InLinkz Linkup.  In fact, I encourage you to click on the “linky” to see what’s been going on in the lives of other bloggers and even join us if you haven’t before.

 

25 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee on the 20th of May

  1. Kathleen Howell

    I liked your comment about mind atrophy.. It’s easy to get into a comfortable routine (and nice, for a little while) but we must keep moving.. imho

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      We do have to keep moving, keep thinking, keep busy. Some people have a real hard time when they retire because they have too few interests and, to use that term, their minds atrophy. to me it would be more time to write ;)

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. Joanne Sisco

    What a great photo, Trent. It looks like you’ve been having a soggy spring too.
    Unfortunately the weather turned on us again and after 2 glorious days of summer weather, we are back into the chilly stuff. Hope you’re having a great weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      It has been a wet and cold spring. We are back to cool, but it’s dry, so I’m happy. And though cool, it isn’t as cold as it was before the little heatwave.

      I hope you have a great week and the weather turns nicer there.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. amiewrites74

    The photo is beautiful. You are lucky to live among such scenery. What a big temperature swing for you this week! I’m glad to hear you’re out and about enjoying the weather (though you always are). Hope your office is a bit cooler this week.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      This is a very pretty area. I don’t always take advantage of it as much as I should. I couldn’t survive if I had to stay inside all of the time. Yeah, the office has cooled down quite a bit – it is also the coldest room int the house during the winter…
      Have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      We do have very wide temperature swings around here, though usually they aren’t as dramatic as this week. I did get quite a bit done, though not as much writing as I had hoped.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  4. bettylouise31

    I do like your creek scene. Your are warmer than we will be today. The warm temperature is nice after all the cool weather we have been experiencing. So far I have gotten a Windows update. Amazon must be hurting as they put a free icon on my Kindle. It nothing but to sell or showcase items. I keep deleting it and they put it back.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Amazon sells the Kindles at cost and so make their money by selling from the Kindle. I think Kindles are great, but in one way they are just machines to sell to you that they put in your hands.
      Thanks about the photo! It was a very pretty hike with several waterfalls and this little stream running down the hillside to the main brook.
      Today is a lot cooler than it has been the last few days, but very comfortable. I’m enjoying it.

      Have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  5. Pamela Morse

    I think spring fever, or something is happening now Trent…I just did not write this week either ..no excuse, just lazy or uninspired… Hope we both have a more productive upcoming week. Cheers! Thanks for coffee.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  6. imaginativeworks

    Love the picture. As for writing time, I find that we are entering the time of year where it gets increasingly challenging to fit the time in. The nice weather screams for yard work, gardening, an extra walk, time at the park with kids, ball with the dogs… That said, the idea of sitting at an outside café with a tasty drink and writing for a while fits the season, but always hits the bottom of the list I was just checking off. Anyway, thanks for coffee and a chat.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      There is so much to do. I stay pretty active all winter, but with the long days and such… Yeah, mowed most of the morning, just got back from a run and have the afternoon planned with no writing time built in.

      Thanks for stopping by. I hope you have a great week.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  7. nerdinthebrain

    Holy cow! I don’t think I could deal with a 100-degree office. (But I totally get holding off on installing the air conditioner so you don’t goof up beautiful days.)

    I had that same goofy Windows update…it took forevvvvvvver! Seriously, it messed my day all up because I couldn’t do things I had planned. Those updates should warn us when they’re going to take that long…I would have let it run overnight if I had realized.

    I’m ever so happy that your brain is not atrophying. ;) It is important to keep the thinker active! :D

    Have a wonderful day of mowing and walking and running and store going!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Express Yourself

