Diner

inside-the-diner

PHOTO PROMPT © Roger Bultot

It stuck out, an old railcar pushed into a corner of town long after the trains had stopped running.  Back in the day, shiny chrome welcomed day trippers from Boston, but it had turned dingy and grey.

An old woman, the original owner, a perpetual cigarette hanging from her lip, served me.  The coffee was bitter, the eggs greasy and the toast older than the diner.  The next youngest customer had half a century on me.

I never returned.

I passed the empty lot today.  What the health-inspector found came back.  It’s been 20 years and I still felt nauseous.

Word count = 100

Friday Fictioneers is hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.  This week’s p

rompt is here and uses a photo provided by © Roger Bultot.  Read more or join in by following the InLinkz “linky.

This is partially based on fact.  When I first moved to Wilton, there was an old railcar diner in a corner of town.  I ate there once.  It was enough.  It was gone within a couple of years of me being in town.  I did hear some rumors, but not quite this bad…

57 thoughts on “Diner

  1. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee on the 20th of May | Trent's World (the Blog)

  2. JoHawkTheWriter

    Diners are either pretty decent or wretched. I have been lucky to stumble on the pretty decent far more often that the wretched. You can normally tell the difference when you step through the front door. Enjoyed your story.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I’ve been to very few really bad ones, and most them are long gone. As I said in other comments, I think the lack of cigarette smoke has really improved the average diner. Thanks!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks Dale! I won’t say for this story, but for the real place this is modeled on, it’s just after 60 years of continuous use, it just might not have been up to all of the modern specs on safety and hygiene. No rats or dead bodies under it or anything. Not quite like Miss Lovett’s meat pies ;)

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. Life Lessons of a Dog Lover

    Nicely done. I like the perpetual cigarette it really paints the picture. I refuse to let my mind wander to what they found.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. jellico84

    Good one, kinda reminds me of the local Waffle House. Late one night, many years ago when we came to visit our Grandma, we stopped. We didn’t have money for a hotel room at the time and thought we could kill at least two hours over a midnight breakfast. As we sat down, waiting to order, a handful of roaches crawled out from under the sugar holder. Needless to say, we tucked the menu back in its holder and left. To this day, I haven’t been back in a Waffle House anywhere.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Oo, that’s nasty. i can see why you never went back to a Waffle House… I’ve seen a few places almost as bad. One funny one was a high end restaurant in a old farm house. A mouse came and sat on my shoe for a while. I kicked it off when I noticed it, but still….

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply
  5. Lynn Love

    Ooh, nasty! It amazes what restaurants and diners get away with. I remember being taken into some awful places in the 1970s here in the UK when I was small – cigarette ash everywhere, plastic table cloths tacked to the tables, cracked, filthy floor tiles … Grim stuff!
    Nicely done

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Every so often I see a place that’s pretty nasty, but over here they seem to be doing a better job of shutting down places that get too far out of compliance than they did in the past. Having a ban on smoking in restaurants has greatly changed everything.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I think there can be many interpretations of “What the health-inspector found”. My guess is you took one of the more, well, to use your word, “sinister” interpretations. I did leave it to the imagination, but I was just thinking unsanitary, since the place was maybe 60 years old with few modern upgrades. And yeah, it looked like nothing, including the customers. had changed in those 60 years. Unless you take a darker interpretation, more creepy than sinister, but it might be that too!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
            1. trentpmcd Post author

              It’s a musical by Steven Sondheim and was made into a movie staring Johnny Depp. It was based on a Penny Dreadful from the 1840s. For more information, I’ll let you Google it ;)

              Liked by 1 person

              Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      That is true – we can usually imagine much worse than reality. I think of Hobbes (the tiger) telling Calvin “think of the worst thing I can do to you.” Calvin, answers, “you’d do -that- to me?” “No, I’d do something even worse.” ;)

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Although I don’t miss the “dangers” of the past (second hand smoke, nasty dining conditions), a lot of character has been lost in this world as we become more sanitized. Thanks!

      Like

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I feel slow today – I didn’t get your reference until I read it out loud. Luckily, no, Sam and Ella didn’t come to visit. ;) I was more nauseous over the thought than the actual food…

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Express Yourself

