If We Were Having Coffee on the 6th of May

Moog and Morning Coffee

Hello and Welcome!  Come on in out of the pouring rain and dry off.  Here, I’ll get you a large mug of very strong French Roast, a cuppa tea or some hot cocoa.  If you are visiting after lunch I might be able to find a nip of something to warm you up ;)  Yesterday was wet, cold and miserable.  Today is starting as a repeat, but it will be much warmer (over 20 degrees F warmer).  I’m sure you are asking where it is so wet and nasty.  Well, pretty much the eastern half of the US, from what I’ve heard, but, as some of you may be able to tell by that Moog Voyager and coffee cup at the top, I’m in New Hampshire today.

I wasn’t in New Hampshire for most of the week.  If you read last week’s coffee post, you know I was on Cape Cod over the weekend.  I came home to NH on Sunday, but flew out on Monday.  I had some training to do for work down in Washington, DC.  The training was all day Tuesday and Wednesday and I flew home on Thursday.  It was a nice class and I did get a lot out of it.  I wish I could do more of those types of classes.  In fact, I’d like to do more classes of any type…

capital-building

Because of the way things worked out, I did get a bit of time in some of the museums.  I spent a little time in the Natural History Museum and got to meet a few of Emily’s friends.

Triceratops

And who doesn’t like a T-Rex?

T-rex

I also spent a little time at the Air and Space Museum (I have some phone pictures, but didn’t post any to Instagram or FaceBook, so I’ll have to pull them down later.)  And i spent quite a bit of time at the National Gallery of Art.

Dega-dancers

I also go to meet a fellow blogger, Britta.  I’ll talk about that a little more on my Sunday Weekly Smile Reminder.

Work was, well, training.  But Friday was catch up day, and I never did quite catch up!  Oh well, there is always Monday for that….

I did post some when I was away.  One problem, though, is I’d get a post ready late at night and then post from my phone in the morning.  I’d get very few views.  I checked later and discovered that they were posting at the time I had saved them from my computer, not the time I posted from the phone.  So unless people where going back to 8 PM the night before, they wouldn’t see the post I put up at 8 AM.  I’ll never do that again….

Here is a quick recap of posting:  I put up a Smile 69 reminder on Sunday and then the Weekly Smile 70 on Wednesday.  Since that showed up Tuesday night, I put up a Weekly Smile Part 2 Wednesday evening.  I posted an Idea (came out IIdea) on Tuesday morning (posted on Monday night though – I think I have 4 views….) and a quick poem about being out of town Tuesday evening.  On Thursday I put up a Friday Fictioneer Flash Fiction story and later a #writephoto story.  I also put up a chapter of The Old Mill on Monday and another chapter on Friday.  So far I’ve posted well over 40K words on that story…

I have a lot to catch up on here as well as work so I may have to cut this short.  Well, I know it is already long for a quick post, but you know what I mean.  I won’t push you out into the pouring rain, but you’ll have to excuse me as i putter around the house.

Thanks for stopping in!  I hope you had a great week this week and that next week is also a good one for you.  I know the conversation, well, a bit one sided.  If you have a coffee share, I’ll try to stop by your place and then it can be one sided the other way, OK?

The  Coffee Share is now hosted by Nerd in the Brain.  Thank you Emily!  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “Linkup Linky.  In fact, I encourage you to click on the “linky” to see what’s been going on in the lives of other bloggers and even join us if you haven’t before.

 

34 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee on the 6th of May

  1. Pingback: The Weekly Smile 71 #weeklysmile | Trent's World (the Blog)

  2. amiewrites74

    Sounds like a good trip with some class time and some museum time. I love the DC museums, particularly the Natural History and National Gallery of Art. It has been so many years since I’ve been to DC and I’d love to go again soon. Stay dry and have a good week!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      It was a nice visit. I enjoyed the training and, of course, loved going to the museums. It’s bad to feel rushed in them, but over three days I was able to squeeze in quite a bit of time.
      Have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. amiewrites74

        I’m glad you could fit them in. The last time I went to DC it was for a medical conference and I also had to squeeze in the sight-seeing between meetings. I would love to go there just for vacation so that I could spend all of my time doing museums, monuments, etc.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          It’s been quite a while since I last had a real vacation there, but over the last few working visits I’ve been able to spend time at most of the major museums on the Mall and the major monuments. Two or three years ago I brought a good camera and took tons of pictures of the monuments. I have a blog post with them someplace around.

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
  3. Tena Carr

    The air and space museum would be fun for me. One of my favorite museums growing up was OMSI (in Oregon) – Oregon Museum of Science and Industry. I loved that place and could spend all day there.. How did training at work go? Hopefully you had a good weekend and have a good week.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I enjoy the Air and Space museum and always try to stop by when I’m there. My class was almost directly across the street from it, so I stopped in at lunch time both days. Training went very well. It was a good class. Just got back from a very long hike, so the weekend is good. I hope yours is as well and that you have a great week.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  4. Nancy

    DC museums are the best. And the fact that most are free doesn’t hurt either! We have been talking about making another trip down this summer. It’s about a 3 hour drive for us so not too bad.

    We had some rain here last week as well (yesterday was a mess) but the sun is peaking out now so I will enjoy it while I can. Have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I always enjoy being in DC. It’s been quite a few years since I’ve had a true vacation there, but seeing little bits and pieces at a time is still nice.
      It rained until about 3 this afternoon. The sun finally came out. The dogs didn’t care if it was raining, so i got soaked a few times today ;)

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  5. nerdinthebrain

    Oh, you know I love a good dinosaur pic! :D I’m so glad you got to visit some of my pals. ;)

    I’m with you on the classes thing. I love taking classes and learning about new stuff. I recently discovered a science museum in the area has a whole series of classes for adults, so now I’m pondering a two-hour drive (round trip) every couple of weeks to participate.

    And I feel your pain about the post scheduling. It seems I only manage to successfully schedule a blog post for later about 10% of the times I try. It usually ends up posting at a wacky time or not posting at all or some such thing. Definitely not a perfect system.

    I hope your week is full of awesome…and that you find some fun classes to take. :)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I figured you always like a good dino-photo ;) Not sure why, of course…
      For a while i was doing college classes off and on. I did music classes, drawing/painting classes and computer classes. The “training” at work is very different, but still can be fun. The problem is that classes are usually in DC and I can’t travel very often.
      I hope you can make it to the museum classes on a occasion – sounds fun, even if the drive doesn’t. but at least you have a new car to make that drive ;)
      If I write a post, save it, then post it later from a computer, it is usually good. If I schedule it, odd things sometimes happen. But this, writing on a computer and posting later on a phone, was the worst I’ve found so far.
      I hope you have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      It is supposed to be a conversation, which is difficult until we reach the comment section ;) I enjoy the coffee share posts were we can all just chat. Thanks, I’m glad you enjoyed this! :)

      Like

      Reply
  6. pamelascanepa

    I love those museums in D.C.! At age 19, I rode in to work with my dad, then I got to take a bus and visit them all on my own. I haven’t been to them since, but it’s a wonderful memory! Glad you got to enjoy them. Have a great week.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      They are great. Whenever I make it down to DC, I always try to get at least some museum time in. I didn’t do any of the monuments this time, but that is also nice.
      Have a great week.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Express Yourself

