I Want Your Smile #weeklysmile 68 Reminder

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

I had something planned for this reminder, but then I read a story on BBC.  I want to backtrack for a second.  A little while ago I posted a story that had an enchanter named “Tim”.  As any self respecting nerd knows, I took that name from Monty Pythons.  Why is “Tim the Enchanter” such a funny name?  I don’t know, but it is hilarious.

A second aside.  What do you call junk e-mail?  Do you know why?  Again, from Monty Pythons.  The “spam” skit repeats the word “spam” over and over, just like the spam emails.  “Spam, spam, spam, spam, Spam spam spam spam, Spam! Wonderful Spam!”  Who first called it that?  I have no idea, but it stuck! (You know you are a real nerd if you sang along when I printed the “spam song.” ;) )

OK, back to my story.  Sorry, not the story I wrote, but the story for this post.  Uhm, back to the story I read on BBC.  OK, that’s better.

It seems that some scientist started seeing a new phenomena when looking at pictures of the auroras on Facebook.  So they started studying it and discovered that it really was an undiscovered phenomena.  Before they knew it was new, they called it Steve.  Someone came up with the name from a children’s film, Over the Hedge.  And do you know what?  the name stuck.  Most likely this will be called “Steve” forever.  When you study things that happen on earth, you will see many names, and one will be Steve.

Here is the article.  If you read it without even smiling a little, why are you reading my blog ;)  (Oh, and a week or so ago, some scientists named a shrimp with a killer sound after Pink Floyd.  Don’t you just love scientists?)

So, what made you smile this week? Write about it and post on the link-up (or click the little blue frog below). While you’re there, read what everyone else is smiling about! And come back to it later, if last week is any indication new smiles will be added daily!

–-

Note – the weekly smile runs Wednesday Morning to Wednesday morning.  I post in the morning (Eastern US) and put up the link usually between 7 and 8 AM EST.  I also try to post on Sunday as a reminder.  People can and do join throughout the week.

5 thoughts on “I Want Your Smile #weeklysmile 68 Reminder

  1. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee on the 29th of April | Trent's World (the Blog)

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Yep, so would we. I remember a friend and I doing a skit for an 8th grade talent show (The successful encylopedia salesman “Burglar. Open up ma’am so I can burgle your house.”) and not a single person got it…. I mean, we even had a Ken doll to demonstrate the unsuccessful burglar, you would think one person would get it…

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      When i was college, I began to notice that all of the people considered “nerds” could quote large sections of Monty Python. I have no idea why it appealed to us, except that it was so different from what was on US television at the time. I guess so was Fawlty Towers… I watched it, but wasn’t a super huge fan. I guess we all react to different things in different ways… ;)

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Express Yourself

