Since You’re Gone

saltwater-marsh-02

The stars shine less bright
Since you’re gone

They no longer
Have a need
To prove themselves

The birds have all taken flight
Since you’re gone

They no longer
Sing
To mimic your voice

The sun doesn’t provide much light
Since you’re gone

It no longer
Has a twin
To bless with its kiss

My heart is as cold as night
Since you’re gone

It no longer
Rejoices
In my chest

Since you’re gone

— —

Don’t worry, I’m fine :)  This is a love poem to no one, and my heart is not broken.

15 thoughts on “Since You’re Gone

  1. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee on the Earth Day, 2017 | Trent's World (the Blog)

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks. I’m not sure why, but after I posted it, it just didn’t feel right. But as I said to Penny, it’s like that sometimes. I’ll love something and nobody responds to it or I won’t like something and others love it. Oh well, such is the writing life ;)

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks Penny! It’s funny how different people see things – I wasn’t super happy with this poem, but if it works for you, great!
      I sometimes post “love poems to know one”. Sometimes I’ll have have a person (past, present or future ;) ) in mind to help get the feeling, but the idea isn’t specific to that person. This wasn’t really even that, which may be why it’s not my favorite…

      Like

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      There are a few song like this. I think there is a Bob Dylan song with the line “since you’re gone”, but I couldn’t find it. I can’t watch the video now (at work) but will later.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Express Yourself

