If We Were Having Coffee on the 15th of April, 2017

Moog and Morning Coffee

Hello and Welcome!  Come in out of the… oops, sorry, it’s colder inside than outside.  I turned off the heat the other day when it was so warm (in the 80s F and upper 20s C).  I can’t turn it on yet, even though it has been cold at night, so the house is frigid…  It has been beautiful, though, and today will be warm so I can open windows.  Tomorrow may hit 80F (27 C) and so the house should get nice and warm, though I might have to turn the heat on again :(  Oh, you are asking where I am?  If you’ve been here before, you may recognize that photo of the beautiful synthesizer as having been taken up in new Hampshire.

Work was busy, but not insane.  We may get to insane levels later, but for now it is workable.

I got some stuff done around the house.  Mostly it’s been getting the house ready for spring.  I removed the plastic from a few windows so I could open them (see here for what I am talking about).  I put away the humidifiers and some of the space heaters.  Switched winter wardrobe for summer (I have a large cedar chest that keeps 6-months of off season clothes).  Other such stuff.

I didn’t get a lot done with writing.  Doing two Old Mill posts a week, I am still a few weeks ahead, so missed little by not writing there, but I need to get busy on my rewrite of The Fireborn!

One reason is I got busy doing the Music That Matters Challenge (Thanks Sue).  I did it a little different and had a total of seven posts!  Here they are:

Yes, that took a lot of blog time!  I did post an Old Mill story on Monday and then another on Friday.  I may start doing three a week so this is dragged out until November….

I did a story for #writephoto and another one for Friday Fictioneers.  I reposted a poem since I couldn’t get in the poetry mood for my Tuesday poem.  I had a smile reminder for last week and posted a new Weekly Smile for this week.

So it isn’t like I didn’t post much, I just didn’t take the time I usually do writing fiction.

Anyway, it will be a beautiful day and I’m sure you can see the far-away look in my eyes.  Very soon I’ll have to open up the windows again and hopefully warm up the house a bit!  And dogs have energy.  I’m going to go running.  I might go out taking pictures (I took some on Wednesday – the photo on Friday’s Old Mill story, Sean (Part 1), was taken Wednesday).

So, although I’m not kicking you, I’m… OK, I’m kicking you out ;)  If you have a coffee share I will try to stop by.

The Weekend Coffee Share was created by Part Time Monster .  Thank you Diana for all the great Coffee Shares in the past!  And I apologize, but I think this week is the last week I will keep that link up.  Always look to the future, not the past!  If you haven’t heard, the Coffee Share is now hosted by Nerd in the Brain.  Thank you Emily!  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “Linkup Linky.  In fact, I encourage you to click on the “linky” to see what’s been going on in the lives of other bloggers and even join us if you haven’t before.

32 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee on the 15th of April, 2017

                1. trentpmcd Post author

                  Very slightly more seriously.. It was amazing how quick it went from brown with a few specks of green to all green. They have that saying “watching grass grow” – I think it would have been worth while last Tuesday! I think I blinked and the color changed…

                  Liked by 1 person

                  Reply
                  1. Dale

                    It’s crazy. Apparently the day before I came home from the D.R., a huge rainfall happened. This has also added to my water woes. I am praying it is not the foundation because my insurance does not cover it!
                    I would much rather watch the grass colour change, frankly!

                    Liked by 1 person

                    Reply
                    1. trentpmcd Post author

                      I’m sorry. I know a few people with water damage issues. After the April 1 snow we had a few days of torrential rains and more than one person I know had a flooded basement. And I’ve seen other water damage. Not good :(

                      I hope you’re OK!

                      Like

  1. Angelica Kidd

    Sounds like you’ve been busy as usual! :D I do admire your dedication to your writing, it’s very inspiring! I hope the weather stays somewhat above snowman temperature for you, unless you would just like for it to be cold… :) I hope you have a lovely upcoming week, Trent!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I always try to stay busy! With writing, sometimes I have a hard time getting started, so when I am going, I do not hit the breaks because I have to have the momentum keeping me rolling!
      It was really warm yesterday, almost too warm. But yeah, I’m glad there is no snow in the forecast ;)
      Have a great week, Angelica!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. amiewrites74

    Sounds like some glorious weather, glad you are enjoying it. I love the switchover from winter to spring… taking plastic off windows, putting away heaters, etc. I don’t love switching the clothes necessarily since it is a lot of work with two kids. Have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      After all of my complaints about the weather in March, I can no longer complain! It is gorgeous. I can see how the clothes switch-over is much more complicated with kids. OK, what still fits and what doesn’t? And I know that’s just one part of it…
      Have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. amiewrites74

        Yes, mainly trying to figure out what still fits, what doesn’t, what can be passed to the sibling, what can be donated and what is just ready for the trash bin. And then the shopping for new clothes. Enjoy that beautiful weather!

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
  3. Tena Carr

    We’ve been getting highs of mid-high to 80’s into the 90’s and lows in the mid-high 50’s, which means we’ve been able to open the house up at night but have to close it up and turn on the AC part way through the day.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Sounds nice, though for me 90s is too warm… That’s why I live in New England ;) Our house in New Hampshire doesn’t have AC, but stays cool except for during the hottest heat waves. I had the windows open for a few hours yesterday and will today to air the house out after the winter. Enjoy the warmth! OK, for you it’s heat, not warmth.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Tena Carr

        In a few months we’ll be hitting monsoon season and temps in the low to mid 100s or higher (around 110 isn’t uncommon that time of year).

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          We’ll hit 90 a few times in the summer and might reach 100, but for the most part,there are only a handful of uncomfortable nights a year. 110 is very uncommon any time of year here ;)

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
  4. Rowena

    Hi Trent. Wishing you a Happy and Blessed Easter. It’s very late here and I’ve rekindled bad habits over the school holidays, especially with the kids being at my parents’ for a few days. I didn’t want any restrictions.
    We put our clothes up in the roof with the change of seasons and I dread having to sort through my clothes and the kids’. It becomes such a big effort that I put if off until it’s definitely Winter. However, our daughter has a dance camp coming up in the cooler Blue Mountain west of Sydney, and will be needing some woollens. Might be able to defer for another week yet. That’s sort of becoming my mantra at the moment. Why do or pay today when you can put it off til next week. Strangely, this seemingly bad thinking is actually the basis of budgeting.
    Take care.
    xx Ro

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I did lie a little – most of my winter clothes go into the cedar chest, but I wear a lot of button short sleeve shirts, so those were on a hanger in the attic.

      I’m sure change of seasons is much worse with the kids. Defer for another week can be good or bad depending ;) Someday I may put up a post about budgeting.

      I’m sure it’s very late, or perhaps early in the morning, there. Hope you have a great Easter!

      Like

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Still early spring, so it is green, the daffodils and forsythia are blooming, but still pretty bare. But soon! I haven’t made it out with the camera yet, but I hope to later or tomorrow.

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

      Reply

Express Yourself

