Final Celebration

dale-rogerson-pizza

PHOTO PROMPT © Dale Rogerson

I knew there was trouble when she left a message that she was celebrating our 15th anniversary.

It had been 15 years since the divorce, not the marriage.

Hey lady, we split because you had the affair, not me.  If my second marriage worked and yours didn’t, well, I’m sorry.

She didn’t answer or return my calls.  That was bad.

I used my spare to key to enter her apartment.  It was filthy.

I found the partially eaten pizza with the powder on top, the empty medicine vials and the half bottle of wine.  Then I saw the body.

Word count = 99

Friday Fictioneers is hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.  This week’s prompt is here and uses a photo provided by © Dale Rogerson.  Read more or join in by following the InLinkz “linky.

42 thoughts on “Final Celebration

  1. Rowena

    Well done, Trent and I blame the pizza box for the sad element which has crept through both of our takes on the prompt. I wrote a poem years ago lamenting how the box hung round longer than the date.
    The ex sounds like one of those people that comes with the house or your obligation. I am curious about what his second wife thought about him having the key to the ex’s apartment. However, an ex-boyfriend and I have stayed friends for years and is Godfather to our kids and he’s friends with my husband. He’s friends with another ex-girlfriend and I’m friends with her too. These days, we mainly catch up on Facebook due to living in different places and I have kids and he doesn’t.
    It’s nice to see people be friends with their ex’s if possible and that it doesn’t have to all be hate.
    Hope you have a Happy and Blessed Easter.
    xx Rowena

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      There was something sad about the box – I think it being on a dresser made it look like a lonely affair – you don’t eat in the bedroom when you have company (well, I could write an erotica story ;) ).

      I think ex’s often stay relatively close unless there is an awful falling out. Even then, there can be connections. As far as the key, as I said to someone else, he feeds the goldfish when she is out of town .
      I hope you and your family have Happy Easter, too!

      Like

      Reply
  2. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee on the 15th of April, 2017 | Trent's World (the Blog)

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      She dwelt in the past instead of looking forward into the future. Of course we don’t know exactly what she did or didn’t do in those 15 years, so there might be other regrets…

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thinking of “pizza to die for”… For some reason my last two FF stories have been sad. I guess that pizza with one slice missing and the bottle of wine just looked lonely.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. rgayer55

    I’m reminded of the couple who were out to dinner. He saw one of his old flames, and she was really having a great time partying. He said to his wife, “Can you believe that girl and I almost got married.”
    “Well,” said his wife. “It looks like she’s still celebrating.”

    Liked by 4 people

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      That’s pretty much it ;) Truthfully, I was going to have it the other way around, but the pizza and wine are on a woman’s dresser (or so it seems), so I had to go this way.

      Like

      Reply

Express Yourself

