Music That Means Something Day 2

Pyschodelic Music

This is Day two!  I’ll tell what album I chose in a minute.  Look here for my intro.

Don’t know this challenge?  Here is the basic idea (which I’ll semi-ignore):

Post a song a day for five consecutive days. (will do, well album, not song)
Post what the lyrics mean to you.  (Optional) (nope – instrumental)
Post the name of the song and a video. (will do – a song from the album)
Nominate 1 or 2 bloggers each day of the challenge. (Well…, All of you)

(I was “volunteered” to do the challenge by Sue Vincent ;) )

— —

Yesterday I talked about one of two albums that I heard as a very small child, Tommy.  Today I want to talk about the other one Wendy Carlos, Switched on Bach (she went by Walter then).

I remember clearly listening to this, even though I was only five or six at the time.  I listened over and over in total fascination.  In fact, even though I didn’t hear it again until I picked up a used copy when I was 19 or 20, I knew everything on it as if I had been listening to it continually for the 13 or 14 years in between – every note, every sound effect, the entire album was stored in  my brain.  It’s still there – I can play any part at any given time.

Obviously it had a big impact….

This album started my love for Bach.  There once was a time that I only had about 20 classical albums.  Half of them were 20th century composers like Bartok and Stravinsky and the other half were J. S. Bach.  Bach is still my favorite by far, even though there are maybe 200 composers in my iTunes (composers considered classical)  I have over 30 hours of Bach on my iTunes.  I like Bach.

This album also started my love for synthesizers.  When I was a kid I picked up anything if there was a synth on it.  I loved it all.  I still do.  More than that, this started my love for modular analog synthesizers.  Have you noticed the videos I’ve posted recently that feature my modular analog synthesizer?  Man has  created few things cooler than a modular analog synthesizer.  Off of the top of my head, only a Saturn V Moon rocket beats it, and just by a small margin.  I recently started building a modular synthesizer.  The Moon rocket is still out of my price range…

I mean, what else can I say besides this starting my love of Bach and my love of synthesizers?  Sums it up right there.

Unfortunately, Wendy Carlos has a few quirks.  Her music has been out of print for years.  There are no YouTube videos of her work – she watches closely and has them taken down the second they are put up.  She did so many other great things, including some soundtracks (Clockwork Orange, Tron, etc.)  It is such a huge shame that she refuses to let people listen to it.  When people like me, that heard her as a child, are gone, her music will be gone.  I think that’s sad.

Anyway, since I can’t put up any of her music, I’ll put up several of mine that are influenced by her.

I did a series of 24 Preludes for the piano.  Some of them have a strong Bach influence (All of my music has a strong Bach influence ;) ).  I’ve posted several in the past, but here’s one I just put up.  Unfortunately I don’t have video software since my computer crashed, so the video isn’t very good.  But hopefully the music is :)

(Click here if you don’t see the video below)

Here is a very small ditty on the modular analog synth that might be similar to her works – similar sounds and such.

(Click here if you don’t see the video below)

And last, a bit of modular synthesizer madness ;)  This is just on for that type of sound.

(Click here if you don’t see the video below)

Obviously I have a ton of synth music, but I’m saving some for later.

3 thoughts on “Music That Means Something Day 2

  1. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee on the 15th of April, 2017 | Trent's World (the Blog)

  2. Pingback: Music That Means Something – Recap! | Trent's World (the Blog)

  3. Pingback: Music That Means Something Day 3 | Trent's World (the Blog)

Express Yourself

