Music That Means Something – Intro

Pyschodelic Music

I’m sure you’ve all seen the Song-Challenge, Song-of–the-day, Music-that-means-something-to-you- challenge or some combination/variation of those ideas floating around lately.  Anyway, Sue Vincent gave me the challenge.  So, to paraphrase Frank Sinatra, I’m going to do it my way.

Here is the basic idea (which I’ll semi-ignore):

Post a song a day for five consecutive days. (will do, well album, not song)
Post what the lyrics mean to you.  (Optional) (nope – instrumental)
Post the name of the song and a video. (will do – a song from the album)
Nominate 1 or 2 bloggers each day of the challenge. (Well…, All of you)

What I am going to do is talk about albums that had a major impact on my life.  There are so many to choose from!  For the most part I’ll go back to my childhood and give them in, more or less, chronological order.  Well, for me, that is.  I’ll talk about when I heard them and how I was most influenced by them.  I’m not going to tell you what they are yet – that’s what the five posts are for – but I’ll give you time periods.  The first two were first heard when I was either five or six (don’t remember exactly).  The next I was about 10.  The next was when I was 14.  For the last one I was between 15 and 18 – not sure when it ignited my imagination, but sometime in there – I heard it at 15.

All of these albums influence what I like musically.  They also all influenced what I did musically, once I started writing my own music.  For that reason, I will put up two videos for each day, one being a song from the album (instrumental in all cases but 1) and the other one of my videos that was somehow influenced by the album.  I may put up two or three of my videos, if that suits my purpose…. ;)

Two of the albums are sort-of classical, but not what you’d think – there are (traditional) classical albums that greatly influenced me! but not here.  And there is no jazz here, even though these days I listen to more jazz than anything else.

I’ll put up the first one either later today or first thing in the morning, depending on when I get time to find videos and such.  Then I will do one song/album a day.

And where I break the rules the most is that I hate singling people out.  So I will invite all of you to play along!

— — —

Here is one of my videos for day zero.  Enjoy. (that’s the link fif you don’t see below)

22 thoughts on “Music That Means Something – Intro

  1. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee on the 15th of April, 2017 | Trent's World (the Blog)

  2. Pingback: Music That Means Something – Recap! | Trent's World (the Blog)

  3. Pingback: Music That Means Something Day 5 | Trent's World (the Blog)

  4. Pingback: Music That Means Something Day 4 | Trent's World (the Blog)

  5. Pingback: Music That Means Something Day 3 | Trent's World (the Blog)

  6. Pingback: Music That Means Something Day 2 | Trent's World (the Blog)

        1. trentpmcd Post author

          Two – one is “classical style”, so sounds slightly early 19th-century, the other is more modern, very influenced by early 20th century composers. They both can’t fit, so one or the other (I looked into it a while back).

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
  7. Pingback: Music That means Something – Day 1 | Trent's World (the Blog)

Express Yourself

