If We Were Having Coffee on the 4th of April

Hello and Welcome!  Come on in and I’ll get you a large mug of French Roast, a cuppa tea, some cocoa or whatever you need (within reason ;) ).  It is a nice early Spring day.  The sun is shining and the wind is blowing.  It will be semi-warm, though still coat or jacket weather.  And where am I?  Long time readers may recognize the photo as being on Cape Cod, where I am today.

After the April Fools snow storm up in New Hampshire, things started to warm up and become more springlike.  The trend is going to continue – I see temperatures up to 80 F/27 C in New Hampshire coming up this week.  As a point of reference, we spent most of the month of March below freezing.  I’ve seen a few flowers, there are a lot of birds, I even heard peepers yesterday (on Cape Cod)!  The Osprey have returned to Cape Cod, as have other migratory birds.  and the ground is no longer frozen.  It is spring!

I took a long walk on the beach this morning.  It was very windy and not my nicest beach walk this year, but I still enjoyed it.  Yesterday, I had a long walk in the woods with the dogs.  That’s when I heard the spring-peepers.  Today I’ll spend as much time outside as possible.

Anyway, this week work went OK.  Busy as usual.  A lot coming up, and a lot happening.

Besides enjoying the first signs of spring, I spent much of the last week writing and such.  On Monday I posted a new chapter of The Old Mill and I posted another on Friday.  I have five others written and ready to go and pretty much the rest of the story written in my brain, waiting for me to sit at the computer and type it all out.

I also did some editing of my book, The Fireborn.  I put up a post talking about the importance of first chapters and then the next day I posted the first chapter of The Fireborn.  I got a lot of good feedback and have rewritten that chapter.  And on the subject of books, yesterday I put up a post about Seasons of Imagination, since it hasn’t been getting much love lately ;)

On Wednesday I did a Friday Fictioneers story, as usual.  And then on Thursday I did a story for Sue Vincent’s #writephoto.

Of course I put up a smile reminder on Sunday followed by the Weekly Smile on Wednesday.  And I did a poem on Tuesday.

I’m sure you notice the far away look in my eye as I watch out the window.  Sorry.  A little spring fever.  I’ll be nice and social as I finish my coffee, but you can tell I’m already heading out the door.

I am glad you stopped by!  I know I talked about myself here.  If you have a coffee share I’m sure I’ll stop by and it can be all about you, OK?  I’m looking forward to coming over for a visit!

The Weekend Coffee Share was created by Part Time Monster .  Thank you Diana for all the great Coffee Shares in the past!  If you haven’t heard, the Coffee Share is now hosted by Nerd in the Brain.  Thank you Emily!  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “Linkup Linky“.  In fact, I encourage you to click on the “linky” to see what’s been going on in the lives of other bloggers and even join us if you haven’t before.

 

26 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee on the 4th of April

  1. Corina

    I’m so glad someone has spring like weather. We had a whopper of a windstorm on Friday. It was bad. I had an early morning doctor consultation so I was out of the house by 7. The road I take goes a long the river that goes behind my house. It’s a narrow two lane road with very little to no shoulder. I noticed oncoming traffic was flashing their lights at me and it put me on alert. Then as I turned one of the curves in the road, there was a huge tree branch laying across the road, blocking my lane and part of the oncoming lane. I was able to slow down and maneuver around it but it was close. It was so dark that had the branch not been full of pink blossoms, I would not have seen it. Needless to say, I didn’t drive home that way and I stayed indoors listening to the wind and watching the swaying trees outside. Eventually, we lost power so there was that.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I did see some of your posts on FB about the wind storm. It was very windy here, but not like that! I’m glad you noticed the branch in time.

      I hope your weather is improving and you have a great week ahead.

      (Oh, just wanted to say that my spring-like weather was temps in the 40s ;) It is going to be very warm this week, though.)

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. Pingback: #WeeklySmile 66 – Where I almost forgot (again). | Life Happens at the Carrs

  3. Pamela Morse

    If I were going to Cape Cod i would go in the first week of May. That is when I went before. All those giant flowering trees turn me on..the winter required to have them, not so much. Spring is glorious where you live. Enjoy. Thanks for the coffee.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I’m going to be back down there the last week of April, so close…. Actually, one of the good things about Cape Cod is that winters are typically not as bad as they are inland. OK, it can be very stormy, but not as cold or as much snow and the snow melts a lot quicker in the salt air.

      Thanks for stopping by! Have a good week.

      Like

      Reply
  4. Rowena

    Thanks very much for coffee with the sounds of Spring all around us. You have reminded me to get out there and make the most of Autumn when the sun is shining. I have been spending too much time indoors. That said, it’s been raining a lot too.
    I’ve been enjoying the A-Z Challenge although I’ve filed the list I drew up on our holiday and I’m struggling to remember quite where we were going. I think my brain needs an upgrade!
    Have a great week!
    xx Ro

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks for stopping by! I haven’t had much time to comment, but I’ve been enjoying your A-Z through Tasmania.

      Autumn here is by the far the best season – spring is always a little cooler and damper than people remember ;) Today is a gorgeous day and I’ll be heading back outside soon.

      Have a great week!

      Like

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Yesterday wasn’t nice enough to read outside, but today is. I just got home from a long drive, but will head outside again soon.

      Hope your weekend is going well and that you have a great week.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  5. pamelascanepa

    I hope you have enjoyed some time outside today! It is nice and breezy here with a warm sun, what a great mix. I have been busying myself with the A to Z Challenge. It’s quite different for me to post almost daily!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      It was a very nice day outside. Tomorrow will be spent away from the computer as well.

      I put myself into the habit of posting every day. Falling into this serialized novel, it is even easier than usual. The A-Z challenge does seem to work well for some people.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  6. bettylouise31

    Today has been a nasty day and I guess I w have to find time to visit the forum to find out what I am doing wrong whenever I update on the mobile site it wipes out what I have written on the web site. Glad you could take a walk. Spring peeler are they frogs or you birds?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      We had some nasty weather this week, but at least no snow! (Pouring rain at 35 F is bad enough). Spring peepers are frogs. They start making their peeping noises pretty early in spring and are one of the first signs that spring has finally arrived. A pond full of them are very noisy!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. ~M

        Well, have a good lunch. I’m headed out to take my youngest to an Easter event, and then it’s back home for yard work. Hope you have a wonderful weekend too!

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply

Express Yourself

