Shadows of the Heart

jellico3

PHOTO PROMPT © Jellico’s Stationhouse

Mom tried to hide her tears when she was in my room.  I only smiled.

It was spring.  I knew Mom had gone down to the park for her walk.  I’m sure the park was filled with kids with their kites and balls and bikes.  I could imagine them playing and running and riding.

With my eyes I could only see the blank ceiling, but with my mind I could see more, the shadows etched in heart.  I knew what Mom saw as well; a shadow of my forever empty, lonely bicycle, the one that I’d never ride again.

Word count = 100

Friday Fictioneers is hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.  This week’s prompt is here and uses a photo provided by © Jellico’s Stationhouse.  Read more or join in by following the InLinkz “linky.

43 thoughts on “Shadows of the Heart

  1. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee on the 4th of April | Trent's World (the Blog)

      1. imaginativeworks

        Paralyzed, yes I could see that but still my mind screams for the how? I think I might like to try the 100 word post at some point, I like the challenge that the word count provides coupled with making it 100 words that pack a punch…

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          The 100 word challenge is great. it helps sharpen your writing skills. Plus I like writing to the prompts. I don’t spend a lot of time with it, but it’s like doing weight training for my writing muscles.

          Like

          Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      There is that, which could be an awful thing to deal with. In her defense, though, it was passing bit of sadness brought on by being reminded that her child would no longer be able to enjoy the simple pleasures that he or she once knew. Of course, she needs to discover what pleasures they can share in the future and dwell on those, instead of the past.

      Like

      Reply

Express Yourself

