If We Were Having Coffee on April Fool’s Day 2017!

Moog and Morning Coffee

Hello and Welcome!  Come on in and shake or brush all of the crud off.  Yeah, it’s nasty.  It’s not really cold, but if it water based and can come out of the sky, it’s doing it today.  Get your mind out of the gutter!  I’m talking rain, sleet, snow and other such nastiness.  Oh, so when you said “Flock of Seagulls” you were talking about the 1980’s New Wave band and not what a mess they would leave on the patio?  OK, but the New Wave band might leave a mess too…  Anyway, back on topic, you may ask yourself, where is that beautiful house?  Oh, sorry, I’m still stuck on new Wave (Talking heads that time).  To answer the question, those in the know realize that the Moog Minimoog Voyager in the picture at the top is up in New Hampshire.

 

I’ll start with the obvious – Mother Nature is playing a cruel April Fool’s joke on Northern New England.  Right now we have about 4″/ 10 cm or wet, heavy snow and ice pellets on the ground.  They are calling for up to a foot (30 cm), but I think we might miss it.  But then again, it is supposed to continue until 6 PM and it is only 8 AM, so I guess it is possible…  It is right at freezing right now and won’t go below, so it’s a “warm” snow.  Yuck snow.  It will be warmer in the middle of the week and there will be rain, so hopefully it won’t last long.  I want flowers!

April 1, 2017 - snow

Work was work this week ;)  Next subject…

I’ve been in a writing mode recently.  In fact, I put up a post about it yesterday.  In the last week I put up four new installments of The Old Mill  (in order: here (Library 1), here (Library 2), here (Amy 1) and here (Amy 2)).  That is for a total of 16 and about 23K words.  I’ve barely even gotten into the real story, so this may go on for a while!  I also posted a short piece of flash fiction (with pirates) on Wednesday and a longer story, Gold, for #writephoto on Thursday.  Gold was very popular and I am thinking of turning it into a proper 8K word short story.  Thinking of 8K word short stories, yesterday I did something I almost never do, I submitted a story for publication.  I doubt if it will happen, but I may continue to shop this one around (it is one of my favorites).  I mean, if i have a book of short stories I’m trying to peddle, it makes sense that I should actually publish a short story….

Last week I posted a story that used a drawing of a leaf.  I had a comment on the drawing, so on Saturday I posted about it, or actually reposted.  Thinking of repost, I didn’t have time to write a poem for Tuesday, so I reposted on older one.  Of course on Sunday I put up my Smile Reminder and on Wednesday I Put up a new Weekly Smile Post.

Staying on blogging for a moment, March was my best month for views, visitors and likes ever, not by a little, but by a huge amount (I had more visitors last week than in any month in 2015…).  It was #3 for comments, but my three biggest commenters have been missing recently.  So the blog is doing well.

As you may guess, I’m going to do a lot of snow removal today.  I am also going to restart my editing project on The Fireborn.  I might plot out the rest of The Old Mill (the story is in my brain, but I might need to draw it out).  We’ll see how much time I have.

But for now, let’s just sit here sipping our coffee (tea, cocoa, juice, bourbon (oops) or whatever) and watch the snow out of the window.  It is pretty!  But so is the warm sun and flowers.  It’s April!  I want flowers!  After a while, when you feel brave enough to face the elements you can make your way out.

I am glad you stopped by!  I know I talked about myself here.  If you have a coffee share I’m sure I’ll stop by and it can be all about you, OK?  I’m looking forward to coming over for a visit!

The Weekend Coffee Share was created by Part Time Monster .  Thank you Diana for all the great Coffee Shares in the past!  If you haven’t heard, the Coffee Share is now hosted by Nerd in the Brain.  Thank you Emily!  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “Linkup Linky.  In fact, I encourage you to click on the “linky” to see what’s been going on in the lives of other bloggers and even join us if you haven’t before.

35 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee on April Fool’s Day 2017!

  1. Dale

    I didn’t mention our snowfall on Friday as…. if I don’t mention it, it didn’t exist!
    I have no idea what my own stats are… guess we each have our priorities!
    Good luck with your submission, Trent!
    Have a fabulous week!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Ignore the snow, maybe it will go away… I spend too much time with my stats. It’s not what it’s about, obviously, but I occasionally do get a little obsessed.
      Have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Yeah, rub it in ;) It will warm up here soon (I hope).
      One of my problems right now is that I want to take a week or two off of work to sit and do nothing but write. it’s not going to happen, so I’ll just have to squeeze as much in as I can….
      Have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. Rowena

    I love that facebook post you mentioned about the full body workout from the snow shovelling. My physio would love that. Well, it might now be good for your back, so maybe not. I’ve been using my phone to track my steps and km walked and that’s been a huge motivational boost.
    I’ve been doing a lot of sorting at home as well as my ongoing transcribing of my grandmother’s newspaper references. I’m thrilled that there’s so much more material available but it has turned it into quite a job. It’s hard to dip in and out of searches without fearing you’re going to lose your place, but the Internet shut down a few days ago so I’m taking a breather.
    Great to hear your writing is going so well.
    Take care and best wishes,
    Ro

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Shoveling is hard on the back. I’ve been doing weight exercise lately, so I haven’t had back issues this year, but I have hurt myself shoveling in the past.

      Your research into your family history does sound almost like a full time job, but if you love it, go for it!

      I hope you had a good weekend (I’m assuming it’s over as i write) and have a good week ahead!

      Like

      Reply
  3. Irene Waters 19 Writer Memoirist

    Congrats on your stats – its like a pat on the back. And glad the writing is still flowing. Long may it last. It looks jolly cold and that shovelling still isn’t my cup of tea. Probably keeps you fit though you probably have ways you’d prefer to use for fitness. Have a good week. Cheers Irene

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Once after a huge storm dumped three feet of heavy snow on us, I put an “advertisement” on my FaceBook page about the world’s best full body workout, results guaranteed or your money back. I didn’t get any takers ;) That would have been perfect, people paying me to shovel my drive ;)
      I’m a stats nerd and spend too much time with them. Unfortunately that means when I’m not doing stellar, I’ll be disappointed.
      Have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks! I am a huge stats nerd, so it’s great when the numbers are good. Only now it is going to be hard when other months don’t quite measure up ;)

      Like

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I did see a few flowers last weekend when I was on Cape Cod. Last year even in New Hampshire we had our first Crocus on March 10! March 10 this year was in the single digits F and hadn’t been above freezing in over a week….
      Anyway, I do hope you are seeing some spring there. I’ll stop by your blog for virtual coffee soon!

      Like

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I did see a few green buds on trees as i was chasing my dogs through the snow covered woods, so hopefully not too far off here… I hope you see some spring there!

      Like

      Reply
  4. Serendipitous Web Life. : )

    Good morning, Trent. Hot cocoa, please, to warm me this morning. Brrr here too. : )
    You had a delightful share this April Fool’s Day. The tone made me smile for some reason. I sensed anticipation or underlying excitement in the tone that was enjoyable to feel. Thank you and enjoy a wonderful day, both inside and out, or right-side in and inside-out…. *giggle*… : )

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Hot cocoa coming up… I’m glad I made you smile :) For some reason I’m in a slightly silly mood today. Sounds like you are too, at least a little ;)
      On the good side of the day (so far) even though it is still snowing, since it is warm, it isn’t sticking on the pavement where I shoveled. Always a plus.
      I hope you are are having a great weekend :)

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks! I’m not sure if I’ll post the finished story here or not – I might sit on it until I put out another book of short stories (I want there to be stories or versions of stories that were never on my blog).

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks! I hate when Mother Nature plays an April Fool’s joke. Thinking of that, I hope you weren’t too affected by Mother Nature during the big storm that hit Australia last week.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          Good. I know it’s a continent, not just a country, so I know when I say things like that it could be like you asking someone in California if they were effected by the snow storm that hit me up in New Hampshire…

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply

Express Yourself

