Weekly Smile 65 #weeklysmile

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

As those of you who read my Coffee Share may be aware, I was down at my cottage on Cape Cod over the weekend.  I was eating breakfast on Sunday morning, going over what I needed to do before I left when I noticed movement outside.

A quick note here before I continue.  Our cottage is the second cottage down the road.  There is a street just past the first cottage.  Across that street is a public landing out onto Swan Pond, a small brackish water body of water.  This is where I usually kayak.  Next to our kitchen table/dining area there is a glass sliding door that looks across our neighbor’s yard to the landing and onto the pond.

Seeing the movement in my peripheral vision, I turn and look out of the window.  There was a deer just right there.  It moseyed deeper into my neighbor’s yard.  I grabbed my camera, but the telephoto lens wasn’t on.  Oh well, I stuck my head out of the front door.  The deer was then in my neighbor’s parking area.  I took a couple of quick photos and then slipped back in to put on the telephoto lens.  I knew I didn’t have much time because I could hear voices coming up the street, and I could tell that the deer was listening to those same voices.

Just as I thought, before I get the telephoto lens on, the deer ran away. I went outside hoping to still be able to get a shot.  I saw it in a little wooded patch behind my neighbor’s cottage, but it saw me and ran.  Oh well.

I did get this shot.

Deer and Pond

It was very cool to look out of the window and see a deer go by.  I’ve seen them before in our yard, but usually when it is darker.

So, what made you smile this week? Write about it and post on the link-up (or click the little blue frog below). While you’re there, read what everyone else is smiling about! And come back to it later, if last week is any indication new smiles will be added daily!

–-

Note – the weekly smile runs Wednesday Morning to Wednesday morning.  I post in the morning (Eastern US) and put up the link usually between 7 and 8 AM EST.  I also try to post on Sunday as a reminder.  People can and do join throughout the week.

20 thoughts on “Weekly Smile 65 #weeklysmile

  1. Pingback: A full week of smiles. | Diary of an Adventurous Retiree

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks! Unfortunately a lot of people have dropped out so I typically only get a handful of people join each week, but obviously the more the better! I hope you can join. i just posted this week’s link.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Pingback: The Weekly Smile | A Day In The Life

  3. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee on April Fool’s Day 2017! | Trent's World (the Blog)

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Luckily I don’t see as many deer in the road in New England as i did when I lived in Ohio – that is one place I’m not too happy to see them! But other places, yes, I always smile. And while eating breakfast? Great!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  4. Pingback: Amadeus Live, Yellow Flowers and Leche Flan | Ladyleemanila

  5. Pingback: Sunny Flowers | Colline's Blog

  6. ~M

    We have lots of deer here. Always amazing to see them. I once saw a turkey fanning its feathers against my basement window. I suppose it was looking at its reflection. I didn’t have time to take a picture, but it was one of the coolest things I’ve ever seen. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      We don’t have many deer here. i grew up in Ohio, and there are quite a few out there, but on the east coast you don’t see them as often so it’s always cool to see them. And very cool at breakfast!

      I see turkey more often, but don’t see them fanning their feathers very often. Seeing one doing that against your basement window must have been very cool.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Express Yourself

