If We Were Having Coffee on the 25th of March, 2017

Hello and Welcome!  Come on in and I’ll get you a nice strong French Roast, a cuppa tea, hot cocoa or other beverage.  It’s an odd day out – cool but not cold, the air is damp but the sun peeks out and the wind is calm..  And where are we?  For those of you who have been here before, you may recognize the Beatles mugs as being at the cottage on Cape Cod.

This morning I played with the dogs outside for a little while but had to come in because of the rain.  After it stopped raining, I went out in the kayak.  Sure, it was a bit damp, but I had to do it – I was out four times in January and Twice in February, I couldn’t let March get away with being in the kayak at least once!  Of course as soon as I get in the sun comes out.  Oh well.

One thing I noticed while outside – Spring has arrived!  We had warm weather at the beginning of the week, but then it got cold for a couple of days.  Very cold.  But the temperatures are back up to what is reasonable for this time of year.  The air smells like spring.  The birds are making spring like noises (mating calls, I guess) so it sounds like spring.  It just feels like spring for the first time.  It is an intangible, but something changed overnight.

Work this week was work.  Beyond work I did very little worth mentioning, except writing.

I did a little work on my serialized novel, The Old Mill.  For the most part, however, progress has slowed down – I have to pull a few things together timeline-wise, before I continue.  A lot of the story happened 200 years ago, so I want to have all the people and such set in stone before I write the next two chapters.  I also will have to go back and make a couple of very minor changes to what’s been posted (a date in one story, a name in another, maybe one or two other things).  So this week I posted three installments, a chapter that is a phone call, half a chapter about a walk and then the second half of the walk chapter.

In my other fiction this week, I put up a Friday Fictioneer story that actually ties back into the Old Mill.  I also participated in Sue Vincent’s #photowrite again with a sad little tale.  On Friday, I went even darker with a new short story.

Of course I posted a poem on Tuesday, this one much more political than usual.  I also put up a silly tribute to Chuck Berry by noting that the patriarch of the family in my serialized novel is Johnathan Bartholomew Goode, aka Johnny B. Goode ;)  RIP Chuck Berry, one of the originators of the Rock sound.  thinking of music, I put up a post reflecting on how music is a mirror of the times, and that the mainstream rock of the 1970s was much more laid-back than the mainstream music of about any other time.  Of course I put up a smile reminder for last week’s Weekly Smile, but I also put up a new Weekly Smile for this week.  And this week I decided to start using Goodreads.  I put up a post to see what other people think of it.

That’s a lot of posting, a lot of short fiction.  Unfortunately, I am very far behind on my editing of The Fireborn.  I have to get back into that again!

As i said, it feels like spring today, so I will take advantage of it.  I will most likely at least visit a beach.  I will take at least one long walk in the woods.  And I will be outside as much as possible. I might even open the outdoor shower for the year!

I’m sure you can tell that I’m about to politely head you towards the door.  I am glad you stopped by!  I know I talked about myself here.  If you have a coffee share I’m sure I’ll stop by and it can be all about you, OK?  I’m looking forward to coming over for a visit!

The Weekend Coffee Share was created by Part Time Monster .  Thank you Diana for all the great Coffee Shares in the past!  If you haven’t heard, the Coffee Share is now hosted by Nerd in the Brain.  Thank you Emily!  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “Linkup Linky“.  In fact, I encourage you to click on the “linky” to see what’s been going on in the lives of other bloggers and even join us if you haven’t before.

37 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee on the 25th of March, 2017

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      It’s funny, typically no matter how cold it is, I will make a beach run when I’m on Cape cod for the weekend. This weekend I didn’t. It was a cool damp, so it might not have been enjoyable anyway…

      Have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  1. Kathleen Howell

    I’ve enjoyed watching my perennials poke through the damp ground as spring tries to arrive. Can’t wait for the first dandelion! Have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      When I was on Cape Cod I saw some flowers beginning to come up, including 1 daffodil in bloom, but when I returned to new Hampshire it was a return to winter. Oh, well, hopefully the snow will be gone soon.

      Like

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I’m back up in New Hampshire right now and part of my optimism about spring stayed on Cape Cod ;) There is still snow on the ground here, but it is thawing out and there are signs of spring even mixed in the snow.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. Robin

    Sounds like a very busy week. Spring has sprung here, too. I was just thinking about kayaking yesterday, but the water is still so cold. Our kayak is a sit-on-top and I usually end up wet.
    Have a great week! :)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I’m back in New Hampshire today and it is return to winter ;) There is a lot of snow on the ground, but I can tell spring is almost here now too. It was just so bitter cold – not getting above freezing for the first half of march – that it is taking a long time for things to thaw out.
      It was a bit cold to use a sit on top kayak, but I often do kayak even when there is a little ice. Lat year I was able to get out at least once a month. March was super difficult this year, but I’m glad I was able to get out at least once.

      Have a great week!

      Like

      Reply
  3. Maggie C

    Sounds like you’ve been busy! I’m being wimpy about spring. Sunny here for most of the day, but I stayed inside anyway, except for the dog walk and schlepping concrete around. Glad you are enjoying Cape Cod.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks. yeah, very busy lately. I’m being optimistic about spring – yesterday turned out cool and wet and it was cold over night, but there is something in the air that it feels like it’s spring despite the temperatures.
      Have a good week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      It was cold last night, but it is still spring – the ground didn’t freeze and the animals are out this morning. It was a very productive week. I’ve been on a bit of a writing high the last month or two and hope it will continue for a while.
      A cyclone doesn’t sound fun. I hope it doesn’t hit too hard. Have a great week ahead.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  4. willowdot21

    Hi Trent thanks again for the coffee, it was good to sit here and here and hear all about your week you have certainly been productive. I have visited Cape Cod many years ago. When visiting my sister , she was working in New York where i spent a week with her. Then we had a weeks trip to Boston , Salem, Cape Cod, Hyanasport and Nantucket before returning to the UK. Right i see you want to get out to those woods so i shall get off. 😎

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I like it here on Cape Cod, which I guess is obvious since I bought a cottage here ;) It’s nice on the off season when there aren’t many people around. Very peaceful. Nantucket is one of my favorite places…

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I’ll try! (I hope understand that “spring” on the East coast means 39 F and raining ;) We still have a lot of snow on the ground in NH,but there isn’t any left on Cape Cod)

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Express Yourself

