Let the Philosophers Know

Downy Woodpecker

I once heard
Someone say
They would shoot
To kill
One stealing
An apple
From their store.
What is more important
A thing
Or a life?

I heard a rich man say
He wasn’t rich enough
He wanted to take
Food from the mouths of the poor
Does your want
Of nice things
Overrule
Their need for survival?

Let the philosophers know
I’ve found the meaning of life
The reason for it all
Or so I am told
Is for the rich to gather
Just a little more gold

10 thoughts on “Let the Philosophers Know

  1. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee on the 25th of March, 2017 | Trent's World (the Blog)

  2. Serendipitous Web Life. : )

    I like the conversation, Trent, I think it’s stimulating to openly discuss such issues. I read a study recently where they ranked cars from luxury to old beaters, and set up a crosswalk scenario with elderly people. You are more likely to be run over by a luxury car. The apathy luxury creates is scary. However, we also have hundreds of thousands of people on assistance not contributing to society at all. I say volunteer in the store and earn your apple. We have degradation on both ends. And, yes, group mentality is a studied fact. We are more likely to go along with the group. Sad. Good topics! : )

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      You’re right, there is work that needs to be done on both ends. There are no easy solutions and a lot of work. But people want to try those easy solutions that don’t exist and start by stereotyping (like I do with the ultra-rich ;) ). Anyway, I do have more to say, but I’ll save it for my next political rant ;) For now I’m back to my normal non-political blog. (One problem is, I started to say things without hard numbers to back me up – I hate doing that, and I don’t feel like researching today). I would say that we agree about most of the big things, but may have some differences on the details. And I think that is true with most people, once you take away the extremists on both sides. But the population seems to turn one way or another, and it seems to be turning in a direction I don’t care for right now… Later it will turn back and perhaps some day we might see more of a balance (but I’m not holding my breath waiting ;) )

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. Serendipitous Web Life. : )

    This is an interesting one, Trent. You know I don’t treasure material things, and I do believe we have become too greedy, as a society. I would never shoot someone for an apple, but if everyone stole a apple, the man who worked would be hungry.
    We had some bad wildfires a couple of weeks ago with three people killed and thousands of acres burned. Farmers from all over are donating/hauling hay in from around the area to the farmers who lost their crops. There is so much good going on. : )

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      There is a lot of good going on, but there is also a lot of bad. I think most people, when you come down to it, are decent, but right now we are going through a time where greed and hate are coming out on top. When I see that “Meals on Wheels” is being cancelled to give the ultra rich a tax break, when they already have historic low tax rates, I wonder where our values are. There is a plan to sell Nation Parks to oil companies. The voucher system that may go into place takes money from poor kids to pay for rich kids going to private schools. I could go on and on, but the bottom line is, right now, even though the top 1% in this country controls over 50% of the wealth, a new system is being set up that will take away programs that help normal and poor people to send even more money to these people at the top. They are already getting rich faster than ever and most economists say that if all the proposed changes go into effect, they will get richer even fast, at the expense of those in the middle and bottom.

      As far as the top part of the poem, I know people who, even though they have insurance, say they will kill anyone who tries to steal anything from them. If they really would do it, I don’t know, but again, in these days, I see it more and more on TV, people carrying machine guns saying they will kill anyone they see that they believe are breaking the law. My guess is these people are really cowards, but you have to wonder about people who carry assault weapons wherever they go… I’m not anti-gun or anti-self protection, but, wow, people are nutso about it today. Violent crime was much, much higher in the 70s and 80s and you didn’t see stuff like this then. Why do you see more public displays of hate than ever before? Why are anti-Semitic crimes, like desecration to graves, vandalism, and bomb threats, in the hundreds a week now?

      As I said, I think most people are good. But I think it is very easy for good people to be caught up by events and pulled “to the dark side” without realizing they have moved. That is why every so often I break my non-political promise and go into a mini-rant (like this ;) ), to hopefully make at least a few people take a look around. They might not see what I do (if they watch only Fox News, they most likely won’t) but perhaps they will start to notice when things start to go awry and question it.

      Like

      Reply

Express Yourself

