If We Were Having Coffee on the 18th of March

Moog and Morning Coffee

Hello and Welcome!  Come on in and I’ll get you a nice hot mug of a strong dark roast (not sure what it is, but not French Roast like usual), a cuppa tea, some hot cocoa or other warm beverage.  It is cold out there, but not as cold as a couple of weeks ago.  I’m talking 15 F/ -9 C.  It will get above freezing today!  It has been so strange that March has been much colder than January or February this year.  A lot colder.  And the snow storm we had on Tuesday was pretty bad, but not as bad as expected.  We still have deep snow, almost knee deep, on the ground.  So, where is it so cold and snowy?  Some of you may recognize the photo at the top as being up in New Hampshire.

It was busy week at work.  I had four hours of training three days, but everything else was at its normal fast pace, so I literally would sit for six hours or more without moving.  I hate that!  I usually am able to get up and stretch and even take a short walk, but not this week.  Anyway, it wasn’t a bad week, just not great.

Somehow I did get a lot of blogging in.  Part of it is that I wrote a lot last weekend.  I put up quite a few chapters of my serialized story, The Old Mill.  On Monday I posted Lyndsey, on Tuesday I posted Thursday Conversations, on Thursday I posted The Old Mansion and then on Friday I posted A Night Out.  Besides these four chapters, I put up a new page that contains a Table of Contents and I on Friday I put up a post asking what people thought of a serialized novel.  My concern is how time consuming it is.  Will people actually read it?  I just write out the chapters and they average about 2000 words.

I did post some other short fiction this week.  On Wednesday I posted a 100 word story for Friday Fictioneers.  On Thursday I posted a story for #writephoto.  I also posted a poem on Tuesday, as normal.  Of course I also had a Smile Reminder on Sunday and my Weekly Smile on Wednesday.  On Monday, in answer to a question by Britta on her blog, I put up a post about middle aged men and 20-something women.  In ways the real meat of the post was in the comments.  There was a lot of good discussion.

OK, so a total of six works of fiction (almost 10,000 words), a post about some of the fiction, a new page, two smiles, a poem and a discussion about aging!  A busy week…

(If you don’t feel like counting, that’s 11 posts and 1 page!)

Besides writing and reading, I’ve been doing a lot of snow removal ;)  I also attended Town Meeting for a couple of hours (I left early).  Don’t know what Town Meeting is?  I’ll do a post about it soon.  On Wednesday I got a hair cut (see phone selfie below for haircut).  I’m sure I missed something, because I’m still out of sorts over the time change on Sunday.

A selfie on St. Patrick's day

St. Patrick’s Day Selfie

 

Today will warm up a bit and I’ll get outside.  I hope to run!  I also have to do some running around town.  As usual, I’ll be in and out all day.  After sitting on my bum all week, I will need to move a lot!

I’m sure you can tell that I’m about to politely head you towards the door.  I am glad you stopped by!  I know I talked about myself here.  If you have a coffee share I’m sure I’ll stop by and it can be all about you, OK?  I’m looking forward to coming over for a visit!

The Weekend Coffee Share was created by Part Time Monster .  Thank you Diana for all the great Coffee Shares in the past!  If you haven’t heard, the Coffee Share is now hosted by Nerd in the Brain.  Thank you Emily!  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “Linkup Linky.  In fact, I encourage you to click on the “linky” to see what’s been going on in the lives of other bloggers and even join us if you haven’t before. 

43 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee on the 18th of March

  1. Shilpa Garg

    The new hairstyle looks great and you have got a lot of writing done last week. Please send some creative vibes at my end as well. You know how much I am struggling to write. Sigh!
    Have a great week ahead and see you this weekend for coffee again :)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks! It was a lot of snow removal and cleaning up the icy steps (the job that lasts forever, or at least until it is spring (and not today ;) ) If you do read some of the stories, I hope you enjoy!

      Like

      Reply
  2. Rowena

    Wow, Trent! That’s an impressive output for last week. I’ve been doing a lot of research lately. My mind is starting to think a lot more clearly again and I’m finally able to sort things out a lot better. My ability to sort and manage time were all but wiped out by chemo 3 years ago and a bit of repetition and brain storming in these areas is helping. I’ve started filing my grandmother’s news articles by year in word documents with just the text and that has helped enormously as there’s so much there.
    While I researching classical music etc on her account, I received an email from a cousin on my mother’s side saying one of our ancestors knew Brahms and was a Professor of Music at the Hamburg Conservatory. Naturally, this required some heavy following up and I think I’ve found him as “Christian Miller” and he was mentioned in the Cambridge Companion to Brahms. My Mum has a music book from that side dating back to 1836. It’s quite beautiful and I’ll try to post some photos from it this week. The title page is very ornate.
    Hope the coming week is equally productive for you!
    xx Rowena

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Sometimes the words just flow, though sometimes they don’t, so when they are flowing, I try to capture as many as possible.
      I’m glad your research is going good and that you are relearning those skills that were messed up. I once heard rumors about an ancestor of mine and a famous composer, but I have never been able to substantiate it. I have some music books that I picked up in antique stores from the late 19th century, but nothing that early. Do post pictures when you get a chance!
      I hope you have a great week coming up!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Rowena

        Have you done a Google search on the composer and ancestor recently? It took me a few goes to find something. I am now starting to think that if you lived in Germany in the 18th C you had a good chance of meeting a famous composer. There were quite a few of them.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          The story is the sister of an ancestor married one of J. S. Bach’s less famous sons… I don’t have the name of the woman – I heard this 25, 30 years ago.

          Like

          Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks.

      About writing – I don’t know, it’s like I’m currently in a writing phase. Later it will slow down, but then I have so much editing to do, so maybe I’ll catch up there too. Actaully, if I had my way, I’d quite work and write full time ;)

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. Mrs. Completely

    Love the Dapper Do! :o) I don’t know how you do it. I keep falling further and further behind. I’m trying to give attention to each person at least once a week but even then I’m falling behind. You’re a Super Hero, Trent and I pay homage.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks! Maybe I have no life beyond work and blogging ;) It does feel like it sometimes… Staying up with everyone is a lot of work. Sometimes I’m able to and other times, it just doesn’t work. but I have slept in and so am not quite as Day Light Savings dead as I was earlier, so the weekend has been easier ;)

      Like

      Reply
      1. Mrs. Completely

        Glad you’re back on top. I needed a lengthy nap yesterday and then a good sleep-in today and I feel much better. :o) Keeping up requires a lot of time but I’m doing the best I can and I hope everyone has patience.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
  4. Nancy

    Nice haircut! I hope you have a more laid back week. I don’t know about you but I think March is taking that whole “In like a lion, out like a lamb” thing a bit too seriously. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Well, so far it is in like a lion, stay like a lion for the entire month and hopefully it will go out like a lamb!

      Thanks about the hair cut :) This week may be busy again, but I think the end should be a bit more relaxing. And then, I won’t have the awful training this week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  5. ~M

    Busy writing week for sure! That storm hit us too. I guess we were due for it since we hadn’t had much snow all winter. Mother Nature had to get her last hoorahs in there before Spring comes, and she most certainly did! Have a good weekend! :)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I guess we did have to have winter this year, I just wish it was back in January instead of March! Yes, Mother Nature did have her last hoorays. The forcast still looks cool with some light snow, but it looks like the deep freeze of early March is coming to an end.

      Have a good weekend!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      We had 70s… in February! It has been above freezing maybe twice in March and below zero a few times… Odd, odd weather. I hope you are doing well. Just sitting down for a minute but I’ll be by your place in a while for coffee. I hope you are having a good weekend!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  6. imaginativeworks

    Certainly sounds like a busy week for you, and productive. Hope you get to fit your run in, I can’t wait for the snow and ice to clear so I can hit the pavement. Anyway, here is a quote that I am hoping sums up my Saturday, and I do apologize because I am not sure who to credit for it: “Let’s get some coffee so we can be hyper-aware of how little we are going to get done today.”

    Great post, thanks for sharing.
    https://writingiscommunication.wordpress.com/

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I love the quote – it sounds like a good Saturday idea to me. The roads are narrow because of the snow, but I will make it out in about an hour. I’ve seen a lot of people running by so I won’t be the only one. Well, maybe the only one doing my very hilly route instead of staying in the village, but…
      I hope you’re able to get out soon. I have to because my blood pressure goes up when I don’t run.
      Have a great weekend and week ahead!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  7. Serendipitous Web Life. : )

    Good morning, Trent. Small orange juice for me, please. I won’t stay long, since you and I have life to live! : )
    I’m sorry, it has been a busy week for me too. Although I haven’t commented much, I have enjoyed your posts and stories.
    Spring has definitely arrived early in the south, so be encouraged, it will probably arrive there too soon.
    I hope you enjoy an inspiring weekend. Thanks for the juice, I’ll need the energy. Take care. : )

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Good morning Deana! I hope you are doing well. On orange juice coming up. Looking at the forecast, it will be a little closer to normal new Hampshire March coming up, but still on the cooler side of normal. Hopefully the warm will make it up here soon!
      I hope you have a great weekend a week ahead! Thanks for stopping by.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  8. nerdinthebrain

    Sounds like you had quite the busy week! (I’m so, so familiar with that concept.) ;)

    I hope you get lots of time to run and play this weekend…and throughout the week. :D (Don’t those people know that sitting for 6 hours at a time is bad for the health…and sanity???)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Busy, busy… yep. I couldn’t believe the training – it was 4 hours and they had a 10 minute break in the middle – at noon, so lunch. And I’d have back to back meetings before and after, so… Thanks about running and playing – I should be able to get out at least a bit. And next weekend I hope to be on Cape Cod, so…

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Express Yourself

