Weekly Smile 63 #weeklysmile

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

Work can be a bit strange because I never work face to face with anyone.  I go into the office twice a week (I telecommute the other three days), but I don’t work with anybody at the office.  Usually.  Also, through reorganizations, people changing positions as a normal part of their career, etc., it is easy to lose track of old coworkers.

I spent a few hours working face to face with an old colleague.  It was someone who I used to talk to at least once a week and used to see maybe a couple of times a month.  I also had a few business trips with him in the past.  It must have been at least five years since I’ve last seen him.  So it was nice catching up, and also nice working with someone face to face.

In a world that doesn’t stop, where people move on and we all go our own directions, it is nice to see some familiar faces from the past.  And thinking of faces, in a job where I spend all of my time with disembodied voices (i.e., on the phone), it is nice to work with some on face to face.  So those are my smiles for this week :)

So, what made you smile this week? Write about it and post on the link-up (or click the little blue frog below). While you’re there, read what everyone else is smiling about! And come back to it later, if last week is any indication new smiles will be added daily!

–-

Note – the weekly smile runs Wednesday Morning to Wednesday morning.  I post in the morning (Eastern US) and put up the link usually between 7 and 8 AM EST.  I also try to post on Sunday as a reminder.  People can and do join throughout the week.

 

11 thoughts on “Weekly Smile 63 #weeklysmile

  1. Pingback: #WeeklySmile # 63 | Life Happens at the Carrs

  2. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee on the 18th of March | Trent's World (the Blog)

  3. Serendipitous Web Life. : )

    This post made me smile, Trent, because I talk to people lot with my job, and they never turn out to look like what I picture in my mind. I think in my mind they are always beautiful or handsome. Have you ever noticed you never imagine people ugly? I’m not judging, I just think it is interesting. : )

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      You are right, people never look like the picture in my head. Even after I’ve met people, I still think of them like that picture, which is weird. Well, all women are pretty in my mind, of course, but typically the guys remind me of someone I know, so they are a bit more realistic, though maybe not “ugly”. Just like seeing people through tinted car windows – every driver out there is good looking until the do do something nasty and then they become hideous ;)

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  4. Joanne Sisco

    I work part-time as a privacy consultant and although I could easily do everything I need to do remotely, I choose to go downtown into the office once a week. I like talking to people face-to-face. It’s easier to develop relationships and exchange information.

    Next week is a big client meeting of which I have a small part. I was given the option of calling in, but declined – especially because I haven’t previously dealt with any of the people involved. I guess I’m just “old school”. The world tends to be impersonal enough without adding work isolation into the equation.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      My boss is in Oklahoma. The people on my team (my contractors) are all in DC. My equipment is in New Jersey. I talk to people all of the country every day. So I pretty much have to do everything remotely.

      But I understand the relationships. They are important. It’s small talk with the person sitting next to you in the meeting. It’s nodding to the person across the table, even though you won’t talk to them directly at any time. It’s those little things. They are important. But it would be impossible to make an organization like mine work from were we started unless you fired everyone and started over. Or forced everyone to move, but then you’d lose about 80% of them and all of that history (I am not moving)

      Like

      Reply
      1. Joanne Sisco

        I know what you’re saying. My husband has worked from a home office for a remote company for most of his career. His current boss is in Boston and he is routinely juggling time zones for conference calls.
        Personally, I wouldn’t be happy in a job like that, but he’s thrived.

        There is never a one-size-fits-all, and I’m really glad your face-to-face made your weekly smile. For many people, they would have dreaded it.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply

Express Yourself

