If We Were Having Coffee on the 11th of March

Moog and Morning Coffee

Hello and Welcome!  Come on in and I’ll get you a nice, strong French Roast.  Are you more into tea?  I can get you a nice cappa whatever type of tea tickles your fancy.  Hot Cocoa?  Sure!  But you will want something warm, that’s for sure!  It is frigid out.  Sure, it looks beautiful and sunny, if you ignore the coating of white, but it is one of the coldest days this year.  Yeah, we’ve had more cold weather in March than January or February and it looks to continue.  They are talking over a foot of snow on Tuesday!  Where am I that is still winter?  Well, I’m glad I’m not on The Cape, where I was last weekend, because they got slammed with snow yesterday.  By the picture at the top you may know that I am in New Hampshire.

It was a pretty good week at work.  I got a lot down.  Of course there was a bombshell on Friday.  Hmmm.  The next few months may be interesting… But for the most part the week went well.

I was really tired all week.  I don’t know if I was still recovering from being ill a couple of weeks back, if it was that my animals are bed-hogs and I didn’t sleep well or what.  The problem is, I had plans that I really didn’t follow through on.  Oh well, i guess that is what the weekends are for…

One thing I didn’t do is the next draft of The Fireborn.  I reread it when I was on Cape Cod over last weekend and was planning on doing a deeper dive this week, but I was too tired.  Oh well.  I was happy with it when I read through and have plans and this week shouldn’t push it back much.  I did get a chance to work on the first chapter last night and think I did some good work.

Funny, right when I am ready to edit The Fireborn and get it ready to publish, I started a new book!  I started doing a few random posts earlier, but this week it took form in my mind and I posted three chapters.  At some point I’ll stop posting more and force you to wait until the whole thing is written, edited, revised, etc.  This started last year (not chronologically, but in order in the story) with The Old Mill and wen on to Galvin.  This week I posted Mrs Adams and The Goode Mansion on Monday.  On Friday I posted Jessica.

besides the three chapters of this book, I also posted a Friday Fictioneer story and a bit of flash fiction for Sue Vincent’s #writephoto.  So yes, five works of fiction this week!  But wait, there is more ;)  I also did bit of colorful writing as a guest author on Sue Vincent’s blog.  And of course, on Tuesday a poem.

Yes, yes, I also posted a Smile Reminder on Sunday and then this week’s Weekly Smile on Wednesday!  No wonder I’m tired ;)

I have a bit of running around I have to do today, as well as some work around the house.  And I will do some writing and some editing.  So a full day is planned.

Thanks for stopping by!  I know it was all about me, but if you do a Coffee Share I’ll sit back and listen as you make it all about you.  I hope you had a good week and that next week is even better!

The Weekend Coffee Share was created by Part Time Monster .  Thank you Diana for all the great Coffee Shares in the past!  If you haven’t heard, the Coffee Share is now hosted by Nerd in the Brain.  Thank you Emily!  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “Linkup Linky.  In fact, I encourage you to click on the “linky” to see what’s been going on in the lives of other bloggers and even join us if you haven’t before. 

39 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee on the 11th of March

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I have to put on the breaks this week – I hate it when people I follow put up three or four posts a day, yet I have that many written waiting to go… Oh well…

      We have a bit over a foot of snow so far and it will continue for several more hours. I’m far enough away from the coast so the “blizzard’ part (wind) isn’t as bad – I’m sure it is awful at my cottage on Cape Cod!

      Like

      Reply
  1. Dale

    We’ve been getting the same bi-polar weather, it seems. Man, can you ever write a lot. I am jealous. No, not really, I’m just not that good with my time. I’m hoping one day I will wake up and be organised.
    Thanks for the coffee talk!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Yeah, I know you’ve been getting hit pretty hard by the cold too. I don’t think the nor’ easter will hit you, but I’ve seen predictions up to 24″ (61 cm) for our area…

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. Sonya Lira

    Boxers are not fun to sleep with they are bed hogs! I hope y’all gets some warmer weather. We have been getting lots of rain which is great but I am quite tired of the overcast days. I need some sunshine. Our temperatures are nice just rainy.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Boxers are bed-hogs! Fiyero likes to lie across the bed. He also likes to have his muzzle on top of whoever is closest. But then, the cats want to cuddle up close to me and if I stop petting them, they bite. In ways they are worse than the boxer and the almost-boxer…
      I hope you see some sunshine soon!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. Nancy

    Sounds like you were more energetic than you thought! We are bracing for snow here too. Hope we can all put our winter wear away for good soon. I’m missing the warmth. Don’t forget to spring ahead tonight!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I can’t wait until it warms up again, but this time for good. I’m looking forward to spring, but not to “spring ahead”! I need as many hours of sleep as I can get and don’t want to lose any. thanks for the reminder! have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  4. Master of Something Yet

    Hi Trent! Long time, no coffee. (Still no coffee. Tea for me please. White, no sugar. Thanks.)
    Good to see you’re still writing and posting prolifically and that your Weekly Smile is still going strong.
    All’s well here, just busy. Hope to be dropping by more regularly if I can keep my life under control. Stay warm. :)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      It’s great to have you drop by! It’s been a while. Somehow, even when I’m busy, I usually stay up with posting. But then, often busy means “writing” and so I post what I write.

      I’m not sure if the Weekly Smile is going strong, but it is still going ;)

      I hope you can “keep life under control” and that I see you around a bit more. Have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  5. Irene Waters 19 Writer Memoirist

    Trent you sound like you have been super busy but very productive at the same time. I think our seasons are changing. Our summer didn’t start til late but is going into March and you are having your coldest time just when you thought you’d stopped shovelling that snow. Hope you have a good week.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      The weather has been really odd lately. December was also cold, but November was warm. The January started cold but became springlike, and the same with February. This cold in March has gone deeper and stretched longer… Weird.

      Anyway, I’m assuming summer is beginning to wind down for you and you’re looking at cooler weather.

      I usually stay busy, so it’s nice when it also productive.

      I hope you have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          I’m fine, not issue, weather related or otherwise. Weather is always strange, but this year it seems worldwide is going wacky. I hope your weekend is going well and that you have a great week ahead.

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      After I get started the ideas are pretty linear, though I might jump ahead to write climactic scenes in advance. Early, though, it might be all jumbled for a while. The story Galvin came out of the blue, but I later decided had to be part of something else.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  6. sherloque

    18° Celsius here in the middle of France today (64° F) yes, no kidding. I worked in my garden planted strawberries and things. clearing and digging etc. When I get back home to my downtown studio apartment… somehow I have a broken back and a tanned itchy face. So… no coffee for me today thanks. orange juice perhaps? I brought some “chaussons aux pommes”. hope you’ll like them. and as background music I brought this:

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      It was almost -15 C this morning. The high temperature today is about 21 F (-6 C). Cold! I want it to be spring! I can see having a broken back and tanned face being out all day gardening. The “chaussons aux pommes” sound great! Thinking of sounding great, that’s a very interesting video. It’s a cool trend these days of doing classic songs with interesting instrumentation, like the Two Cellos guys, or groups of acapella singers or whatever. I guess four trombones does a pretty good brass chorus sound.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      The week was busy, but mostly in a good way. I’ve enjoyed having this upswing in writing and will be taking advantage of every minute that the pen is flowing that I can. Have a great weekend!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  7. Kathleen Howell

    I too am envious of all the writing you get done. I LOVE to write, I just don’t have much to say! Jealous of your forecast, too.. I wish we were getting a foot of snow! To be able to ride my sled just one more time..

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      It’s like a pendulum – sometimes my mind is so full I just can’t stop writing and then it swings the other way and I force myself. Now that I am on the one side I am getting as many words down as possible!
      I’m ready for winter to be over, but I know a lot of people who snowmobile who I’m sure will be happy for one last hurrah since this year has been so bad for winter sport.

      Like

      Reply
  8. nerdinthebrain

    Good luck with both books! (I do the same start-a-new-project-before-the-last-one’s-finished thing, by the way…I like to think it keeps our brains agile.)

    I’m so envious of how much posting you get done throughout the week…someday I’m going to get back to my daily schedule, I just know it…someday. ;)

    I hope you have a fantastic week…with weather that pleases you. :D

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks! The first book has been on the back burner for a while – I’ve written another book since, plus hundreds of short stories and other such things. Oh well, I hope I get it out this year.
      Sometimes you just have to be on the right wavelength to get the posts out. I just wish your posts showed up in my Reader, particularly if you do start posting more!

      I hope you have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I can grind up some light roast. I do have a stove top peculator, but for now I’ll have to leave the Bialetti to our imaginations… The concept behind Resistance Radio sounds like 2017 instead of alternative-America in 1962…

      Like

      Reply
  9. Tena Carr

    I could send you some of our warm weather. Not a lot mind you. We’re only ralkimg low 80’s and it’s only recently begun (no stores built up yet). Best of luck with your newest book.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Express Yourself

