Weekly Smile 62 #weeklysmile

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

I have mentioned a few times lately that I am in a writing phase.  There have been times in the past that I’ve been more prolific, writing the Halley Branch in less than a month comes to mind, but I have been writing quite a bit of fiction, not all of it making the pages of my blog.  A couple of things, though, stand out for this week.

A few stories have come up lately that remind me a lot of The Fireborn, the first (still unpublished) book that I wrote.  Last week I pulled out the 4th full draft, the latest, and did a quick read through.  I forgot how much I liked it!  I do need to brush up a few rough spots.  And then I will need to do some deep editing, sending it out for other eyes.  But in its present state, it is almost ready to go.  Of course I did do three major revisions and a half a dozen read-throughs in the year after I finished the first draft.  With all of that it had better be pretty close to being ready!  My current plan is to put it out in the late spring or early summer.

Back in September I wrote a very weird story, Galvin.  The story came to me out of the blue.  In November I decided to write an introduction to a book that would start with the story Galvin.  I called the introduction The Old Mill.  For some odd reason, I wrote the chapter after Galvin on Sunday night.  It just came to me.  This was the story, Mrs. Adams, which I posted Monday morning.   After that, the next chapter, The Goode Mansion came up, which I posted Monday.  While writing The Goode Mansion, I remembered a story I wrote in my head many years ago.  This current start and the characters I have written about were not part of the original story, but I could easily see how I could use that story.  In fact, most of the now throw-away parts of the original were the worst parts.  I could keep the good bits for my new story and for a greatly improved story.  So now I have a new book that I’m writing.  This is good in that I already know where it is going and how it will end, unusual for me at this point ;)

This week writing made me smile.  I have started the editing process for a new draft of a book that I wrote about three and a half years ago and have started a new book.  Not bad for one week.

So, what made you smile this week? Write about it and post on the link-up (or click the little blue frog below). While you’re there, read what everyone else is smiling about! And come back to it later, if last week is any indication new smiles will be added daily!

–-

Note – the weekly smile runs Wednesday Morning to Wednesday morning.  I post in the morning (Eastern US) and put up the link usually between 7 and 8 AM EST.  I also try to post on Sunday as a reminder.  People can and do join throughout the week.

Note – I have started to take out all of the links to the Halley Branch.  I don’t want it on my blog, even as a rough draft, if I ever publish it.

2 thoughts on “Weekly Smile 62 #weeklysmile

  1. Pingback: #WeeklySmile – # 62 | Life Happens at the Carrs

  2. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee on the 11th of March | Trent's World (the Blog)

Express Yourself

