If We Were Having Coffee on the 4th of March, 2017

Weekend Coffee on Cape Cod

Hello and Welcome!  Come on in out of the cold and wind!  let me grab you a nice hot mug of very strong French Roast, a cuppa tea or other warm beverage.  It looks pretty, nice and sunny, but the wind is just screaming out there…  And it is not supposed to get above freezing today.  After all of our warm weather, it just feels frigid.  Anyway, if you didn’t guess by the picture at the top, I am on Cape Cod this weekend.

It was an interesting week.  The worst of my cold/flu was at the end of last week, so this week I was slowly recovering.  Doing a lot of hacking and such.  It’s all down in my lungs, where it’s been since the beginning.   Yuck.  But I am feeling better.  I missed a lot of our very warm weather, because I was too sick to enjoy it, but hopefully I’ll be back to 100% by the time it gets warm again later in the week.

I took Thursday and Friday off this week.  I really didn’t do a lot.  Yes, I’ve been down here on Cape Cod and have enjoyed myself, but I think I did as much a few weeks ago even though I had to work that weekend.  Still, it has been relaxing.  One issue is that it has been very windy (far to windy to kayak!) and it turned cold over night into Friday.

Maybe I jinxed myself by posting photos of “winter”.  Yes, we had two weeks of heavy snow before it warmed up and I did a snow post on Monday.  Tuesday I posted a poem and Wednesday was my Weekly Smile!  I did not have a smile reminder this week (I pretty much slept all day Sunday).

After that I devoted my blogging week to short stories.

I posted a Friday Fictioneer story on Wednesday, but immediately had a different idea and posted a second one later!  On Thursday I posted a short story for Sue Vincent’s #write photo and then on Friday I posted a slightly longer sci-fi story (about 1800 words).

I’m not sure if you have noticed, but I’ve posted quite a few stories recently and have written a couple that I didn’t post.  I guess I am still in a story writing mode.

Despite the cold, I have my day planned out!  No kayaking, but some outside time, some writing time and some relaxing time.

I’m glad you were able to stop by to chat.  I’m sorry if it was 100% about me.  If you have a coffee share I’ll try to stop by and I’ll make sure we keep it about you, OK?

The Weekend Coffee Share was created by Part Time Monster .  Thank you Diana for all the great Coffee Shares in the past!  This week for the first time it will be hosted by Nerd in the Brain).  Thank you Emily!  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “Linkup Linky.  In fact, I encourage you to click on the “linky” to see what’s been going on in the lives of other bloggers and even join us if you haven’t before. 

37 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee on the 4th of March, 2017

  1. Dale

    The cold (illness, not weather) is a real nasty one this year. Every time I turn around, someone else I know has succumbed. Glad you are feeling better, though!
    Hope your week is fabulous! Here, the sun is shining beautifully. Step outside and man! You know it’s cold when your coat crinkles as you walk…

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I do know a lot of people who have had the cold. I’m glad it’s almost over!

      I’m sure it is a lot colder there than here, but it has been nasty! I don’t think the temperature has reached as far down as a few days earlier this winter,but with the wind it feels much colder!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I think it’s going to calm down and warm up here tomorrow or Tuesday. It is pretty and sunny today, just still cold.

      Sometimes I just get on these writing kicks and take advantage of it while it’s here!

      have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. sherloque

    To open up this American small talk to a French small talk about flue, coughs and sneezes, I’ll tell of my own experience and how I cure the evil virus. That was last year in the fall. I said to my body attached to my soul: here you go, you want to have your own time, have it! and i jumped into bed sneezing coughing et al… Then I prepared my personal French medicine: in a large glass pour a good amount of very good rhum (a good one from the Reunion island in the Indian ocean), add boiling water and plenty of sugar, stir well and sip in peace of body and mind. :-) grin :-) This has a scientific explanation. Yes, it has. Since viruses get killed by high heat, the fact that you’re making your body really hot by the rhum and hot drink and sugar, it will entice the said virus to exit sharply. How’s that, hey?!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I did try that last week, but it was very hot tea with some Brandy. Afterwards I thought I should have used Rum instead – at the very least it would have tasted batter with the tea ;) So maybe next time I will try your cure, though I’ll still use plenty of honey instead of sugar. It does loosen up all the stuff that’s in there…..

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. sherloque

        yes, honey is perfect. Honey, water and rum. I reckon tea is not so good, it’s got tea-ine cafeine or whatever in it that prevents you from staying quiet. You need to drink that grog a few times on the first 2 days of your flu and giving time to your body to mend. No joke, it works and it is pleasant medicine.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          I guess I come from the British tradition where tea makes everything better… including our hot toddies. Some hot rum, does sound good and I’ll have to try it. (Hot buttered rum is always good….)

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
  3. Tena Carr

    Week at least you haven’t been blown away with all the wind. Had some pretty good wind around here as well a couple different times. Have a wonderful sunday and a wonderful week.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Yesterday I went down to my favorite beach, walked for about 10 seconds, turned around and left – I’ve been out in tropical storms and even hurricanes, but have never felt wind like that! Of course that it was about 18F didn’t help….

      I hope your weekend is going well and that you have a great week.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  4. Serendipitous Web Life. : )

    Good Sunday morning, Trent. I’m sorry I missed coffee yesterday, I would love some orange juice to start the day, please. I am still working through your book and read Sisters this morning. I wanted to let you know I thoroughly enjoyed that story. I have two sisters, and thought it was beautifully done.
    I hope you have an amazing day. : ). Thank you for the juice.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      An orange juice coming right up.

      I’m glad you are enjoying the book, and thanks for letting me know! As you know, an author doesn’t hear the applause very often ;)

      Have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  5. Rowena

    Hi Trent.
    Hope you’re feeling a bit better and that sun starts shining through. It;s been wet here for a few days and it’s interfering with my new physio programme. I’m supposed to do a brisk 10 minute walk at least 4 x per week but aiming for everyday. Just glanced at the clock and realized I’ve missed my violin practice again. I drove my daughter to a party an hour away and so I stayed and then she lingered on at the end and that was a day gone, albeit having fun. I got on well with the parents and had a great chat. The father is a barber where I grew up and naturally a great story teller. The barber is definitely a character worth pursuing in fiction…or hairdresser.
    I was intrigued by you being so open about doing some hacking but then realized it was your cough.
    Take care & I hope you feel better!
    xx Rowena

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks Rowena! It has been sunny, very pretty, just cold and windy (never above 21 F / -6 C, and that is on Cape Cod where it was much warmer than inland! Add a constant 25 mph/ 40 kph wind with gusts up around hurricane force, and it was frigid!
      I enjoy walking at doing a brisk 10 minute walk a day would be a good warm up ;) I hope you get into a good routine, but not by missing violin practice.
      Yep, hacking = coughing, not breaking into computers ;)
      Have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Rowena

        I could see that word play on “hacking” landing someone in a lot of trouble.
        I usually do a reasonable amount of walking but the physio is trying to get me into that daily routine but in terms of regularity but also to improve on my time management, which has again fallen off the wagon.
        By the way, Trent I wrote a post which would interest you today: https://beyondtheflow.wordpress.com/2017/03/06/musical-reflections-1941/ I’m compiling some of my research into my grandmother and came across a snippet about jazz vs classical from 1941, which I thought was interesting. Hope you like it. xx Ro

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I guess instead of “I think, therefor I am,” I should say, at the end of a chest cold, “I secrete,therefor I am alive.” Sounds gross, but no grosser than the gurgling cough ;)

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  6. nerdinthebrain

    Now that I’ve moved on from that bird situation, I’m able to read other coffee posts. ;) I’m so glad that you’re feeling better…and it sounds like you have a pretty magical day planned out for yourself! :D

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Express Yourself

