Knowing or Searching

thinker-bw

Some people “just know”
They hear someone speak
Or Twiddle
Or Tweet
And they immediately say
“That’s right”
Or
“That’s wrong”
But there is no in-between
You ask them “why?”
Or
“How do you know?”
And they say
“I just know”

Some people search to find out
Though they trust others
They need to figure things out
For themselves
You ask them “why?”
Or
“How do you know?”
And they say
“I don’t know, but I’ll find out”

I’ll go along with the searchers any day
They’re the ones that will lead us to the stars

15 thoughts on “Knowing or Searching

  1. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee on the 4th of March, 2017 | Trent's World (the Blog)

  2. The Chaos Realm

    …especially after those creepy little girls on the X-Files…LOL
    Eve 10: Hello, Eve 8.
    Eve 9: We’ve been waiting…
    Eve 8: How did you know I’d come for you?
    Eve 10: We just knew.
    Eve 9: We just knew.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. Britta

    As an extremely intuitive person, I would like to point out that there is a difference between “just knowing” as a result of intuition and “just knowing” because you have a closed minsest.

    That said, I’m pretty sure you weren’t thinking about intuitive individuals when you wrote this. :) I also think my intution has been strengthened in instances when I go out and explore a little bit. It’s all about balance and being open to new possibilities!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I am also an extremely intuitive person, so your assumption is correct, I’m talking about those people who seem to have no natural curiosity about the world, they have a static, one-dimensional world-view in their mind and that is the way it is. You’re lucky, I just deleted the rant I put here about blurb/tweet politics and news ;)

      Actually, I think people who are intuitive are natural seekers. We have open and curious minds. And, as you said, the more you put in there, the more hidden connections that you aren’t aware of form and the quicker and deeper your mind jumps to answers. It makes us natural researchers.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Britta

        Yes, yes, yes! I agree with all of that. A lot of times “just knowing” something is a result of picking up minute details along the way. When you’re in tune to the world around you, you’re more likely to make connections that other people miss.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
  4. Serendipitous Web Life. : )

    I have learned to embrace a life of discovery, but recognizing that view has come over time. I feel sad for people who are not open to alternate ideas or perspectives, because it is their loss. Openness truly enriches one’s life in all kinds of ways. Inspiring post, Trent. : )

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Yesterday I read a post where somebody was talking about people with narrow mindsets that refuse to even consider looking at data that may either confirm their point of view or prove them wrong. The lack of curiosity in the general populace was bemoaned. I started to write this in the comments, but decided to save it for here….

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Express Yourself

