If We Were Having Coffee on the 25th of February

Moog and Morning Coffee

Hello and Welcome!  Come on in and I’ll get a you a nice large mug of a very strong French Roast, a cuppa tea or other morning appropriate beverage.  Perhaps if you are here a little later in the day I can clear some snow off of the picnic table and we can enjoy our beverages outside.  I am not joking!  You may notice the kids outside playing in the snow in shorts and t-shirts….I’ll talk about it in a few minutes. Of course, you may be curious where there is snow on the ground yet everyone is in short sleeves.  Some of you out there may recognize the McDonald’s Pub mug as meaning that we are in New Hampshire today.

It has been an odd week.  I started off on Cape Cod, where I had a wonderful weekend.  In fact, I wrote about my Saturday for my Weekly Smile this week and about the sunny, warm weather for my last week’s Smile Reminder.  But we were in for a surprise because it got even warmer.  Yesterday topped off at 74 F/23 C!  Do you remember me talking about a series of snow storms a few weeks back?  We received well over 3 feet (over a meter) of snow in a little over a week.  A lot of that is still around.  OK, quite a bit is gone, of course, but it is still surprising to see fields filled with snow, or huge piles here and there while feeling so warm and seeing the kids dressed for summer.

Unfortunately I didn’t get a chance to enjoy the warmest few days.  A lot of people around me have been sick, some very sick, the last few weeks.  On Wednesday my chest started to feel congested.  By the time I went to bed I felt awful.  Thursday I felt terrible and Friday (yesterday) was the worst.  I very rarely get sick.  It’s been about a decade since I’ve been sick like this.  I don’t like being sick, but then, who does?  Of course, after a decade, my immunity system decides to break down when we have record breaking warmth in February.

After our last coffee chat I posted the last two stories in my “Embers” series.  There is Jason (Stars) and Nancy (Embers).  I think the series is one of the best things I’ve written in a while.  besides these two stories, I also posted a 100 word story for Friday Fictioneers and a short story for #writephoto.

Friday I did not post anything.  I typically post some short fiction, but hey, I did post four short stories this week, so did i need a new one?  I also did not read any blog posts on Friday.  Of course my stats show it,but that was to be expected.

Anyway, I feel better today but am still planning on taking it easy.  I will get out of the house a little bit and perhaps do some light exercise, but I will also rest and drink plenty of fluids.  No, not like that, I’m talking like tea and water.

Anyway, aren’t you glad this was a virtual chat and I didn’t infect you?

It was nice that you could drop by! I hope you don’t mind that I monopolized the time with my endless babble.  If you have a coffee share I’ll stop by and sit back and let you do all of the talking, OK?

The Weekend Coffee Share was created by Part Time Monster .  Thank you Diana for all the great Coffee Shares in the past!  This week for the first time it will be hosted by Nerd in the Brain).  Thank you Emily!  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “Linkup Linky.  In fact, I encourage you to click on the “linky” to see what’s been going on in the lives of other bloggers and even join us if you haven’t before. 

45 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee on the 25th of February

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      oops, sorry, maybe I did ;) Actually, I have done very little sneezing. Some periods of deep chest coughs and a lot of chest congestion, but not much in my throat or head. I hope you didn’t get infected and stay well!

      Like

      Reply
  1. Somber Scribbler

    I’m so glad not to be infected! lol. My husband was sick this week too. I haven’t caught it from him, so hopefully I can get through with a clean bill of health. I just have to wash everything he touched in the past week! I don’t get as sick as often as he does, but when I do, it’s 10x worse. I hope you are feeling more like yourself and there is more warm weather for you this week!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I’m like you, I don’t get sick very often, but when i do it is usually short, but very intense. My wife gets sick much more often and it usually drags out for her. She was on the mend, so I thought i had missed it this time. I guess not!

      Nice hearing from you! I hope you stay well and avoid whatever is going around. Have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. Dale

    Oh no! I hope you didn’t catch it from me! I’m on day 4 of antibiotics… ugh. Starting to feel pretty good – after almost three weeks, it’s about time, eh?
    Get better soon!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      yeah, I’ll blame it one you – I must have gotten too close during a coffee share or something ;) I’m glad the antibiotics are kicking in and helping you. It’s never fun being sick.
      Thanks! have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. Sonya Lira

    Trent, I hope you are feeling better. I had gotten sick the week before Thanksgiving even lost my voice for a few days I was actually sick for 7 weeks straight. It had been so long since I had been sick my body retaliated against me. I went to the clinic they said allergies, I went to an allergist who informed me you outgrow allergies by the time you are 40 years old. He said he thinks it was a virus that went into a sinus infection he put me on antibiotics and gave me a steroid shot and it finally went away. Since then I have been sick twice more with similar things so I am not sure what is going on. Right now what I have is making my eyes burn they say cedar pollen is high but I am too old for allergies lol… Thanks for following my new blog.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I’m sorry you’ve been so sick the last few months. I’ve never heard that about allergies – I knew plenty of people in their 50s and 60s who still react to certain things just like they did as kids. I could see not developing new allergies past a certain age, though. Anyway, I hope you figure out what the non-allergy thing that’s going on.
      I am a bit better today, but not close to 100%. A few more days. I’m taking a couple of days off next week and hopefully that will help.
      I hope most of your regular followers find the new blog :)

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Sonya Lira

        I had never heard it before either Trent. A few days off will allow you to rest and sometimes that is the best way to get over stuff. So far about 20 of you have followed me I doubt everyone will follow there is almost 900 people on my list lol.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
  4. Kathleen Howell

    Hope you feel better! I’ve been taking Ester-C 1000mg Immune Booster supplements since the fall and I’ve dodged sickness so far. I’ve been sharing this with everyone I know!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. bettylouise31

    I didn’t send my message, the Kindle did and lock up the page. Sorry you have been so ill.
    The Boise River is running six times is normal flow. Growing up it flooded every year, the dams on the river protected the town from major flooding. I am hoping to do a weekly smile each week. There have been many small positive acts, I just need to look around to find them. Think Positive!Hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks. I’m not ill often so I am one of those “bad” sick people who don’t know how to act and complain too much ;) Last week you said you were getting the tail end of California’s storms, so I am guessing that’s were the flooding came from. In the comment that got posted a bit garbled you said something about buds. Seems very early, but I saw some buds today and even a few trees beginning to flower. The cold weather is coming back, so I hope everything is fine.
      That would be great if you did a weekly smile! Yes, think positive! hugs!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. bettylouise31

        By now we have had flowering trees in flower buds. There is a heavy snow pack in the mountains that is melting sending the rivers above flood stage. The Boise river is a major recreation for the area. Every year some one tries to float it too early and usually doesn’t make it. BYT, I am finding my smart phone is easier on my eyes than the Kindle and it is more stable than this Kindle which has cause trouble since I received it.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
  6. bettylouise31

    Sorry you h My cheap smart phone works better than my Kindleave been ill. That is awful! Warm weather and we still have cold and snow storms. The only signs of springs are a few leaf buds on one species of trees.

    Like

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Most of the writing stopped as I got sicker…. but writing does help me relax, which is what I need to do since I usually like to constantly be going.

      Thanks! I hope you also have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  7. Mrs. Completely

    Wow! For a sick guy you are productive! All I managed to do when I was sick was whine and complain and curse my son’s name to the Gawds of Disease. I couldn’t even hold up my end of an argument with Mim. That made her huffy and she stomped off to find The Viking. He would have to be in the grave before he gave up a chance for a good confrontation. Hope you feel better soon. Organic fruit juice helped me. :o)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Most of my productivity happened before I became too sick. Unless my snores (not that I snore, of course… Seems like I read a post on that somewhere….) count towards complaining to the Gawds of Disease, I haven’t been able to accomplish even that much the last two days. I’ve been trying to do fresh fruit instead of juice, and organic when I can. The last two times at the story every organic orange was rotten… So, non-organic oranges and bananas and such.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I have a very hard time doing nothing! But I have been trying. I did nap for a while today and may take another one soon. I feel better, but the last time I was sick I started pushing the minute I felt better and it came back again. Don’t want that to happen again…
      I hope all is well over there and you are having a good week.

      Like

      Reply
      1. sherloque

        You need to do some meditation… your body is not a robot, not a machine. It is ALIVE, it is a live bio degradable thing. Take care of it, not like a car, but like a plant. Do you keep pot plants inside your home by the way?

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          Good advice. I have tried meditating a little and need to get back into it. I find, however, that I “mediate” best on my feet, particularly if I am in the woods. If I had my way, I’d be either in the woods, in the mountains if possible, or walking on a beach at least 6 hours a day letting my mind be free and communing with the nature around me. That’s how I relax. Funny, even running or kayaking is more deeply relaxing to me than sitting because it is easier for my mind to let go…
          I grew up in a house full of plants, but whenever I try, I end up with a dead plant.
          My brain knows it takes a while for my body to recover, and the older I get the longer it’s going to take, but my body resists and wants to be up and about as soon as it’s not feeling totally awful… I’ve been doing better and resisting it this time ;)

          Like

          Reply
          1. sherloque

            “..whenever I try, I end up with a dead plant.” That’s what I thought. Now listen to Dr Frankie :-) meditating is not ‘relaxing’… relaxing is an after effect of meditation. Meditating, in my way of thinking and my practice, is getting your mind INSIDE your body instead of keeping it in your skull. You’ve got to be quiet and still. Anyway if you’re really interested get info on your own.

            Liked by 1 person

            Reply
  8. Robin

    I’m sorry you’ve been sick. Hope you’re feeling better soon. It’s been a big year for colds and flu. Flu is particularly bad in this area right now (with hundreds of kids and quite a few teachers missing school according to local news). Makes me glad I’m hiding out here in the Middle of Nowhere for now.

    Have a great week! :)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I’ve heard of entire schools being shut down because of sickness… Anyway, I seem to be on the mend, so I should but my normal self just in time for the return of the cold weather ;)

      Like

      Reply
  9. imaginativeworks

    It certainly hasn’t been a great season for colds/flus. I felt like our house was hit with the plague for a while there, miserable. Anyway, glad you are starting to feel better. Enjoy some time relaxing, I think that is a bonus of getting sick because sadly it forces us to slow down.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I hate being forced to slow down ;) Oh well, I guess I do have to relax. Thanks. I hope the plague has moved on from your household and everyone is well.
      Have a great week!

      Like

      Reply
  10. nerdinthebrain

    I’m so glad you’re already feeling better! I hope you’re back up to 100% with a quickness. :)

    (I saw you stopped by the blog earlier…I’m glad you did because it alerted me to the fact that my scheduled post didn’t post. Eep! It’s all ready for blogger consumption now though.) :)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks! A few people I know had it for 3 or 4 days while others had it for a couple of weeks – I hope I have the 3 day variety of whatever is going around ;) I missed your Thursday Post anyway, mostly because i read absolutely zero yesterday, but I’ll head back over in a few minutes for the coffee post.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  11. willowdot21

    Hi Trent can I have a nice black coffee please, I brought some cakes would you like one? We have had some strange weather here. Hot, cold, even a storm called Doris! I am interested in your Embers series I shall have to investigate! Mind you we have not got people wondering around in summer clothes yet! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Black coffee coming right up. Thanks for bringing the cakes. Doris is very friendly sounding name. It doesn’t seem like a storm with that name should wreak such havoc. I think you saw the first story in “Embers” – I wrote it for Sue Vincent’s writephotoa few weeks ago and decided to expand on it.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Express Yourself

