Weekly Smile 60! #weklysmile

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

My smile is going to be a bit different today.  Why not? :)

I got up relatively early on Saturday (18th) morning.  The sun was just making an appearance and lighting my bedroom.  I went into the kitchen for my boring breakfast routine.  As I ate, I watched out the window, actually a sliding glass door.  From my kitchen table I can see Swan Pond just at the end of the road.  There is a landing, so the view of the water is unobstructed.

The day looked good.  There was barely a ripple on the pond, meaning there was little wind.  I hoped this was true all over the Cape (what we call Cape Cod).  Sometimes I will see little wind, but then going out it will be very strong where I want to walk.

I was out the door by 7:45 and headed to Chapin Beach.

Chapin Beach is one of my favorite places in Dennis, the town where we have our cottage.  It’s about 9 miles away, so on the furthest reaches, but not too far.

It was little chilly when I started my walk down on Chapin Beach, maybe 25 F/-4 C, but since the wind was light it felt nice.  It wasn’t a true winter walk on the beach as there was no snow or ice.  There were also an amazing number of people for 8 AM.  But it is always peaceful.  There are no buildings fronting the beach, just dunes.  The tide was in but rapidly going out, exposing new sand.  Out at the point I saw a seal up on a little sandy isle out where the marsh drains into the bay.  Very cool, as I don’t see many seals on this beach and have never seen one pulled up out of the water.

Back at the cottage after the walk I noticed that the wind was beginning to pick up.  If I was going to get out onto the water, I had to do it right away.  Well, after writing my “Weekend Coffee Share/If We Were Having Coffee” post!

There was no ice down at the landing, making the kayak launch easy. The pond was beginning to rough up with small chop, but there were no big waves.  It was an ideal paddle, for February in New England, at least!  Around the back side of the island I hit ice.  First I went through some slush, which was cool.  The slush looked like ice but moved with the waves.  I then decided to venture deeper into the ice.  I don’t know why, but I love ripping through ice on a kayak.  I hit a few thicker places where it was very hard to get my paddle to break through the ice, but I enjoyed the challenge.  Speaking of challenge, have you ever tried turning a kayak that is ripping through an inch of ice?  Not easy!  But I was able to turn and control where I was going.

I did my longest paddle of the year so far.  That sounds funny in mid-February, doesn’t it?   It was a great day out on the water! And ice.

After lunch I went running.  The rail trail/bike trail was covered in snow and ice, making running a challenge.  A bigger difficulty was that I overdressed.  The day had continued to warm and I was dressed for cold weather running.  It is tiring to run when you have too much on!  But it was still a great run.  The trail goes through some woods, over a stream, near some salt water marshes and a few large cranberry bogs.  It’s pretty.

After showering I decided that I need to see salt water again.  I headed down to Sea Street Beach, which is the closest public beach to my cottage, only about 1.8 miles/2.9 km away.  The beach is small, not something you walk, and it was very windy.  Still, it was very relaxing to sit on the rocks and watch the waves.  The fresh salt air, the sound of the surf, the sand under my feet (I was wearing shoes – it was February!) – perfection!

Watching the surf on Sea Street Beach

Watching the surf on Sea Street Beach

In the late afternoon I did my almost daily walk down at Bells Neck, a conservation area.  I parked at the bike trail since the access road was still snow covered.  My walk was a little over 3 miles/around 5 km.  It went through some woods, by a small lake/large pond/ by a very large saltwater marsh, near some cranberry bogs, including an old inactive one, and by a river.  It is a great walk!  Very pretty, even in the winter.  The paths are mostly clear of snow (for some reason the asphalt of the rail trail keeps the snow while it melts on the dirt paths).

After my walk in the woods I did a short drive through some scenic areas of Harwich, just to wind down.

The rest of the afternoon and evening were typical.  I cooked out on the grill (90% of the time on The Cape I grill my food) and had a nice dinner.  I read and wrote and blogged through the evening.

Can you think of a better way to spend a winter day (OK, skiing comes to mind, but not enough now or mountains!)?  This ideal day is my smile for the week.  Doesn’t get much better.

So, what made you smile this week? Write about it and post on the link-up (or click the little blue frog below). While you’re there, read what everyone else is smiling about! And come back to it later, if last week is any indication new smiles will be added daily!

–-

Note – the weekly smile runs Wednesday Morning to Wednesday morning.  I post in the morning (Eastern US) and put up the link usually between 7 and 8 AM EST.  I also try to post on Sunday as a reminder.  People can and do join throughout the week.

21 thoughts on “Weekly Smile 60! #weklysmile

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      It is. Any time I can spend outside is always time well spent (except for a couple of years ago when I locked myself out of the house on the coldest day of the year ;) )

      Like

      Reply
  1. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee on the 25th of February | Trent's World (the Blog)

  2. eloisedesousa

    Reblogged this on Thoughts by Mello-Elo and commented:
    I’m reblogging Trent’s Weekly Smile this week as it is filled with energy and movement – a similar week to mine but in a different way. My energy was focused on writing and editing this week. It was put to good use to assist the children at my school finish of their competition entries for the BBC2 #500words competition. My weekly smile was knowing that these children put their best writing forward and pushed themselves to finish on a tight deadline. That dedication and resilience made me feel proud to be part of their education process and inspired me to do more to help them.

    Now take a gander with Trent as he tells you about his fantastic kayaking and the natural beauty he encountered when out and about. I don’t know where he gets all the energy from, but it definitely gives me a weekly smile to read about it!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks for the reblog!
      That is quite a smile! I’m sure it is very satisfying to see the kids push themselves to finish their entries. I remember when I was a kid how huge 500 words seemed – now I find it difficult to put up a blog post of less than 500 words ;) Good luck to “your” children!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. Pingback: Filming Macbeth | Colline's Blog

  4. Pingback: Post or tree, not me: Weekly smile | Reflections and Nightmares- Irene A Waters (writer and memoirist)

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      It still looks like winter, but it has been warm for February. Up here in New Hampshire we still have a foot of snow on the ground, but it is melting pretty rapidly.

      I hope you are enjoying your first signs of spring.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Express Yourself

