If We Were Having Coffee on the 18th of February

Beatles and Coffee

Hello and Welcome!  Come on in and I’ll get you a nice large mug of very strong French Roast, a cuppa tea or other morning appropriate beverage.  As some of you may be able to tell from the picture at the top of the page, I am down on Cape Cod this weekend.  Don’t you just love those Beatles mugs?

Today is nice and sunny and is supposed to get pretty warm, at least relatively speaking.  I have already been for a long walk on the beach in the below freezing temperatures.  It was a great walk!  In a bit I might go cold water kayaking – there is little wind right now, so it would be a perfect time.  Later I may go running and then take a long walk in the woods.  Perhaps I’ll go down to a closer beach for a few minutes.  Like I said, it is gorgeous (for mid-February)!

For now, though, let’s sit and sip our coffee while we chat.

I don’t know exactly what to say about this last week.  There was a lot of snow, but not as much as the week before.  It was cold, but not as cold as the week before.  Work was busy and stressful, but not as bad as the week before.  Hmmm, seems to be a pattern here ;)

I drove down to Cape Cod late Wednesday evening (I leave just before 7 PM to avoid traffic). I wasn’t gone long before it started raining.  On the highway, 495, in bumper to bumper traffic, it started to snow.  Hard.  Very hard.  A huge truck stayed next to me, splashing slush all over the windshield.  I finally gave up, moved into the left lane and went faster than I would like in those conditions. It was a scary drive, to say the least.  Just FYI – I telework from our cottage, I didn’t take a few days off for a long weekend.  Though I still will have a long weekend…

If you remember, last Thursday and Friday I had put up a story (originally a flash fiction piece) and a continuation.  Well, I decided to keep going.  I wrtoe the final three segments to the story and posted the third part, Teddy (Frogs) yesterday.  I’ll put up the fourth installment today and the fifth and final early next week.  Although divided into five stories, in reality it is just one story that has been serailised.  The final is in the range of 8,000 words.

I’m still in my fiction writing mode and, besides continuing the story “Embers”, I also posted two more works of flash fiction.  On Wednesday I posted a 100 word story for Friday Fictioneers and on Thursday I posted a work of flash fiction for Sue Vincent’s #writephoto.  The last few weeks I’ve been posting three or four stories a week!  Sure, some have been 100 word stories and most of the others are quick works of flash fiction, but my fiction output has been higher than usual…

Of course I also posted a Smile Reminder on Sunday and a Weekly Smile on Wednesday.  One problem that I have is that I get into routines and sometimes have difficulty finding good topics that I haven’t already used.  Hmm, I’ll just have to keep my eyes open :)

I feel bad that I didn’t have a fantastic Valentine’s Day poem, but I did post a little wintry haiku with a theme of love buried in it. Oh, almost forgot, and I wrote about the creation of the cover for Seasons of Imagination.

As I said, I have a lot of plans for the day.  I need to get out and get moving.  Sometimes I look forward to a retired life where I could spend all of my hours outside or writing when forced to be inside.  It’s not going to happen any time soon, unless I find a patron who is willing to underwrite my lavish lifestyle ;)  Or perhaps I might win the lottery.    Maybe I should actually buy some tickets some day…

Anyway, it was great having you over!  I hope you don’t mind that I monopolized the time with my endless babble.  If you have a coffee share I’ll stop by and sit back and let you do all of the talking, OK?

The Weekend Coffee Share was created by Part Time Monster .  Thank you Diana for all the great Coffee Shares in the past!  This week for the first time it will be hosted by Nerd in the Brain).  Thank you Emily!  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “Linkup Linky“.  In fact, I encourage you to click on the “linky” to see what’s been going on in the lives of other bloggers and even join us if you haven’t before. 

26 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee on the 18th of February

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Winning the lottery would be great, but my real fantasy would be to have one of my books published, turn into a best seller, picked up by Hollywood and made into a huge blockbuster film. Hmmm, maybe the lottery fantasy is more realistic ;)
      There was about 15 minutes of the drive that was awful and another 20 that was bad, but it all worked out. I just have to watch the weather a litter closer when I’m doing that type of a drive!
      Often writing seems to go in spurts – I’ll do a lot for a few weeks then force it for a few weeks, etc. I’m trying too take advantage of it while the spigot is open!
      Thanks for stopping by! Have a great week.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  1. Corina

    I think, even though you telecommute from Cape Cod, that it does wonders for you and the work. It’s a different atmosphere, less pressure, more to do in short breaks! No wonder you love it so much. I am glad you are able to do that. And if you ever find that patron, send them my way!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      It is great to be able to spend time down there, even if I have to work part of it. It is very relaxing, even though on nice days, like yesterday, I don’t slow down at all.
      It seems everyone is looking for that elusive patron ;) If one happens by, I’ll point them your way…

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. Pamela Morse

    Trent, you are my Flash Fiction Idol…I loved the spooky ghost story about the fire. It is cool that they let you work from your place on Cape Cod..makes your life better…although that drive would scare the Bejezuz out of me…I don’t even like to drive over bridges with water under them..let along slushy snow with big trucks…

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks! I’ve been in a big flash fiction writing spree the last few weeks. I hope it continues!
      The first year I had the cottage I couldn’t telecommute and it was a bit of a pain to rush down after work on Friday and back Sunday night. It is much more enjoyable to be able to work from down there. I am almost used to the drive, but, yeah, Wednesday was pretty scary!
      Have a good week!

      Like

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I have bought them on occasion, uselessly, like you, when the prize is really big. I usually get 5, but yeah, when the odds are alike a trillion to one, having one or five isn’t much difference ;)

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks! I’m hoping the pattern continues. And, of course, I’m hoping the creativity continues also. I play an enormous variety of music, but the Beatles are included – I actually have two versions of all of their songs on my ipod, a remastered mono set and a remastered stereo set.

      Have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      We had a couple of weeks of deep winter, but the last couple of days were nice, if you think mid 40s F is nice. Compared to single digits, it’s great. And perhaps spring is on the way.
      I hope you don’t get too much of California’s storms – they look awful!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. prior..

    well glad you are on a writing roll, T – and the weather is wonderful here too – ahhhh – hope you enjoy your time 9and i am sending scratch-off lottery tickets to my sis-in-law later….)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Good luck to your sis-in-law with those tickets.
      It always feels good to be creative. Sometimes its drawing or making music, but now the writing is kicking and, and it is like my own personal “drug”.
      I hope you have a great week, Y!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. prior..

        well when you are on a roll it is a flowing gift – ahhhhhh
        just don’t overdo it (like the dam in CA) – or it will suck you dry – but it sounds like you have balance.
        and I am not complaining – but this is the third time in four months when my blogging flow was completely interrupted – two deaths and then a family trip – and gaining momentum back was hard – but that is a-ok – such is life….
        so enjoy your flow…

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          Keeping balance – I’ve been outside “playing almost all day today and am leaving again as soon as I finish this comment. I sometimes grumble when trips and stuff disrupt my blogging flow. It is difficult to get it moving again. I’m sorry about the deaths.

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
  4. Pingback: #Weekend Coffee Share – Mid-February Edition | A Delectable Life

  5. cordeliasmom2012

    That’s a great photo. I wish I would have thought to do one like that – I have the same percolator.

    PS: If you find a patron, see if that person can adopt me, too. I’m nearly at retirement age, but won’t be able to retire due to the need for food, housing and internet, which I can only afford if I keep on working.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I get spoiled by fresh-perc’ed coffee… I had post a picture with just one Beatles mug and everyone liked it so much I had to do one with all of the ones I have.
      If I find a patron I’ll send him or her your way. I’ll be eligible to retire at 56, but like you I enjoy eating, a luxury I’d have to give up for early retirement ;)

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I just don’t understand why there aren’t people crawling out of the woodwork to subsidize my life ;) When we bought the cottage a neighborhood discount store had the Beatles on sale for next to nothing. I picked up one of each they had. They didn’t have a few, like Revolver, but maybe I can pick those up someplace else.
      Have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Express Yourself

