Weekly Smile 59 #weeklysmile

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

I’m ultra-busy, which is actually a good thing which I’ve written smiles about in the past, but today it means that this is going to be very short.  There are so many little smiles this week, but I am going to chose the snow.

First, a little paragraph copied from my “Weekend Coffee Share” post: On Tuesday we received a little less than 5″/12 cm of snow with a coating of ice.  It warmed up Wednesday, which cleared the roads and made life easier, but that was just to catch us off guard.  The temperatures plunged Thursday, dropping all day, as was the snow.  We got a little over a foot (13″/33 cm).  It was relatively light and fluffy, but it still was a mess to shovel.  This morning (Saturday) I woke to 3″/ 8 cm of new snow.

Sunday the big storm came into town.  Actually, it wasn’t as bad as expected and dropped someplace between 8″ and 10″ (between 20cm and 25 cm) before it ended Monday morning.  This was a little heavier than what we received last Tuesday, but not wet and sloppy.

OK, I have a secret for you.  I complain about shoveling snow, but secretly I actually enjoy it.  It gives me some of the best “Introvert time” imaginable.  It is great exercise.  I feel much more “present” and alive in the cold than in the heat.  I hate hot weather!  Cold?  I’m alive!

But it is after the work is all done that it is good.  Yesterday (Tuesday) I took a few walks.  The sun was shining and it got quite warm.  OK, 40F/4 C, but with the bright sun it felt like a heat wave!  And it was gorgeous.  The normal mundane industrial park area where I work was turned into the cliched “Winter Wonderland”.  The village were I live became a Currier and Ives print.

What is it about a white world that is so beautiful?  I don’t know, though it isn’t just white.  If you look closely you’ll see that the snow is a rainbow.  It goes from yellow to orange in the sunlight and blue to purple to black in the shadows.  The sunnier it is, the bluer the shadows.  I’ve rarely been able to get a picture that shows anything but shades of white.

That was my smile for this week, the return of snow.

So, what made you smile this week? Write about it and post on the link-up (or click the little blue frog below). While you’re there, read what everyone else is smiling about! And come back to it later, if last week is any indication new smiles will be added daily!


–-

Note – the weekly smile runs Wednesday Morning to Wednesday morning.  I post in the morning (Eastern US) and put up the link usually between 7 and 8 AM EST.  I also try to post on Sunday as a reminder.  People can and do join throughout the week.

18 thoughts on “Weekly Smile 59 #weeklysmile

  1. Pingback: Eranthis hyemalis | Travel Much?

  2. Pingback: Two Fer #WeeklySmile | Wasted Days And Wasted Nights

  3. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee on the 18th of February | Trent's World (the Blog)

  4. Pingback: A School Valentine | Colline's Blog

  5. sonyaliraphotography

    You actually enjoy shoveling snow I have never heard anyone say that before. I love to rake leaves we spent about 10 hours last weekend working in the yard again. I raked so much and did all this bending over. My arms were so sore not sure if it was the raking or holding the gasoline hedge clippers lol.

    Like

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I had a problem today too. Not sure why. I could put up my post, but I had to upload the image from my hard drive, it wouldn’t take it from the link, it gave me an error every time. I’ll have to contact InLinkz and see if I can find out what the issue is.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  6. Pingback: What made me smile this week? | Ladyleemanila

  7. sherloque

    Mine is more like a grin this week. The weather here in middle France has turned its back on winter, mild and sunny. Walking back from the library I even heard the grey cranes flying over northwards coming back from Spain. However as Stravinsky has put it in music the fight between winter and spring is not over. Who will win, do you know? (Note: I must look up a Currier and Ives print.)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      If you Google “Currier and Ives” you can see some of their prints. Back in the 19th century they made idealized versions of rural America, often with winter scenes. They are mentioned in one of the popular Christmas songs, Sleigh Ride.
      I think hearing grey cranes flying over would give me a big smile. So far winter is still winning the fight here, but spring will arrive, and hopefully without any sacrifices.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Express Yourself

