I Want Your Smiles #weeklysmile 58 Reminder

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

(I want to reassure you before you read this that nothing bad has happened in my life, it is just that I have been thinking.  As they say, thinking can be a dangerous thing :) )

I’ve often said that smiles come in many sizes and shapes.  I often tell you big smiles of the week, but sometimes the small ones are more important.   I also tell you to go out and smile.  I get it that it is hard for some.  I say, smile anyway.  Smiling is living.

What is life really about, then?  Is it possible to be happy when your stomach is growling from hunger?  Can you find love when so many hate you for reasons beyond your control?  Are there really silver linings in great disasters?  Loss and sorry fill many lives.  Who am I to say that you should smile? 

I went to the funeral of a loved cousin when I was a child.  Sitting around at my relatives’ house everyone told stories and laughed.  At first I didn’t understand.  Why are they laughing at a time like this?  But I slowly got it.  It wasn’t just a way to keep the good memories of the departed alive, it was a way to keep the survivors living.

Sometimes we see life as a struggle to get ahead, or even to just stay afloat, when we are beset by tragedies, like waves trying to overwhelm us.  All to often we are overwhelmed by it all.  When we think like that, we are treading water, not swimming; just surviving, not living.  Sometimes that smile can be a life vest to help us stay afloat.  It can be a life saver.

Take in your surroundings and think of the little things that usually go under your radar.

The little things might add up to something awful, or so you think.  But then, concentrate on the positive.  There are some everywhere, even if just in your memory.  I know, if you are clinically depressed a pep talks like this don’t help and it is hard to look with anything but a critical eye.  Still, try.

Today I am smiling at the cat purring in my lap.  After shoveling tons of snow, I am smiling at the rewards of a job well done.  I am smiling at the beauty of the fresh fallen snow.  I grumble at the cold sometimes, but the chill air makes me feel so much more alive than the dulling heat of summer, and so I smile.  A song I haven’t heard in a while makes me smile.  I played piano for a few minutes this morning and, even though my playing was awful, I loved the sound and smiled.  I talked to friends and family and smiled. A friend sent a funny text while I was sleeping and I smiled when I first woke up.  I read a great memory on FB and smiled.  My nephew is doing great in a new sport, which makes me smile.  Do I need to continue?  I can keep it up all day long, page after page after page.

To live we need to look deeply at the good times and bad.  We do need to try to wrap our heads around the dark and scary.  But we also need to sit back and laugh about our loss and smile at those around us.  Life is to be lived.  Living is an active thing, something you have to do.  Isn’t it better to start that task that fills-all with a smile instead of a frown? :)

So my mid-Weekly Smile week was taken with some philosophy on life – look for more coming up – and the philosophy behind my Weekly Smile.  Think – it ain’t illegal yet.  And you may smile :)

What made you smile this week? Write about it and post on the link-up (or click the little blue frog below). While you’re there, read what everyone else is smiling about! And come back to it later, if last week is any indication new smiles will be added daily!


–-

Note – the weekly smile runs Wednesday Morning to Wednesday morning.  I post in the morning (Eastern US) and put up the link usually between 7 and 8 AM EST.  I also try to post on Sunday as a reminder.  People can and do join throughout the week.

8 thoughts on “I Want Your Smiles #weeklysmile 58 Reminder

  1. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee on the 18th of February | Trent's World (the Blog)

  2. Pingback: A Hamburger | Colline's Blog

Express Yourself

