If We Were Having Coffee in the Snow ( Feb 11, 2017)

Moog and Morning Coffee

Hello and Welcome!  Come on in and brush the snow off!  Brrr, it’s cold out there, but much warmer that yesterday!  OK, it’s 12 F/ -11 C as compare to 5 F/-15 C.  Any way you look at it, it is cold!  So take off your coat and I’ll get you large mug of very strong French Roast, a steaming cuppa tea, a mug of hot chocolate or other warm beverage.  Snow and cold, I bet you know we’re in New Hampshire even without looking at the photo at the top of the page!

The big theme for this week is “The Return of Winter”, or perhaps “The Revenge of Winter” would be better.  This has been an odd winter, with some very cold spells, like most of December, but with some warm periods (relatively speaking) mixed in there too.  But there has been little snow.  There has been some, but there has also been just as much rain.  It didn’t look like early February in New Hampshire, that’s for sure!  There is typically a few feet of snow around the house.

On Tuesday we received a little less than 5″/12 cm of snow with a coating of ice.  It warmed up Wednesday, which cleared the roads and made life easier, but that was just to catch us off guard.  The temperatures plunged Thursday, dropping all day, as was the snow.  We got a little over a foot (33 cm).  It was relatively light and fluffy, but it still was a mess to shovel.  This morning I woke to 3″/ 8 cm, which I haven’t shovels yet.  As soon as I am done talking to you…  And then on Sunday night and all day Monday we will have another storm that might drop between a foot and 18″ (30  – 45 cm).  And did I say that it is cold?  So winter is back with a vengeance.

A theme for the work week is insanely busy.  Enough said ;)

Strangely enough, the theme in my private life for last week  is writing.  So, starting last week, I already told you I posted stories last Thursday and Friday.  I then wrote a 7500 word story starting on Saturday (it won’t be posted here), a risque (for me) story on Sunday (posted at the start of the Super Bowl, so few viewers), a story for Friday Fictioneers on Wednesday, followed by a second FF story on Thursday and then another story on Thursday for Sue Vincent’s #writephoto.  I then put up a longer story (about 2500 words) on Friday, a continuation of the #writephoto story.  So 8 stories in a little over a week.  Even though three of those stories were only 100 words each, it still came out to well over 12,000 words.

You might guess that part of my Weekly Smile for this week was writing!  Well, exercise and writing.  I also did a Weekly Smile Reminder for last week’s smile.

On Tuesday I posted a political rant.  It starts off with an old Cold War joke that is actually scary today.  If things keep heading the way they are, we may lose our free press in America.  I never, never put up political posts, but I had to write this one!

And then I posted some photos from a winter’s hike to a waterfall on Monday.  A lot of blogging this week!

I’m going to go out and shovel in a few minutes, but it was great having you stop by for coffee!  I know I just spouted at the mouth (pen?  keyboard?) the entire time, but if you have a coffee share I will stop by, relax (I’ll be tired from shoveling ;) ) and listen to you.  This may also be an inside type of day, if such a thing exists in a house with two active dogs, so I’m sure I’ll have time to visit.

Anyway, so that was my week – playing/working in the snow, swimming just to keep my nose above water at work, and doing a lot of writing.  How was your week?

The Weekend Coffee Share is hosted (for the last time) by Part Time Monster .  Thank you Diana for all the great Coffee Shares! (Next week it will be hosted over at Nerd in the Brain)  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “Linkup Linky.  In fact, I encourage you to click on the “linky” to see what’s been going on in the lives of other bloggers and even join us if you haven’t before. 

— — — — —

Now a word from our sponsor – have you looked at Seasons of Imagination yet?  Check the page I did for it.

seasonssmall

Now back to our original program.

46 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee in the Snow ( Feb 11, 2017)

  1. Melissa @ Ever Growing Farm

    Hiya Trent! Thanks for the tea!

    We’ve had a funny winter here, too…last week had us in the seventies more often than not before Winter came back in with snow and ice last night. Crazy temp fluctuations!

    I’m impressed by all of your writing! that’s a lot of words you put to paper (or digital paper, as it is)! I’m lucky to get 2-3 hours of blog time a week anymore and that’s for blogging, photo editing, commenting, replying, social media, yada, yada, yada. Less talking about Farm Life, more living it ;-) I’ll take it!

    Hope you have a wonderful week ahead, Trent! Take good care!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I think people do what satisfies them and obviously taking care of your farm, the animals and your daughter satisfy you at this time. I guess it had better with all of the time you have to spend with it ;) At least you do have creative outlets with your photography and blogging. Sorry, I forget, is it you or your partner that paints? I just remember seeing some great paintings on your site a couple of times.
      We’ve had some pretty crazy fluctuations, but not in the 70s yet. I guess the entire country has been on a weather roller coaster this year!
      Have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Melissa @ Ever Growing Farm

        Very true, Trent! The Farm absolutely satisfies me! And…I tend to thrive on a variety of creative outlets…one of which is to paint! (Yes, I do that, too, in my copious free time when the mood strikes!)

        Hope your week is awesome! Get out and enjoy that snow if you can!

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
  2. Rowena

    Hi Trent.
    Thanks for the coffee, although I am supposed to be asleep by now. We’ve been experiencing heat wave conditions over here. So, you can shovel some of that snow over here and I’d be mighty thankful. I found out the Bureau of Meteorology now has a Heatwave Warning system in place. That’s a bit spooky. We’ve also been getting quite a few serious bushfires nationally with loss of homes. As much as those images of people picking through the charcoals remains of their homes are familiar, you still feel their pain every time.
    Great to hear your writing’s been flowing. I love that.
    I have been researching my late father-in-law since before we left for Tasmania and have been exploring different angles. I had some huge breakthroughs with my research yesterday through searching old newspapers online and yet I still feel there are too many gaps. I am wanting to write an article about him working in King Island at Egg Lagoon putting in drainage. King Island is famous now for it’s cheese and beef and so I find the whole idea of him being there and doing that quite funny. I really want to go there now. Seems like going to Tasmania has reignited the travel bug in me.
    Hope you have a great week and the storms aren’t too bad.
    Best wishes,
    Ro

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I’ve been too busy at work to shovel, so I’m still officially snowed in! (Just taking a short break before I start again). I would gladly trade you a bit of snow for a few degrees of temperature. It has warmed up a bit and there is some melting (not noticeable, but you can hear dripping). Just odd weather worldwide. And fire season is always awful.
      Have fun doing your research. It’s always fun piecing together the lives of our families (or inlaw’s families).
      Have a great week! Stay cool….

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Rowena

        I love writing these historical stories and yet I get so frustrated by the gaps and when you’re writing non-fiction, you do try to be true to the facts. I’m thinking of writing a fictionalised story about Geoff’s Dad. We’ll see how it goes.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
  3. Corina

    We’ve been mostly colder than normal for this time of year but we’ve also had more snow than usual and a lot more ice. Now they’re saying we might get more snow before the end of this week.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks! Having the occasional productive week is great, though it seems odd that it was this week, with all of the snow and such. I like snow, but I am not looking forwards to the storm that’s on its way!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  4. Kathleen Howell

    We haven’t had much cold or snow here in Michigan. I can live without the cold, but REALLY want some snow!! Our snowmobiles sit on the trailer hoping for the next storm.
    That’s a lot of writing you did! I’m envious.. Have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      They are talking about 8″ to 18″ depending on location over the next two days – I’d gladly send Mich. a few inches of that! I saw someone snowmobiling in the middle of my village yesterday before heading out towards the woods. We’ve had snow, but this is the first time that there is a lot that is staying more than a couple of days, so I’m sure the snowmobilers are all happy. And I’m happy about my writing :) I have a lot more planned and hopefully find the time to write it all out.

      Like

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I’m sure Ani would enjoy all of the snow we have. My dogs go crazy in it and think that there is nothing better than playing in deep snow. And of course you’ll get some when it is absolutely inconvenient, like when you have a cross country drive planned.

      Like

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I think of snow shoveling as a cheap workout solution ;) And I sure have been getting my exercise this week and will for the next few days! Thanks, it always feels great to have the words just flow like they have been.
      Have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  5. Dale

    It’s been bloody cold up here in Montreal as well. -12C, feeling like -20 with the windchill… brrr! I need to go out today but so far have resisted… Will send the boy, why else have kids, right?

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
  6. Angelica Kidd

    Wow! Do stay warm Trent! 😦 I always worry about my friends when I hear about their low temperatures! We could always get a bunch of family/friends/fellow bloggers together and just ski until we reach Hawaii! I hear it’s nice there this time of year! 😄 I can’t wait to read Seasons of Imagination! The thought of losing the right of free press scares me! 😦 I really hope that doesn’t happen… Always a joy reading your posts, Trent and I hope you have a wonderful weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      The thing about living up here is that you get used to the cold. I’m still not always happy about it, but in ways I prefer it to the heat. However, I also hear that Hawaii is nice all year. Maybe you’re right ;) I’m hoping that the more that people keep their eyes and ears open and shout when they see too much power and influence coming from the White House that we’ll be able to stay safe. Thanks for joining me for coffee, Angelica!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  7. bettylouise31

    I tried to like your rant all it would do it take me to share. It is now on my blog ( I am please). But there is nothing and it is listed as untitled. I hope the sunny day is the start of our spring. Like many I am scared and frightened by what is happening. I see WOMEN being put down, I see a bully in charge of our nation. Defeated people who can’t fight back are now being bullied. I can’t understand how is supporters can still see him. My caregiver was a supporter but she is beginning to see the light. Excuse for expressing my fears but most people here supported him. I got myself in trouble by speaking out. Think Positive!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I really don’t understand why so many people in the western and mountain states are supporters, but I’m glad your caretaker is beginning to see the light. Women are being bullied, as are minorities, but I can’t see that lasting long – women and minorities yield much more power today than ever before (which is what some people fear) and I think I think if the bullying does tone down a bit people will start standing up and flexing their political muscle.

      I’m glad you have some sunshine. I’ll be by later to see how your week is going at your coffee post.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. bettylouise31

        The inerior states like Idaho have very few news outlets. Here in Idaho in the Boise area there are only 2_tv stations NBC and Fox news. ABC and CBS broadcast with Fox Nrws. The Idaho Daily Statement is the only newspaper and it is barely surviving. The last cencus There is radio but it is mostly music.
        Growing up we had The Idaho Daily Statement and Kido radio. My highschool American history teacher pointed that out. I got his message to get my news from more than one source.
        The last cencus the Republicans gerrymandered the Boise area which includes the three largest cities to keep the Republicans in power.
        The conservative power that is present is not the conservative power I grew up with.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          No conservatives have changed greatly in the last 40 or so years, starting with Reagan, but the change has been even greater over the lat decade. The limited amount of reliable news sources is a major problem everywhere. I agree, always get your news from as many sources as possible, two if you don’t have time or resources for more.

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
  8. Robin

    Thanks for the hot chocolate, Trent. It’s been quite a whirlwind week in terms of weather and politics. I think I’m beginning to get weather whiplash from all the warm-cold switches. lol!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  9. pamelascanepa

    What an awesome week-filled-with-writing! That always makes it better. It keeps you in from the cold, too, right? Brrr. It did get to 40 here in Northern Florida, and the temperature has also been up and down here this winter. Interesting. Have a great weekend, Trent!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      That’s odd, I thought I answered this earlier… Anyway, thanks! It is satisfying to look back at all of the writing I did this week.
      I know 40 is cold for Florida, but last week when it hit 45, I took off my wool sweater and only wore a spring jacket when I left the house, not a heavy ski coat. It wasn’t quite shorts weather, but close ;)
      Have a great weekend!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  10. Serendipitous Web Life. : )

    Good Morning, Trent. Thank you for the quick cocoa. I’m sorry I haven’t responded much this week, it has also been a busy few weeks for me. I was able to read The Rite Of Passage chapter from the book this morning. Beautifully written and insightful story. It was a story that serendipitously fit my mood this morning. I enjoyed reading it. : ) I hope you have a wonderful wintry weekend! : ).

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Good morning Deana! I’m glad you are enjoying the book! That story was a late addition to it – I was starting my first edit when I wrote it and decided it needed to go into the collection. I originally had it first, but decided it would give people the wrong idea if it was at the beginning. I hope you have a great weekend. I’m sure it is much warmer down there!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Ironically, when I returned home from Cape Cod last weekend, before any of the snow was forecast, I was looking at our small amount of snow on the ground and think how odd it looked since usually there are huge piles. I guess it was a case of “careful what you wish for”! Have you gotten hit by any of the storms this week?

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  11. Norm 2.0

    In the fall I read long term forecasts for the eastern half of the continent that the last part of this winter was going to be the toughest part. Looks like they were right.
    Heavy snow and -20C here this morning :-(

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      That is cold, but then you are quite a bit farther north. Looks like they are right, I don’t see a lot of relief in the forecast coming up, though they did tone down the totals expected for Sunday/Monday’s storm.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Express Yourself

