Ice, Wood and Water

Deep, cold pool

A few weeks ago I did a short hike near my house in New Hampshire.  The trail follows Purgatory Brook and goes by all three waterfalls, but I only stopped at the first.  It was relatively warm day, but the path was icy in spots.  For the most part, though it was a great hike.

One special thing about the hike was that I brought my camera and the new lens.  The bad thing is that I had forgotten to change the battery so it continued to flash at me that I was losing power.  I still took a few pictures, most of the ice covered waterfall, Lower Purgatory Falls.

Here is a photo from my phone that I took in November.  You can see the offshoot of the falls going off to the right.

lower-purgatory-faals

Now look at this one.  Notice the hole in the ice with the water rushing through?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here is a closeup of that hole.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I experimented and took some pictures with a very fast shutter speed to stop every water droplet and longer shutter speeds to get the blurred water effect.  A sample (which includes the above) is given below, with a couple of more tranquil shots.  As always, click on a photo to enlarge it to see the details.  From there you can scroll through them.

I hope you enjoyed this little bit of water, woods and ice from New Hampshire!

29 thoughts on “Ice, Wood and Water

  1. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee in the Snow ( Feb, 2017) | Trent's World (the Blog)

  2. Joanne Sisco

    There is just something very special about waterfalls – big or small – that always requires one more photo … regardless of how many we’ve already taken :)
    I liked the comparison of unfrozen falls to frozen falls. These ‘before’ and ‘after’ photos are always interesting.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Waterfalls are one of the few natural things that change right before your eyes. And when you change position they look totally different. yes, I’m justifying why I always take so many pictures ;) I love being digital and having that option! (Remember the days of 12 or 24 pictures and then you’re done?)

      Like

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks! There are a few small but beautiful falls close to me and it used to amaze me how few people visited them. But then I didn’t see them for a few years, so I guess I understand…

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      New Hampshire is a beautiful state. The area where I am is much more gentle than where the AMT goes through Winter hiking is fun, though most years you need snow shoes (which I don’t have) or x-country skis (which I do) to get very far.

      Like

      Reply
                  1. trentpmcd Post author

                    Autumn in my favorite. Spring is also nice, though in NH not as nice as in other places. I don’t know if I could survive a summer in Jamaica….

                    Like

                    Reply

Express Yourself

