If We Were Having Coffee on the 4th of February

Weekend Coffee on Cape Cod

Hello and Welcome!  Quick, come in and close the door behind you!  It has been colder, much colder this winter, but today feels far, far colder than any day so far.  The wind is just brutal!  It is warm in here and I can get you a large mug of very strong French Roast, a piping hot cuppa tea, some hot cocoa or other steaming beverage.  We’ll just sit here and chat as we warm up.  And where is “here”?  Those of you who have visited before may recognize the mugs up top as living down in my cottage on Cape Cod.

It has been a very busy week.  I don’t remember much beyond work.  That’s enough!  It was a very busy work week filled with problems.  This is the second problem filled week in a row.  Not all of the issues were mine, which is good, but they do effect my customers, which is bad.  Busy days, lots of meetings, and not much forward movement.  It’s hard to build when you are constantly putting out fires.

As I said, beyond work the week is a blur.  I had a lot of work to do around the house, but then drove down to the other house and had a lot of work to do down here.  One thing I remember is that I am trying to increase my running.  I haven’t run in about three months and my blood pressure is very high.  I’m starting to run again and I’ll hopefully be able to bring it back down to normal.  I do not want to go back on meds!  I feel like a totally different person when I’m on meds and I don’t like that person.  I want to be me.

I tried to keep up with blogging, but it was difficult.  I did two reposts this week because I didn’t have time for original material.  One repost, about practicing art (one of my most popular posts) was exactly two years old when reposted and the other, about the Plastic Brain, was exactly one year old when reposted.

Despite being busy I did take time to smile and took time to do two smile posts, a reminder for last week’s smile and a new smile about my new computer and watching the dogs play.

On Tuesday I wrote a quick poem about boundaries, or lack there-of. Thursday evening settled down and i was able to do a bit of writing.  I put up a Friday Fictioneers post and wrote another short story, which I posted on Friday.  Friday evening the writing continued with a new short story.  This story will most likely never be seen on the blog as I’ll save it for my next book of short stories.

Oh, and if you didn’t know (how could you not ;) ), I recently published a book of short stories, Seasons of Imagination.  Go take a look!

Despite the cold and the wind,  I do have some things on my agenda.  I have some running around to do, and at least one is a literal run, as I stated above.  I will also continue on the story I’m writing.  It’s a little longer, so I wasn’t able to dash it off in 30 minutes as I usually do.  (Note – most of the stories I post on the blog are little more than rough drafts.  By the time they see the light of day in other forms, such as Seasons of Imagination, they have gone through many more drafts and revisions.)  The dogs are restless – they think when we are down here it is their vacation ;).  Staying down here is very relaxing, but for me “relaxing” means being on the move.

t was really nice seeing you!  Thanks for stopping by for a warm morning beverage.  I know this has been all about me, but if you have a coffee chat I’ll stop by and it can be all about you, OK?

The Weekend Coffee Share is hosted by Part Time Monster .  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “Linkup Linky“.  In fact, I encourage you to click on the “linky” to see what’s been going on in the lives of other bloggers and even join us if you haven’t before.  (I’ll make the links ‘hot’ later)

— — — — —

Now a word from our sponsor – have you looked at Seasons of Imagination yet?  Check the page I did for it.

seasonssmall

Now back to our original program.

32 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee on the 4th of February

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I did get a short run in on Saturday and a long walk in the afternoon (and this morning). I feel much better when I exercise, but I’m finding that it goes beyond that, my body really needs it!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  1. Tena Carr

    I’ve had a terrible time myself, as well, keeping up with blogging. My blogging has been seriously lacking lately (not that I’ve ever been that great at it). Hey, hopefully I’ll manage a “Weekly Smile”. Hope you have a wonderful week.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      It is often hard to keep up. I try really hard to put up something and read as much as possible, but for most of us who have any type of life it’s impossible. I hope someday you can join the weekly smile :) Have a great week.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. Rowena

    Hi Trent,
    I’ve missed our chats and exchanges while I’ve been away in Tasmania and madly trying to write things up on our return. We had dreadful if any wifi while away and it took about 30 mins to upload a single photo. Felt like both hands were tied behind my back.
    We’re also having a heatwave and am thinking that flying South for Summer makes good sense. Tassie was just right.
    Congrats on the book. Well done!
    I’m sorry to hear that work has been so stressful. Hope you have a better week ahead.
    xx Ro

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I enjoyed your posts from Tasmania. It’s interesting that people on your side of the world are heading south to avoid the heat while the people on my side of the world are heading south to avoid the cold! I hope you are doing well, settling back into your normal routine.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Rowena

        I have been thinking about that irony while I was away. I am feeling more on top of things today. My husband was not impressed with my complete lack of action yesterday afternoon, especially after he and the kids did the scout sausage sizzle in 40 degree C heat. So, I’m starting early now before it heats up. The rest of the day beyond air-conditioned quarters is looking like a write-off.
        Take care!
        xx Ro

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      The bass started off, low and mean, and I went out and did the Cold Snap. But when the horns came blaring in, loud enough to peel the paint off of the ceiling, she jumped on the dance floor doing the Heat Wave. Cool jazz and hot rhythms from the opposite sides of the world, the new dance spread like a wildfire blown ahead of blizzard winds. OK, I’ll stop now ;) If you you get a chance to read it , I hope you enjoy! Have a great week.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Yeah, it’s supposed to get warm here this week too, perhaps up to the mid-50s. This winter has been a yo-yo, either much colder than normal or much warmer. As for me, I’m more ready for spring than more snow ;) Have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. Serendipitous Web Life. : )

    Good morning, Trent. Just a quick cocoa with a scoop of honey for me, please. Can’t stay long, I too have errands today. Just a reminder to get some music in your day; in your ears while running, or at the keyboard. A little “riffing” is good for the soul. : ). I hope it’s a beautiful day …

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Good morning D.! Some cocoa with a touch of honey coming up. Do you want filtered or some that stills has chunks of honey come in it (not always good in a drink because of the floaties…) Thanks for the reminder – I am listening now but will have to turn on the keyboards and play later. I’m glad you stopped by and hope you have a wonderful day!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Express Yourself

