I Want Your Smiles! #weeklysmile 56 Reminder

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

It is the little things we smile about the most.  We may remember the big, both good and bad, but in reality the little things make up our lives.  You may smile about a song on the radio, in return to a smile from a stranger, about a stray tuft of hair on a child’s forehead or, as John Denver might have said, sunshine on your shoulders might make you smile (happy).  It is the little things, something I sometimes forget when I do these weekly smile posts.

Yesterday morning I took my coffee out into the cold to enjoy nature.  I didn’t have a jacket on, but my wooded backyard is protected from the wind yet gets a good morning sun.  I was up the hill, just at the verge of the forest, looking out over the village and enjoying my coffee in the warm sunshine when I noticed a small noise.  Looking almost straight out from me there was a tiny bird on a branch.  Not just any bird, but a Downy Woodpecker.  It looked at me, then continued to tap the tree.  I watched for five minutes, sipping my coffee, before going.  A little later I came back out, but this time I had a camera instead of a cup of coffee in my hand.  I haven’t had time to look through the photos yet, but I did take one and crop it down for this post.

Downy Woodpecker

We have to take time out of our lives to appreciate the little things.  What is life if we only look for the big and bold?  The small and quiet make up most of the movements of the day and we need to stop, sip our coffee and watch.  If I didn’t get any pictures, I still would have made this my smile reminder, because it is a great reminder!  A reminder to look at the world, the small things, even in these times when there seems to be a lot to frown about, when fear-mongering is having its day, when the beautiful world around us seems to be auctioned off to the highest bidder, who will chop it up and sell it off again piecemeal.  We need to see that there is still joy in the  world and smile :)

So, what made you smile this week? Write about it and post on the link-up (or click the little blue frog below). While you’re there, read what everyone else is smiling about! And come back to it later, if last week is any indication new smiles will be added daily!


–-

Note – the weekly smile runs Wednesday Morning to Wednesday morning.  I post in the morning (Eastern US) and put up the link usually between 7 and 8 AM EST.  I also try to post on Sunday as a reminder.  People can and do join throughout the week.

— — — —

Here is the poem from Week 54.  Although things are good for me now, it is good to remember.  This is a reminder, isn’t it? ;)

Life is full of many smiles
But occasionally we must frown
For how can you tell if you are really up
If you have never really been down?
Each day has its little bumps
Every week has its hills
From being pulled over by the cops
To discovering overdue bills
So when you meet with ugliness
And people filled with bile
Greet life with good attitude
With good heart and with a smile

16 thoughts on “I Want Your Smiles! #weeklysmile 56 Reminder

  1. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee on the 4th of February | Trent's World (the Blog)

  2. Corina

    When the boys and I go for out hikes up to Scouters’ Mountain, we always hear woodpeckers. We rarely see them and never long enough to take a picture, but we sure do hear them. I don’t usually have anything but my phone camera but one day I will go up with the good camera.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. jackiemallon

    Lovely shot of the little guy. I have consciously noticed myself taking the opportunity to meet pother people’s gaze as I pass them on the street and smile at them. Considered a no-no in NYC (don’t make eye contact, could be a crazy!) More often than not, I get a smile in return which is appreciated in this time of great division.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
      1. charlypriest

        The difference between some of us if first that some people get down too much, and others that don’t. Plus a so called normal person if he gets down he doesn’t stay down too long, just not healthy. The longer you stay down the harder to get up.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
  4. Pingback: Weekly Smile! | CRAZY LIFE

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I know people who are putting out statistics and facts to show how unfounded the fears are, which is admirable, but they are preaching to the choir – those who are afraid listen to those that are instilling the fear, not those who are pointing out that there is little to fear. I say the more we smile at what is really happening around us the less we are controlled by our fear, which is a message I hope all can hear and understand :)

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Express Yourself

