Three Things Thursday – Computers and Such

three-things-thursday-badge

Image by Nerd in the Brain

This week I am once again joining Nerd in the Brain’s Three Things Thursday.  Yep, I’m going to talk about three things I’m grateful for this week and I won’t even mention the xxxxxx, well, you know.

Some of you may know that I lost my computer a couple of weeks ago.  I looked and looked and…  sorry, I should have said the computer crashed, the motherboard is fried and I can’t get the hard drive to spin up in another computer (yet).  So, yeah, no computer.  A couple of years ago I bought a very low-end laptop to keep down at the cottage on Cape Cod.  I went down and retrieved it right after the crash.  Of course, without that laptop I wouldn’t have been able to publish my… ooops, I said I wasn’t going to mention it.  So I’m thankful I had that.  Also, in the last couple of days I discovered more backup files.  Over all I lost a little less than one year of photos instead of three, as I had originally thought.  I am very grateful for that.  And yesterday the new baby, I mean computer, arrived!  So after 15 days I can start to set up the new computer!  I still have the laptop to work on until the new one is totally set up.  So I am grateful for the new computer!  Although that is three things, I’m going to count them as one, thankful about computer stuff.

On Tuesday I came into the house after shoveling snow and smelled gas.  I found the stove on but the burner not lit.  I turned it off and opened a window.  I went upstairs to the farthest reaches of the house.  5 minutes later, heading back to the downstairs kitchen but still upstairs, I smelled gas quite a few rooms away.  So I opened more windows.  Who knows how long the gas had been on so that almost the entire house smelled of it!  I ran down and opened a lot of windows!  I am thankful I found it before I blew up the house or killed one of the “kids” – three cats, two dogs and a bird.  And no, that last sentence was to be taken 100% literal and wasn’t just a flippant remark or me being silly!  I am absolutely grateful that there was no suffocation/poisoning nor any explosions!

For the third thing, I am thankful and grateful for all of the help I received from friends and family as I put out the book.  Oh oh, didn’t I say I wasn’t going to mention publishing Seasons of Imagination?  Whoops, there it was again.  Sorry ;)

Join Nerd in the Brain for her Three Things Thursday (click here), or join the linkup here.  No matter what, there is always something to be thankful for!

12 thoughts on “Three Things Thursday – Computers and Such

  1. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee on the 28th of January | Trent's World (the Blog)

  2. Mrs. Completely

    Yikes! So glad you caught it before disaster. I’m dealing with gas, too. Only my gas problem is in the form of the new cat. He’s not taking to the new food and I gotta say, Phew! I’m heading to the Pet Store to find something different. Here’s hoping we’ve seen – or smelled – the last of gas. :o)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. Andrew | Life Between 0 and 1

    Having owned a computer for the better part of 27 years, I’m well versed in the need for backup, a backup to the backup, and a long-term backup for the backup’s backup. In the age of cloud, I now have everything in a single location that I replicate between all my devices (laptop, home computer, mobile phone, offline external hard-drive). Thankfully you only lost a year of pictures, I lost ISO images of installation media and their license keys when I was doing side work as an IT dude. You only get burned once.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Yep, I get it – I’ve been taking digital photos since the ’90s and have everything backed up except that last year. I try to back everything up (which is why I had everything for my book, all of the music files (Sibelius, Cubase, midi and mp3 for everything), etc.), but the drive I was using for my photos was only 500 GB and I have (had ;) ) about 750 GB of photos. So when I ran out of room….. Yeah, I now changed my 1.5 TB USB drive to photos only and bought a new 5 TB drive as a backup for everything. I have everything in at least 2 places (which I did except for the photos) and most important things (i.e., financial!) are in at least 5 locations, including cloud storage.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  4. nerdinthebrain

    I’m so glad nothing bad came of the gas incident! We also have a gas stove, so I’m very familiar with the fears that can sometimes accompany such things.

    And yay for computers and books! (I looked at the link earlier, but I’ll wait until I’m snuggled in with my Kindle this evening to give it some more serious attention.) :)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Express Yourself

