If We Were Having Coffee on the 21st of January, 2017

Moog and Morning Coffee

Hello and Welcome!  Come on in and I’ll get you a nice large mug of French Roast, a cuppa tea, hot cocoa or other beverage.  It’s a funny grey morning, but it is going to warm up nicely and actually be unseasonably warm this afternoon. I don’t think it will melt the remaining snow, but my guess is most of it will be gone in the next week as it isn’t supposed to be below freezing for a few more days and rain is in the forecast.  And where is there several inches of wet, heavy snow on the ground?  If you can’t tell by that McDonald’s Pub mug at the top of the page, we’re in New Hampshire today.

My streak of bad continued into this week.  Sunday I had major plumbing issues and had to have a plumber in on Monday.  I had minor plumbing issues on Friday, but I was able to take care of it myself.  I’ve been here almost 20 years and can count on my thumbs the previous plumbing issues with this house (besides thawing pipes).  Just strange that there have been so many issues like this lately.  And other weird things, like getting to the doctor’s office and I’m not on the schedule.  My chart (in their system) showed I had an appointment, but it wasn’t on the schedule, so I had to reschedule.  Not bad, just inconvenient.  That was the story of the entire week.  The website said my new computer was going to be here on Friday.  In the afternoon I get a call asking when I wanted to schedule a delivery.  I’m not going to get it until Wednesday, that’s more than two weeks after I ordered it.  That’s a long time to be without a computer in today’s age!  As I said, little annoyances.

It isn’t that everything was bad.  Yesterday I got the new charger for my car – I have a plug in hybrid and haven’t been able to charge it for a week.  And then there is the book.

I have been spending a lot of time with the book.  I am doing two versions, a Kindle version and a paperback version.  I thought I had them all formatted and ready to go, but the deeper I went into it, the more I found I had to do.  Sure, I could have said it was good enough back at the beginning of the week, but when you hold that book in your hand I want you to think it came from a top shelf publisher.  So I’ve been editing the html file for the Kindle version in Notepad, caressing it into shape one html tag at a time.  The print version has been easier, but I decided to redo part of the formatting from scratch and spent several hours making sure it all worked.  Anyway, it’s looking better.

Besides formatting, I’ve been doing other stuff, some of which I’ve shared with you here.  The cover is complete.  I will share that with you very soon!  I did  a quick selfie-photo-shoot for a back cover/Author’s Page photo and have spent hours over the last day or two editing it.  It is not the version you see on the introduction (blurb) page I posted yesterday,though it is the same photo.  OK, here it is (maybe, I still may change my mind):

Final Portrait?

That post yesterday had the back cover blurb and a short poem I did impromptu on Thursday night.  The paperback version had a blank page I didn’t want so I wrote a poem to fill it.  I also posted a bio-blurb for my Author’s page.  An expanded version will be in the book itself.  Everything is set to go!

Although I had a bad last few weeks, I did have a lot to smile about.  On Sunday I posted a reminder for last week’s Weekly Smile.  It was about something new and different, kayaking ;)  On Wednesday I put up a new Weekly Smile and talked about things I am thankful for when everything seems to go wrong.  At the very top of my list was my father.  I’m sure I’ll have plenty to smile about this week too!  What about you?  What did you smile about?  There has to be something – smiles come from inside, it’s a state of  mind.  If you can’t think of anything, create one for next week!

With other blogging, on Tuesday I posted a poem about taking ideas in our mind and placing them on people we meet on line.  Sometimes we’re a bit unfair.  On Thursday I posted a 100 word Friday Fictioneers story.

Well, I have a few things to do today.  I need to get out enjoy the day, work on the book, do work around the house and plain relax!  I’ll be around off and on.

Thanks for stopping by!  Sorry it’s been all about me, but if you have a coffee share I’ll stop by and it can be all about you!  I’d like to know what you’ve been up to.  Hopefully your week has been better than mine!  And I hope you have a fabulous week ahead!

The Weekend Coffee Share is hosted by Part Time Monster .  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “Linkup Linky“.  In fact, I encourage you to click on the “linky” to see what’s been going on in the lives of other bloggers and even join us if you haven’t before.

26 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee on the 21st of January, 2017

  1. Gabe Burkhardt

    Sorry to hear you continue to wrestle with a string of bad weeks. This is where I say something clever (cliche) like: “that which doesn’t kill us makes us stronger,” or “statistically, you in for an amazing run of fortunate events.”

    Either way, I’m enjoying your discussion about the self publishing process. Keeps me motivated, even though I am still completing a rough draft.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks! I do try to keep a good attitude about things, but it is nice to complain on occasion ;) The self-publishing journey has been fun. I might put up a post with a few more details once everything is up and running (very near future!).

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. bettylouise31

    Your week sounds similar to mine. It can only get better. Sorry about the hose issues. I like your picture it a good one. I had to download you blog before I could read it. How annoying thinking you had an appointment but you didn’t.Think Positive!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      If it weren’t for the bad times, how would we appreciate the good? ;) Need to keep at least one positive thought a day. Thanks for stopping by for coffee. I hope next week is much better for you!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Yes, something like transference. I get ideas and can put them down on “paper” very quickly, it’s like breathing. And talking about coffee, being caffeinated to the gills helps productivity ;) Thanks for stopping by!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. cordeliasmom2012

    I think at some point your house must have been talking to my house about how cool it is to replace everything at once, including appliances, windows, roof, flooring … and how it’s best to let the first 20 years slide by so that you think you’re safe. Nothing better than having to use your meager retirement savings to keep your home from falling down around you. Hope you’re done with all your repairs/replacements soon, and I’ll look forward to reading your book when it’s published.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      These old house must be colluding. We’ve lost a few major appliances in the last year and I’m sure we’ll lose the rest this year. We did our roof about five years ago – that one hurts. I hope your house decides to go back to its best behavior soon!

      Like

      Reply
      1. cordeliasmom2012

        Actually, after some major renovation, our house is pretty much the way I wish it would have been when we first bought it.

        But now we’re looking to sell it and get a different one – which, I’m sure, will wind up needing all the same work. Arrgh.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
  4. Serendipitous Web Life. : )

    Good Morning. Since it sounds like you’ve entered into a twilight zone, you can’t be sure it’s really me. I think I’ll have dark roast coffee, since this me is in another dimension. That me loves coffee! *Giggle* (Sorry, that was silly), but that’s what I was thinking as I read the first part. In whatever’s world you’re in, I hope you have an inspiring weekend! : )

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. pamelascanepa

    Very interesting about your book! I’ve had a little bit of bad going as well, but I get back up and shake it off as it seems you do as well. I’m sure I’ll post about it in my Coffee share. Still getting motivated….Have a great weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  6. lnr03

    I hope you week gets better. I had a scheduling situation just like that last week. My sister is in the process of turning a children’s book she wrote and is available on kindle and ereader, into a paperback. Each day I ask her how is in going and she tells me wow there is just this and that that still needs to be done and then it’s and this and that again. I guess it is not as easy as it sounds. Best of luck to you.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks. When I hear “children’s book” the first thing I think of are illustrations. I’m sure it’s very difficult to format a book with a lot of images! For just words it can be easy, unless you’re picky. I also wrote the stories in different formats on different computers, so when I copied them into the original document the formatting was a mess, so that was strike against me.

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply
      1. lnr03

        It is a 1st chapter book so only one picture beginning of each chapter, simple black and white, I did all the photography but then we decided to go with an illustrator. My sister was having issues with the computer and format and all that. I stayed away from it :)

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply

Express Yourself

