Weekly Smile 55 #weeklysmile

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

I haven’t made it a secret that a few things have gone wrong this last week (these are all in the last week).  I’ve talked about the computer and all of the photos, I may have mentioned some car issues.  There were appointments screw up (there fault, not mine) and services not provided (their fault again).  Not bad, but there was sitting at the repair shop for two hours after the time they said the car would be ready.  All of this and more.  On the worst side,  I don’t know if I brought up the plumbing issue.  The less said about it, the better….  Let’s just say that it was awful.  When any non-computer related issue comes up, if I can’t fix it or come up with a fix in a half an hour, I usually call my dad.  Sure, he’s over 600 miles (around 1000 km) away, but it does help.

I don’t know what it is, him growing up in the Depression and having to make do with almost nothing, being a top level engineer, just general experience or what, but he seems to be able to come up with a solution for any non-computer related issue I have.  Of course with the plumbing he just verified what I already knew and I still had to call a plumber, but it is nice verifying it.   (I did what I could, but normal people,not even  my dad, do not have the equipment necessary to fix the issue.)

Getting help from my dad is a big smile, even if the reasons I need help may not be.  I have to say that I am thankful my father is still around and gets around – my parents still travel and were off of the continent a couple of time last year (on time was Hawaii, so I can’t say “out of the country” for that).

My Dad reading (low light)

And thinking of thankful, I am going to add a couple of more things I’m thankful about in all of this so I can add it to Nerd in Brain‘s Three Things Thankful tomorrow (I’ll add the link when it is available).

A few things went wrong and I lost some stuff, namely photos, but nobody was hurt.  A lot of inconvenience, a lot of money, but no one hurt is a very, very good thing.  And thinking of money, I’m thankful that I’m at a point in my life where after having to replace almost every major appliance in the house over the last 6 months that this rash of bad luck over the last week has not put me in debt.  Oh, there is so much more, but I’ll leave it at three – help from family (dad); despite literally something bad happening every day for a week no one was hurt, not a kitten, not a puppy and not a human; despite all of the unexpected expense over the last six months, I’m at a place in my life where it doesn’t put me in debt – I have a good job, I have some good budget planning skills, I have been OK, if not great at saving, etc – all things to be thankful for.

I know, funny things to smile about, but I do have a big smile.  I’m actually in a pretty good mood (much better after the plumbing issue was fixed and mess cleaned up!!)  As for bad things, well, look at my last week smile about my thoughts on that.  I can’t complain about anything in my life!

So the big smile for the week is my father and all of the help and support he gives me.

So, what made you smile this week? Write about it and post on the link-up (or click the little blue frog below). While you’re there, read what everyone else is smiling about! And come back to it later, if last week is any indication new smiles will be added daily!


–-

Note – the weekly smile runs Wednesday Morning to Wednesday morning.  I post in the morning (Eastern US) and put up the link usually between 7 and 8 AM EST.  I also try to post on Sunday as a reminder.  People can and do join throughout the week.

10 thoughts on “Weekly Smile 55 #weeklysmile

  1. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee on the 21st of January, 2017 | Trent's World (the Blog)

  2. Pingback: Come, Come!–#WeeklySmile | Wasted Days And Wasted Nights

  3. prior..

    so much to smile about – and darn – it has been a wave of stuff coming your way– ugh.

    and you are so right about the tools needed for some jobs – and the pros easily have them and so at times it is the best option….

    and glad you had so much to smile about and be thankful for….
    I have not shared a smile post in a while – and I am missing your coffee chats – so hint hint – hope the plumbing is ready this weekend because I will be dropping by for some french roast (and french toast if you are up to it?)

    Like

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Weekly Smile 55 #weeklysmile – Ladyleemanila

  5. Gabriel Burkhardt

    Great timing on this week’s smile Trent! My Dad has been one of my go-to sources of encouragement and advice for decades. And this week, despite being over 5,000 miles away, AND on the ski slopes (which isn’t bad for a 68 year-old), he has no difficulty walking me through a minor rewiring job around the house.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  6. Corina

    My kids still call me up from hundreds of miles away to ask how to get from one place to another on surface streets in Los Angeles. And my son has been known to call me from the grocery store to ask what aisle he can find certain things, although it has been awhile since he has done that. I’m glad they still need their mom and I’m pretty sure your dad is smiling on the other end of the phone when you cello him.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Express Yourself

